1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone ever seen 1 black bar on recorded TV?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by AMDCam, Feb 19, 2006.

  1. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Hey, I have Windows MCE 2005 and I record a lot of TV with it. But the problem is that even though it broadcasts it everywhere fine (TV's, own monitor, most applications) after it's recorded, I've had problems with certain applications looking at the .DVR-MS files (and even .MPG when I rename them), or in other words all my recorded TV, with a big black gap on the bottom of the screen (it doesn't take away from the picture, just makes it smaller), and a very thin black line on the left that connects to the black gap. In Avermedia BeyondTV I had that problem, but I just reinstalled it and it was fine.

    Now I have a 60gb ipod video and I convert everything to it to watch, but I've have had a shitload of problems with getting these things converted. First I use 2 ipod converters, 1's not compatible with even .MPEG/MPG files so that's out. The second one converts them when they're renamed .MPEG/MPG but the picture is totally unusable (it's kind of like illegal channels on normal TV) and it doesn't have sound, and I've already checked, it's not because I haven't bought the software. Then I tried PSPWare and Cucusoft Ipod DVD/Video/Movie converter, well PSPWare was the best I've tried because it converted the video PERFECTLY but it didn't have any sound. What's with this no sound stuff? Then I used Cucusoft, which has support for .DVR-MS so I don't even have to convert them to .MPEG/MPG but that's the dumbass application that has the black gap/line problem (like I said BeyondTV used to have too). Well I reinstalled that 3 times, bought it (yeah I usually don't buy software but that is just a great app) and checked every setting to see if I could stop that, and even converted them to .MPG's and that didn't work, then I even took the hard drive to another computer (and installed Cucusoft on it) but it still had the black gap/line problem. No other application shows that black line/gap thing, what's the problem? Thank you guys
  2. Aevum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    crop the video once converted to mpeg to remove black lines,
    then resize and reencode to whatever you want.

    take in to account that black lines might appear around the image as compensation becuase the image ratio is incorrrect or becuase you recorede a 4:3 at 16:9 or the other way around,
    4:3 recoreded at 16:9 gives black lines to the sides, 16:9 recorede at 4:3 gives you black lines above and below the image, depending on recording software and configuration, you could also loose the sides.
  3. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Thanks dude but if I could crop them I would. How do I crop them?
  4. Aevum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    use some kind of video editing and conversion software like virtualdub

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page