1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

anyone know if gigabyte x58s can be flashed to different models bios?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Fitseries3, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    we've done this with many boards in the past i know. the maximus x38 to rampage x48 flash and many others.

    has anyone tried with the new(er) gigabyte x58s?

    they all seem identical with exception of a few very minor details such as 2nd lan and different mobo cooling.

    wonder if i can flash my x58a-ud3r to the ud5 bios.

    anyone know?
  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    You would definately want to know the revision numbers and if they use the same BIOS chip. Have you tried Ketxxx? He would probably know more since he wrote a couple custom bios's.
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    ketxxx doesnt like me. you could ask him though haha!
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,484 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,896
    Are the bios chips removeable on these boards?




    *I wouldn't even bother with Ketxxx...
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    dual bios.. non removable.
  6. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No you can't flash the UD3R to a UD5 since the UD3R uses different hardware. However you can flash the UD4P / UD5 to a ''Extreme'' because these boards are basically the same.
  7. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im talking the new x58a boards. not the old ones. :)

    i have both the x58a-ud5 and x58a-ud3r here. both are nearly identical with exception that the ud3r has one less lan and a different heatsink... it doesnt cool the other sata controllers like th ud5s cooler.
  8. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Same rules apply. Try to use setFSB to overclock both boards, if they both have the same clockgen then it should be possible.

    Also try to ask this question at tweaktown gigabyte support forum.
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    can i use afudos to flash? i get checksum error with Qflash
  10. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Use spiflash , and don't forget to backup your old bios.

    I've read that you can flash let's say an UD5 to an Extreme but once your UD5 is flashed to an Extreme you can't flash it back anymore.

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=249999
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=4301407&postcount=4341
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=4301524&postcount=4342
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  11. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Again: Use SetFSB to find out if they have the same clockgen , that's the most important thing, and let us know if the flash was succesfully!
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    same clockgens but

    flashed and now it turns off after 2seconds.

    wonder how i get the backup bios to boot the board?
  13. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    oh.... booting now
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Success!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    mudkip says thanks.
  15. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    proof? pics or it didn't happen ;)
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    mlee49 says thanks.
  17. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    what was the reason for flashing it?
  18. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    1. selectable usb3 port mode(which isnt working for some reason even though both boards have same usb3 chip)

    2. to get lan working(same chip as ud5 but still not working)

    this is a hackintosh build. the ud5 works great but the ud3r's lan and usb3 doesnt work. on the ud5 you can select usb2 mode for the usb3 ports and they work. lan works in osx on the ud5 but not on the ud3r. doesnt make any sense.
  19. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yay another problem solved :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page