1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone getting a 580 soon? I want to compare stuff

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by douglatins, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Like performance at same clocks, in some benchmarks, like vantage, mafia2, etc.

    Preferably an i7 as cpu
     
  2. Borque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've just preordered an EVGA superclocked 580 GTX.

    17-19 november will be the shipping date.

    As I get it, I'll test some stuff. And I'll post it here, of course.
     
  3. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I am, but unfortunately I don't have an i7. I'm on the AMD platform and intend to stay there for the forseeable future.
     
  4. Borque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have an AMD Phenom x II 955 3.2 GHz.

    Hope there is no prob with bottlenecking here.
     
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I really hope you are upgrading that CPU as you will be seriously bottlenecked, you want a quad at 3.6+ghz

    Up your multi and oc that quad, should be fine.
     
  6. Borque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    what do you mean with up your multi?
     
  7. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    He means up your CPU's multiplier.
     
  8. Borque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm gonna have bottleneck with an X4 at 3.2 ghz??? stock speed?
     
  9. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Phenom2? if not not so much.

    I am installing the AXP in mine so i can OC like crazy, just dont ask to compare temps lol

    Borque fill system specs man
     
  10. Borque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    AMD Phenom II x4 3.2 Ghz
    4 gb of Corsair RAM at 1333mhz
    Gigabyt MA790FXT-UD5P motherboard.
    seagate barracuda 500gb HDD
    and right now a 4870 x2 from Sapphire, not happy at all with this card.

    If you tell me I have to overclock my CPU i'm getting a new processor.
     
  11. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Haha man no need, its enough.
     
  12. Borque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You guys scared me with that multi your CPU thing... I can't possibly imagine a bottleneck with this system for the gtx 580.
     
  13. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Make a wild guess :D
     
  14. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Lol man, I would get some other stuff sooner

    Bneck is not that big a deal, its not like you are using a ATHLON LIKE SOME OTHER PEEPS LOLOSADSLOALSOLOALOLO

    Haha thats you Red vvvvvvv---------vvvvvvvvv
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2010
  15. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Har de har har.
     
  16. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Rubbish, the Athlons perform within 5% of PII at the same clock speed, only difference is the L2 cache which isn't that much of an issue when gaming.

    And yes a PII at 3.2ghz will be bottlenecked by a GTX 580, and more so an athlon x2 as Red_Machine has!! :confused:
     
  17. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Why dont you like your 4870X2?
     
  18. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Power hungry, hot, loud and not so much performance these days

    m'aight?
     
  19. Borque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Right.

    Sooo... If I get, lets say... AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz...

    bottleneck gone?

    Could elaborate on why an almost topPhenom II x4 CPU would bottleneck a gtx 580? I don't really understand.
     
  20. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2010
  21. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    While this is true, i could say the same for the GTX580.

    Its hotter then the 4870X2, its only 50watts off the 4870X2 in power consumption, both cards are loud did you hear it on linus tech tips? and performance of a 4870X2 is still very good. He be going from the 5th most powerful card to the 2nd most.
     
  22. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,126 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,318
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    okay actually the GTX580 is quieter then the GTX285 which is quieter then the 4870x2. It also runs at the same temperatures if not cooler then the gtx285. the 4870x2 is like a jet engine.

    Also you wont have the microstutter and cf problems in games if you switch to a single gtx580 card.
     
  23. Borque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I might be getting a 1090T phenom, so I avoid performance issues.
     
  24. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Dont get me wrong the 4870X2 when cranked up is dam loud, but honestly the GTX285/580 i still wouldn't call quite running cards. Temp wise i have yet to see mine get over 80c and its getting into summer here now. Microstutter i have yet to see it in the last yr i have owned my card :ohwell: Maybe im just got a lucky card?
     
  25. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    a single powerful card > multi GPU. been through SLi, and dual GPU board. Vowed not to go that path again. Those things have high max fps, but bad minimum fps. Add to that, multigpu profiles, and the chances of the profile forcing single GPU mode, since AFR or split frame render performance sucks on the app (Empire Total War comes to mind).

    Rare yes, but still a probability.

    A single gpu wont have those hassles.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2010
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page