1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

anyone running vista?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by tigger, Jan 9, 2007.

  1. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Oh, I believe it... but, like your getting older & being able to afford one? Well, cost ISN'T generally in a Mac's favor over PC's, but give THIS point of yours time too, because it happens.

    APK

    P.S.=> Gotta go for now, nice discussion & points from all involved... see ya later folks! apk
     
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I agree, Licencing is only a problem if you are using a pirated version of Windows. I have a fully legit version, why should I worry?

    Obviously you didn't read The Cost of Vista article. Do a google search on it. It will take around 15 minutes to read.

    Maybe you don't know how DX10 works then? It is NOT compatible with DX9 at all. It is the first time DirectX has been completel rewritten since DX3. The Video drivers for XP can not run DX10 and will never be able to. The drivers in Vista are completely different, and again, incompatible with DX9 or below. While I do find this disturbing, knowing how DX10 works makes up for that. It is much much more efficient and produces much better results for the same amount of processing power as we have now, however the hardware architecture required are different as you know.

    That is the programmers fault, NOT M$'s
     
  3. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Happens with all MS program's whether they made them or not. It's happened to me a lot before on the Microsoft Office based programs.
     
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Well obviously you are too stupid to use M$ programs. I've never had that problem. The ONLY times I ever have problems are when I overclock and it becomes unstable. If you don't know how to take care of a PC you can't blame the Company who made the program.

    This is exactly the thing that keeps me in work. I work as a Computer Technician, and I see this every day. So thank you :)
     
  5. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    How can you accuse me of not being able to use an Office Program correctly? What's there to do? Type, save and print...man that sure is complicated. Think I need some lessons on how to do complicated shit like that...they just generally fuck up whenever they want to.
     
  6. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    The Office Program is simple, looking after a computer obviously is beyond your comprehension. I never have problems, Office has never crashed on any computer I've had. They don't "fuck up whenever they want to" they fuck up because you have done something wrong at some point.
     
  7. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    :wtf: Like press print...and then it freezes?? YEAH THAT'S TOTALLY MY FUCKING FAULT...:wtf:
     
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    vista is gone,i had a rc1 key and the version i had had a hack to activate with the rc1 key.suprise suprise dint work.and i got a nvidia driver for x86 32bit vista,dint work.neither did the x-fi 32 bit driver.

    i'll give it some credit tho',it asked for the driver disc for my freecom usb dtv stick,i put the disc in and it worked.the only thing i had in that failed was the x-fi card(suprise suprise creative:banghead: )

    it does look nice,and it ran pretty smooth on windows tho',just so long as you dont want it primarily to play games,otherwise its poo.mebbe it might be better when dx10 comes along but who knows or dares to dream.

    i wont be trying it again tho' till its been out a while and got its feet under the table,and all the software has working drivers.

    btw dont anyone even think of finding an activation crack for it,microsoft have learnt a lot from the xp wga experience.no one is gonna hack the activation on vista.unless some else knows otherwise;)
     
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    This is what you don't seem to understand, if you've got something that is making the OS unstable then everything else becomes unstable as a result. My current build has been through 3 hardware changes and numerous re-activations, and I still don't have any problems or instability. Obviously I know how to look after a PC.
     
  10. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    oh and btw,i have a fully licensed version of xp.
     
  11. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Obviously your job helps you a lot...and I am unlucky. Nothing more. There is nothing wrong with the way I treat PC's. Defrag once a week. Clean registry twice every day. Run virus scan every day. Yeah that sure is a bad way to treat a PC. Your job is obviously an advantage over my unskilled non qualified brain.

    P.S My XP is also legit.
     
  12. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I'm completely self-taught, no qualifications relevant to PCs. I got lucky when I got a job at my local computer shop.
     
  13. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I ddn't mean PC qualifications. I meant no qualifications whatsoever. And being around PC's must surely rub off on your experience with them.
     
  14. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Yes, but it's not hard to keep your PC running stably. I've helped numerous clients whose PC's crashed for "no reason" was always to do with something they had done - downloaded viruses, spyware, bad overclock, badly written program etc.
    I've never seen a "healthy" PC that crashes or has problems for no reason, and if you ask anyone who does the same job as me they will ALL agree. It is always the end-user's fault, a lot of the time due to ignorance or blind stupidity.
     
  15. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Are you calling me stupid and ignorant?
     
  16. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    my system was running sweet for months,until my little nastly virus writing twat screwed it.a healthy pc should run for a long time with no problems.if you have problems,it aint healthy.

    and yes it was my fault,warez site oops.not again tho',no more warez sites for me.
     
  17. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Exactly my point.
     
  18. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Answer my question....
     
  19. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I'm not calling you stupid. Ignorant, possibly. You don't know what you did to cause your PC to be unstable...that about sums it up.
     
  20. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Neither do you...
     
  21. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    No, but chances are if I got a look at your PC I'd be able to find out and fix it.
     
  22. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    If I knew where you lived and could be bothered to waste money and send you my PC I'd put you to the test. But I won't because I'm poor and can't be without my beast.
     
  23. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I know how you feel ;)
     
  24. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    This will explain the "hollywood" stuff that Casheti was talking about? I take everything I read w/ a grain of salt & especially consider the source, to be honest about it... some of the folks that write some articles aren't ALL that qualified @ times, or just make some bad mistakes &/or assumptions.

    (So, that all said - Do you have a link to this article you mention by any chance as well? Thanks!)

    A fair enough 'handle' on DirectX as a whole... I've actually written some wares using it (screensavers) here & over time.

    Yes, aware of that here... but, big efficiency improvements are also a result of said rewrite... a GOOD thing!

    Makes sense, but those drivers will probably be THAT much better for it.

    Not new to me... as I stated before - I've seen this over time now, a few times in fact, w/ Ms' OS'... 9x -> NT-based, & even NT4 -> 2000/XP really.

    Nothing new. Transitions are ALWAYS like this... worst I have seen? 16-bit Win3.x -> 32-bit (hybrid really 16/32) Win9x series, imo.

    Yes... I agree, & what I was leading to above as well.

    Agreed... they, & their "quality assurance" testers really, IF any existed @ all.

    APK
     
  25. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    http://www.cs.auckland.ac.nz/~pgut001/pubs/vista_cost.txt There you go!

    And I too take it with a pinch of salt. I do know that this was originally what was going to be done, but some of it was dropped, but I'm not sure how much or what.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page