1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone still running a Radeon HD 3870 X2 besides me?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by chevy350, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,556 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    Im not sure on most of those games if they have an inbuilt benchmarker, i think there is one for STALKER but the rest yea i dont know =/

    All good lets just go with FC2 for the moment then.
  2. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I can't remember if STALKER does either.....I think there is a bench for it on another site if I remember correctly though.....found and getting it now ;)
  3. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,556 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    ^ Sweet, i might do the same, its on TPU isnt it?
  4. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    found it on guru3d about halfway down
    Code:
    http://downloads.guru3d.com/Benchmarks-&-Demo%27s_c6.html
    Melvis says thanks.
  5. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    got the STALKER bench app and here's the results :cool:

    Extreme, Enhanced Full Lighting DX10

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      63.6 KB
      Views:
      119
  6. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,556 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    Thats pretty good for that card, im impressed. But arnt you running XP? DX10 wont work?

    Here is my results but this is at 1600*1200 Res, same settings as yours.

    Attached Files:

    chevy350 says thanks.
  7. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    very nice on ur end too.....naw haven't ran xp in almost a year now, Win7 X64 ;)
    considering looking for a 4870 X2 before long since most games aren't using DX11 don't really see a point in getting a 5XXX series card just yet, but my fiancee is running a pair of MSI 5770's in crossfire and it stomps the crap outta my 3870 X2 lol
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
    Melvis says thanks.
  8. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,556 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    Cheers,. O ok sorry about that, it must of been someone else on this thread that did, my bad, got confused there for a sec.

    Yea even ive been loking into a second one lol but its a Gainward GS GLH edition and then selling off this one to a m8, but i dont know yet need a new HDD first. Yea i can imagine two 5770 would do that, even eat my 4870X2 alive i would think?

    I think im going to do another run and this time set it all to MAX hehe
    chevy350 says thanks.
  9. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    I haven't been able to run anything on her comp :( she said no because I mess with stuff too much lol.....MAX settings would probably kill mine lol
  10. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,556 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    Her comp? o so its not yours? lol o dear, yea it might, i forgot about doing that, i might do it right now see how it goes, or dies.
  11. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,556 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok here is the results i got from running it at MAX, and i mean MAX everything possible, including in Advance settings etc.

    Card got to 70c

    Attached Files:

    chevy350 says thanks.
  12. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    still pretty damn good :toast: yeah she got the new build last year, my turn this year :D I'm not allowed to play on her's since I like to mess with "settings" and usually get a couple BSOD's in the process lol
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,556 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    :toast: Dude, ahh i see fair enough, this yr or next yr? Next yr we going to have some dam fine tech, id wait till then?. Sounds like my Mrs, if i play with hers she goes Grrrrrr lol

    I hope i dont get the erge to build next yea, i must stop buying comp stuff lol
  14. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    here's what I got with just ultra since I don't use AA or filtering in games, yea 2011's my turn, not sure what I'm gonna do with all the new stuff coming out lol

    Attached Files:

  15. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Well just upped to a MSI HD5770 and putting the 3870 X2 in the kids comp later on today, gonna re-run some benches and see how it does ;)
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,139 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,470
    my guess is a bit slower for max FPS, but higher min and average.

    also, some reduction in CPU usage, removing potential bottleneck there.
  17. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    much lower temps and voltage consumption is going to be reduced as well.
  18. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    3870 X2 wouldn't work with the kids motherboard so it's on it's way to a buddy who can use it, and I'm actually getting gains in all fps...min, max, and avg :rockout:
  19. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND


    Not surprising, the 3870 had terrible, terrible scaling.


    You have more stream processors with your 5770, you have more memory ( unless you had a 2 gig 3870x2).

    640(320x2) ( doesn't get the benefit of the full 640 anyway I'd bet) vs 800 stream processors.
  20. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    126 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Pleasant Hill, CA
    Never run a 3870x2 but I did get both of my 4870x2 cards used for less than the cost of a single 5870 about a year ago. Never regretted that decision.
  21. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,556 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    How does the two 4870X2's perform like? Do you see a big increase in FPS in most games? or?

    Just wondering :D
  22. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    126 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Pleasant Hill, CA
    I get better FPS than my friend's 5970 in Bad Company 2, but not all games scale that well.
    Melvis says thanks.
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,139 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,470
    crossfire needs more CPU power than a single card, so in a game like bad company 2, crossfire can actually cause you to hit CPU bottlenecks and get lower performance than you should.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page