1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone here successful with OSx86 snow leopard?

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Fitseries3, May 28, 2010.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im having a hell of a time trying to get SL to install on my rig.

    i cant even get it to start. im getting the apple loading screen for 1/2sec then it boot-loops indefinitely.

    i tried this iBoot-supported cd that helps get things going but the same thing happens.

    i've tried SEVERAL different ISO's now and several different patches. no dice.

    WTF is wrong here?
     
  2. SNiiPE_DoGG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    582 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    Something tells me apple or any of the hacks don't support such a new and exotic rig as the one your running right now, that would be my hunch as to what the problem is.
     
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    well it wont work on any of my machines at all.

    i have less modern machines here.
     
  4. No3Dalefan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Valdosta, Ga
    I think Snow Leopard is booting up, seeing your system specs and running away to hide.:roll:

    All kidding aside, I try the hackintosh thing every few months with no luck yet.....
     
  5. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Virtual machine perhaps?
     
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    tried that before anything else. does the same thing.
     
  7. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    I made a hackintosh for a friend-of-a-friend, best thing to do it grab the official SL release, and follow the guides out there for installing on your specific motherboard, or on a motherboard with similar components (there must be someone out there running Xeons with OSx86).
    Get a real Mac, or a Hackintosh that's working, load up the disc image, connect your boot drive from the machine you want to install to, and run the installer script. It's really easy from there, it's almost fully automated, and should work better (I find) than most of those hacked-together disc images.
    The one I installed updated perfectly to 10.6.3, and installed all other updates, and I believe it's running Final Cut Studio 3, with a small boot drive, and a 2TB RAID0 for scratch disc.

    I can't remember the motherboard used, Gigabyte board, used with 12GB DDR3 and an i7 920. Ended up using an 8600GTS that was lying about, not the fastest g'card, but it ran with dual-DVI, which was important.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  8. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Boot up in verbose mode. -v.

    -x will give you a single user command line to mess with things if necessary.

    Verbose runs the boot up line by line on your screen, eliminating the grey apple boot screen. This will show you exactly what errors you are receiving.

    You need to then just solve each error line by line, and voila. Hackintosh complete.

    Way easier said than done tho.


    OS X is actually one of the easiest OS's to get working on random hardware, because its just not very picky. The only problem is, 99% of people trying it aren't fluent in troubleshooting unix, let alone, OS X. the only real things OS X cares about is your VGA (Of which, generic works just fine, until you want 3d), and Chipset, including your IDE/SATA controller, and CDROM.

    Get those 3 things compatible with whatever version of hackintosh you want, and you'll have a pretty breeze set up.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    -x doesnt do anything.

    -v shows 15 lines of data or so then reboot. cant even read it its so fast.

    it reboots the same place every time.

    it said one time that the something.something.something.plist file is missing but i checked and it is in fact there.
     
  10. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    What Dippyskoodlz said is true about those three things. I went through several isos and such before I was able to get Leopard (10.5) installed on my G5 Project. However, I ended up scrapping the project because I couldn't change the resolution on my 9600GSO. Admittingly, I only spent a few days playing around before I scrapped the project.

    I'm not gonna pretend to be an expert, but my experience was different from Dippyskoodlez. I think OSX is a bitch to install because it has to be compatible with those 3 major things. The problem is that there isn't like a 'generic' driver or something it can use. (AFAIK) I've come to the conclusion that if your hardware isn't supported, don't do it. In fact, if you're thinking about installing OSX on a regular PC, you pick your parts based on what other people have gotten working already.

    Again, just my experiences, take them lightly. Hope you get this working! :)
     
  11. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    if -x isnt doing anything, you're not getting past the initial boot.

    If its only getting to the first few lines, have you installed Chameleon if you are trying to use a standard snow leopard CD? You can't just insert a cd and expect it to work :p
     
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    tried installing chameleon. does the same thing.

    also tried this "iboot" disk that supposed to make anything work but it does the same thing.

    i've gotten this to work before on many many other machines so i know it can be done.

    even if some hardware isnt fully supported i know how to get it all to work once im in osx.... but im stumped at this problem.
     
  13. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,069 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    907
    I've treid countless times to run hackintosh, but in the end, i gave up.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Are we allowed to discuss Hackintosh systems here? It's a breach of Apple's EULA and thus not strictly legal, though the enforceability of EULAs in court has yet to be proven.
     
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    :(
     
  16. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,069 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    907
    Technically yes, technicaly no. If you buy a copy, its technically not illegal since you own the software, but you definetly won't be getting support.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Not wanting to hijack the thread here, but I guess I better reply: when you buy OSX, you "own" the disc but are only "licensed" the software to the best of my knowledge, and it is a breach of the license EULA to use it on a non-Apple system.

    Hopefully I am wrong.
     
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    and now this.... [​IMG]
     
  20. regexorcist

    regexorcist New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    178 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    ~/
    Own the disk, but license the software... cut me a break

    Just another reason to go with Linux or BSD

    With BSD, own it, clone it, sell it, jump up and down and shit on it... it's yours!!!
    oh and it's free :D
     
    TIGR says thanks.
  21. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    It looks like you may either have a borked installation disc Are you using a retail leopard CD, or a modified DVDROM? and 10.4, 10.5, or 10.6? All 3 of those have different methods for being installed.

    Also, in Vmware, you have to make sure your Virtual machine bios is set up properly, with all unnecessary options disabled.


    As long as no files are linked/given that are copyrighted, IIRC discussion is perfectly legal. (Hence why osx86project is still around. ;) ) This is however, not my call for TPU. Just don't link to anything illegal.
     
  22. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
  23. YinYang.ERROR

    YinYang.ERROR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    463 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Fits, change these in your VMX file.
    If the field does not exist create it.

    Just open the VMX file in notepad/wordpad.

     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  24. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    well that helped a bit. still not much further...

    [​IMG]
     
  25. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    10.6

    tried both retail and moded ISOs
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page