1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone know a good way to get rid of File secure spyware

Discussion in 'General Software' started by trt740, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    I have a friends laptop with it on it and spysweeper won't remove it or detect it and Avg spyware remover won't remove it so far , any help out there please post it. It on a vista os machine.
  2. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Delete the folder from the drive, run ccleaner and delete it from start up, then run ccleaner registry cleaner to remove registry entries.
  3. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    didn't work
  4. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    How does that not work? You removed its physical folder, and you stopped it from running.
  5. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    you got me but i'm still getting trojan.fake alerts
  6. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    laz here on the forums gave me a registry tweak that sets a delete on reboot command to your context menu when you right click?? i can aim it to you if you want to try it. or host it somewhere??
  7. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Download the vista version of nlite, i think its vlite

    Slipstream a new Vista CD (whichever version) with all your drivers on it.

    Install on laptop

    :laugh:

    Seriously though, anytime stuff gets slow or viruses show up, I'll just format. Vista takes 30-40 minutes start to finish with a good CD

    :toast:
    keakar says thanks.
  8. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    well that was a last resort
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Perhaps run Hijackthis.
  10. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    thinking of a format and reinstall as a last resort is IMHO just trying to be lazy about it. please nobody be offended by this remark because i am not directing this at anyone but im speaking in terms of people in general. yes it is a PITA to format and reinstall everything but if you buy a external backup drive and ghost a copy of a clean install with programs loaded it becomes a very quick and easy thing to do. format is IMHO the best way because 9 out of 10 times it takes less time than troubleshooting hidden files that self replicate when you recboot and spending time seeking help about it and then you often find things are left corrupted after you do manage to rid yourself of the virus. plus the fact that your computer never runs faster than after a clean fresh install. just my 2 cents.
  11. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    tried cannot find it listed but thx
  12. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    You could try SUPERAntiSpyware ,it's quite a good program,and Free for Home Users.

    • Install and launch the program.
    • If asked to update the program definitions, click "Yes". If not, update the definitions before scanning by selecting "Check for Updates". (If you encounter any problems while downloading the updates, manually download and unzip them from here.)
    • Under "Configuration and Preferences", click the Preferences button.
    • Click the Scanning Control tab.
    • Under Scanner Options make sure the following are checked (leave all others as they are):
    o Close browsers before scanning.
    o Scan for tracking cookies.
    o Terminate memory threats before quarantining.
    • Click the "Close" button to leave the control center screen.
    • Back on the main screen, under "Scan for Harmful Software" click Scan your computer.
    • On the left, make sure you check C:\Fixed Drive.
    • On the right, under "Complete Scan", choose Perform Complete Scan.
    • Click "Next" to start the scan. Please be patient while it scans your computer.
    • After the scan is complete, a Scan Summary box will appear with potentially harmful items that were detected. Click "OK".
    • Make sure everything has a check mark next to it and click "Next".
    • A notification will appear that "Quarantine and Removal is Complete". Click "OK" and then click the "Finish" button to return to the main menu.
    • If asked if you want to reboot, click "Yes".


    Or to remove files on reboot you could try Pocket KillBox

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/files/killbox.php

    Launch the KillBox.exe and then browse to the file you want to delete,click on the Delete at Reboot radio button, and then click on the red X to delete.
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Try turning off, and clearing out, system restore, then run all of your cleaning progs. Sometimes they hide in the restore folders, and actually restore themselves, or run directly from it.
  14. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Try doing it from safe mode.
    Spybot's supposed to be good too.
  15. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    i find if you run ad-aware first then spybot never finds anything because ad-aware finds it first plus it finds things spybot misses.
    xfire says thanks.
  16. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Try ParetoLogic XoftSpySE here.

    :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page