1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone running Sims on SSD

Discussion in 'Games' started by MxPhenom 216, Dec 12, 2012.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,968 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,742
    Anyone running Sims 3 on an SSD, and can give some insight on how it effected the way the game played in terms of load times and such. My sister is thinking about buying my Corsair Neutron 240GB drive to replace her slow 5400rpm mechanical. Im assuming itll make the load times quite a bit faster, but im not sure how much faster.
  2. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Whoa... ummm... you will lose the limitation of texture/level loads entirely. The rest will be determined by her proc/gpu
  3. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,914 (3.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,115
    Yes. It would be much faster. La noire used to take forever to load on my hdd, but with my ssd it was just a few seconds. Same with other games. As binge send, it also depends on the rest of the setup.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    553 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    264
    Echoing what has been said, your sister should see a massive improvement, especially coming from a 5k rpm drive. However, to truly capitalize on the SSD's speed, she needs a powerful CPU, because everything that Sims loads needs to be decompressed on-the-fly, including textures (and not just positional data and variables). That said, perhaps you could go for a cheaper solution if the CPU isn't mid/high end, and there's no upgrade planned for a while.

    What are the full system specs?
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,968 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,742
    Core i7 2630QM
    Geforce GT640m 1GB
    4GB DDR3(I think) Maybe more


    Thats about it, with the specs that matter.
  6. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    553 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    264
    Well, that's quite the computational horsepower. And it's not just the Sims that will benefit from the upgrade, the system as a whole will feel a lot snappier and agile. The HDD currently in use is a serious bottleneck here, and it's a shame (crime?) to limit a perfectly capable laptop like that. Maybe you could also pick up a 2.5" external enclosure for the HDD, if your sister's laptop can't hold 2 storage devices? There's always a need for more portable storage, I'm sure. ;)
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,968 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,742
    Maybe we will look into that. Im not looking to sell my Neutron 240GB till January so we have time to brainstorm possible solutions.

    But jsut 240GB should be good enough for all her stuff, and a clean windows install. I know shes going to want to try skyrim and Game of Thrones: The Game too
  8. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    553 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    264
    Having as much free space as possible is very desirable on an SSD. It's controller will use this space to avoid latency on random writes, and as a temporary storage when doing housekeeping duties (TRIM, consolidation, etc.)

    If/when you sell off the Neutron, consider purchasing a Samsung 840 Pro, they're incredibly consistent while also being as fast as the GTX version of Neutron...
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,968 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,742
    I was going to get the 500GB 840 non pro to replace it and my Vertex 2 to have my games all on one drive. the Pro is a bit out of budget.
  10. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    I never timed it, but I have the game and it definitely loads much faster from SSD.
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    8,968 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,742
    Thanks, My sister will be glad to have that. Takes FOREVER on the 5K drive she currently has.
  12. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,535 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,893
    It would make a lot of difference if she has a lot of custom content/mods/addons. I've heard of some people having GB of added stuff and the game would take minutes to load on a normal HDD.
  13. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,616 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    337
    Location:
    Philippines
    It surely loads faster, and when zooming in and out of different locations, Those blank textures will load up more quickly.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page