1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone folding with a GTS 450?

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by DaMulta, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,529 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,048
    keep in mind, I think that was at FTW clocks, the 450 can do quite a bit more OCing.

    The 9800GTX is work like 5-6K IIRC. Also you don't need SLI to make them fold together on the same board
    DaMulta says thanks.
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    DaMulta says thanks.
  5. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Yea, I just seen the new drivers are allowing SLi(Don't know if that's going to help or not....)
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,529 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,048
    AFAIk you cant SLI a 9800GTX and a GTX 450 ;)

    Also that 3500 PPD seems a bit weak. Over clock the core and shaders a bunch.
    DaMulta says thanks.
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Yea, I think windows 7 is kicking it's ass......

    Don't know if BONIC is affecting it or not.....
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I know you can't SLi them, but if I was to pick up another 450 lol
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,529 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,048
    If you are crunching the CPU it can hurt PPD from what I hear from others. I just fold on my rigs so I cant say first hand.

    I just got schooled in another thread the hack will work on the 790FX with 4 series using the 258 driver set.
    DaMulta says thanks.
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Yea, I want to do both, and I do have the snail AMD quad installed.

    I just thought this 450 was clocked well out of the box, and would really help it fold better.


    Maybe I should install XP again.......
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,529 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,048
    7 works just fine for me, got 3 470s doing about 40K PPD on W7 machines;)
  12. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,923 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I need to redo it any how....

    Hmmm so I should be kicking out double from what I'm kicking out now....damn it.....


    What do you think of this 450?


    Things will change when I get money flowing in.....cause I want to start rolling with the 295 or 480s....
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,529 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,048
    I think its a budget folding masterpiece, and in SLI you can hang with a 470. One 470 is more than plenty for todays titles.

    Im not saying one is more important than the other, but if you were to get FAHmon or HFM.net to monitor the folding, shut down WCG, and see if it is hurting the PPD. Then make a call of what you want to do.
    DaMulta says thanks.
  15. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I don't care about games....the only thing ever played is Lego games anymore....I play on the PS3 :p
  16. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    That is insane 925MHZ out of the box...:toast:
    Then it says you can Overclock it by up to 50%... WOW:toast::toast::toast::toast:
    The most I've gotten my 460 to is 850MHZ
    DaMulta says thanks.
  17. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,923 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    got mine to 975/1026
    DaMulta says thanks.
  18. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,529 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,048
    well then as reference, if the 450 can do 9000PPD, two should be close to 18K PPD, you are still trumping my best 470 by 4K PPD, and for a bit less loot.
    DaMulta says thanks.
  19. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    On air?
  20. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    WOW what brand do you have????
    My 850 is with out any more volts added to it:toast::toast:
  21. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    Yep my 470 does about average 15,000 PPD
    DaMulta says thanks.
  22. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Someone needs to pick up the DDR3 I haz up so I can order it lol
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Opps....I was running F@H SMP twice......

    I been killing the windows CPU one, but forgot all about the one installed in the background.

    I guess the CPU does not like running F@H TWICE on the CPU ALONG with BONIC running AND F@H GPU........

    un-installed lol


    going to OC a little too I guess......
  24. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,531
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Then start folding with it!

    Win 7 is fine for folding. You can get better PPD on your primary card by lowering the resolution on larger monitors;).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    DaMulta, I really think your PPD would improve if you decided on running either F@H or WCG on the CPU and then stuck to WCG for the CPU. Unless you changed that up from the last time you had mentioned it.

    BUCK- Do you by chance know how much a the higher res actually hurts PPD? I thought I had heard that before but couldn't find out the damage.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page