1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone have the MSI X1950PRO? MSI RX1950PRO-VT2D512E

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by x800professor, May 15, 2007.

  1. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
  2. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I think that card came to retail just recently, because i was trying to find it like a week (or two) ago and couldnt find any sources. Msi has another x1950pro with some cheesy cooler. Looks like a nice card.
  3. Garb3

    Garb3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    398 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hartlepool, England
    i have the 256 version and it idle'd at 41c and load was 60c with clocks of 621/750 not the worst cooler like but i got an accelero x2 and now it idle's at 33 load 47 hope that helps
  4. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
  5. mitchy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    101 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Durham UK
    Alright Mate, ive got the exact same card ,any info needed just ask , i will be hapy to help
  6. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    its says zalman on the fan...i bet it is the 900...nice card.



    is the fan silent? does it keep the card cool? I have to say for 160 bucks for a 512mb and a nice cooler, thats a steal deal.
  7. mitchy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    101 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Durham UK
    yeah its really silent and the temps are fine, Also for that price its a bargain not to be missed considering i paid 150pounds which is about 280 dollars.. so if i was you id be ordering 1 or 2 straight away...
  8. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I ordered one, but I have an nforce 4 sli board, so no use for two.
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    if you have the uli sb, you can do crossfire...
  10. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
  11. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Have you done any bios flashing?
  12. mitchy24 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    101 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Durham UK
    Ive thought about on numerous occasions, i read through the bios flashing forums every day, but to be totally honest i dont think its worth it . I think you can only gain about 5-10% performance increase.. Anyways i use CCC from the msi website and it has a built in overclocking facilty its called D.O.T (dynamic Overclocking Technology) and i can reach speeds of 621/786 with a push of a button, and it saves alll the headaches of flashing the bios especially if it went wrong our lass would kill me lol...Also i use ati tool to turn the fan up a little, to keep her cool still cant hear it over my evo 33(thats Loud).. Any more info needed just ask .... Cheers
  13. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Wow, this card is silent. After running 3dmark05 and 03, my hottest temp was 59c after I changed the fan settings. I can barely hear the thing at 100%. My only problem with the card is the lack of any kind of ramsinks. The vram is exposed. I can't put sinks on some of them because they simply would not fit without some cutting. Oh well. By the way, can ATI tool overclock the memory on these things yet? I can overclock the core just fine, but the memory freezes the computer when I try to overclock it.
  14. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Oh yeah, .27. I have .26. Whoops. Yes the atitool maker would know for sure. Hmm...now how to summon him...look into the monitor and say his name three times? Stand in the middle of a circle of video cards and invoke him?
  15. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yeah, I installed it but I have to restart and I have other things to do. I'll post back with results later. I can tell you one thing, 512MB is a waste with this card. I have logged the free texture memory through various games and 3dmark runs. It never drops below 300MB. In other words, it uses about 212MB max. That's running it at 2048x1536 with 6xAA and 16xAF. It gave an average FPS of around 20 in 3dmark05's canyon flight with those settings.
  16. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    There we go. Running at 621/763 it scored 10960 in 3dmark05. That's not bad. My old X1950XT hit around 12,000 in stock form. I'm probably going to have to do some bios edition soon...

    *edit* well crap, rabit doesn't recognize the bios. Looks like I'm going to have to wait to do any editing there.
    Last edited: May 26, 2007
  17. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    its pretty nice, the X1950PRO just doesnt like overclocking at stock volts.
  18. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yeah, but I can't change the voltages until I can edit the bios. Rabit doesn't like my card, so I guess I'm waiting...which is no fun.
  19. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    I would recommend this X1950PRO for anyone who's going to water cool them; no need to buy extra heatsinks for VRMs.
  20. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Water cooling wouldn't do me much good. Only so much I can do without extra voltage!
  21. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Well, I was wrong about the card not using more than 256MB of the frame buffer. While playing Oblivion, it used an average of about 300MB of it! I'm going to run FRAPS to try to find the perfect settings for this card. I started on out high at 1280x1024 and it seems to run well.

    *edit*

    2007-05-28 04:42:27 - Oblivion
    Frames: 22963 - Time: 423662ms - Avg: 54.201 - Min: 21 - Max: 63

    That's from the FRAPS log. I don't think I'm going to turn anything up any higher. The average FPS is nice, but I don't want the minimum dropping below what it already is. That was outside in the rain by the way.
    Last edited: May 28, 2007
  22. A.Gomez New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    had to join up and say thanks for all the info on this card... was looking for a 512 card after ATiTT monitor hit "0.00" for available ram during testing of DIRT and Lost Planet demo. Guess a few folks saw it as it seem to have sold out @newegg for now, get mine on wednesday
    Last edited: May 29, 2007
  23. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I wasn't sure if that card would use more than 256, but while playing oblivion, I averaged 100MB free. In other words, it used over 400MB on average. I would highly recommend this particular card too. Overclocked to 621/783, it idles around 45 and tops out around 66. I don't even have the fan set to hit 100% until 75c. It hits 83% at 65c, but I don't hear it while playing a game. You can just hear it at 100% if you don't have anything else running, but anything can drown it out. Typing on the keyboard is louder. Ambient noises in games are louder. My 8800GTS is a good bit louder, and its fan is not very loud. I see no reason to replace the current cooler. Of course, we'll see how it does when I can actually edit the bios to up the voltages.
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    How's the rest of the AM2 rig treating you, prof?
  25. x800professor

    x800professor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    894 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Well...windows seems to hate it. XP refused to do a repair install. Then, when I just installed XP, it seemed like nothing worked quite right. For example, nero refused to work, no matter what I did. I installed vista (this isn't my gaming rig, I figured I'd put it on here to get used to it)....and it absolutely hates the x1950pro. I got about 4 ATI related bluescreens just trying to install the dumb thing. For some reason, rundll32 crashes every time I try to open the security center. I think I'm just going to back up things I need, format one of my partitions, and try a totally clean install.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page