1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone sucessful with overclocking ASUS 280X?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ssawgift, Dec 26, 2013.

  1. ssawgift

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    My card is a newly bought ASUS R9280X-DC2T-3GD5-V2. I had no experience on overclocking. I tried several times, but had my computer freeze. Please can someone post your successful overclocking results so that I can learn from? Thanks.
     
  2. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    945 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    south korea
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    some just dont Oc very well ,ive a similar card and it clocks relatively poorly all round 1240 is the highest ive been able to bench it at without artefacting regardless of any setting and max fan speed
     
  4. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,486 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    To be fair, 1240MHz is a fairly respectable clock. I know the early 7970's clocked quite well but the later versions seemed to be a bit voltage shy. Maybe the 280X's follow the later 7970 trend?

    But for the OP,

    overclock on stock volts by 25MHz increments (50MHz if you're impatient). Run a stability test and try some gaming. Mnay folk swear by Crysis 3 and Far Cry 3 for stability issues. Don't rely on Benchmarks. If that 25 (or 50Mhz) overclock is stable, move it up again. Keep testing it until it starts giving you issues. When it does, then add more voltage. Usually you'll find your stock voltage overclock limit and then add volts until it's stable. At that point you can increase clocks again (and then voltage etc).

    But nothing is guaranteed in overclocking.
     
  5. ssawgift

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    I'm using AMD OverDrive in Catalyst Control Center. I can't see anywhere that I can control voltage. Do I have to manually set voltage using BIOS?
     
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    ssawgift says thanks.
  7. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    My Sapphire 7970 OC doesn't OC well at all on the stock air cooler, but I chock that up to having bought it late in the model cycle, with it's ASIC Quality rating being an abysmal 61.5% as a result. Late cycle chip batches are often higher in current leakage. Apparently they're great on water cooling, but when you're going bang for buck, that kinda negates the whole purpose. That said, I got it for only $330, it had a great 3 game bundle, and it's really been a good value anyway because of that.
     
  8. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    344 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Best benchmark I have found for stability is heaven 4.0 with all the settings to max.
     
  9. ssawgift

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    My ASIC is 78.1%, is that good?
     
  10. DF is BUSY

    DF is BUSY

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    267 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    yeah that ASIC is pretty good.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page