1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone try the Raspberry Pi?

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by camoxiong, Feb 5, 2013.

  1. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Anyone try the Raspberry Pi?
     
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    No but I am curious about it myself...
     
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I thought about getting one and making a router of it, but already having a Linksys E1000 I see no need.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,910 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    983
    I think we all want to try it.
    [​IMG]
     
    Phusius says thanks.
  5. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,691
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I just bought one a few weeks ago. I have to say I really like it. I've installed Raspbmc onto it and it's surprisingly snappy. I installed it on a 16gb SD class 10 card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I would like to get one to play with some linux on it and see if it makes a decent XBMC set top box.
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,274 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I did too until I realized that the ethernet it sported was 10Mbit. It might make for a better DNS or DHCP server.

    I have one of the 256Mb of ram ones. Kind of pissed that they gave it 512Mb only after realizing that 256 was cutting it close. Doh.
     
  8. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    The Raspberry Pi has a 10/100Mb NIC. (Well model B, no NIC on A)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raspberry_Pi

    I wish it had a 10/100/1000Mb NIC port and it probably could if they didnt use the USB 2.0 bus for the NIC.
     
  9. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Is it good for just like web searching and watching videos online, since it's a low power chip?
     
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,659 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,052
    I just want to find one for sale! :(
     
  11. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    From the FAQ:

    OpenArena (Quake 3 derivative) runs pretty well on it. You can find videos of it in action at their site, youtube, etc.
     
  12. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Agreed, amazon has some 3rd party sellers with them in stock (fulfilled by amazon) but asking $50 for them. To much, waiting until I get a 512 mb model B for less than $40 shipped.
     
  13. Kalevalen

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    42 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I got 4 of them hooked together running and one i don't know what to do with. Maybe I'll get that cam add on and hook it up to a rc plane or something.
     
  14. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    5 of them ?! Give me one please :p
     
  15. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Oh, you mean this guy?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    We have been doing some testing to turn these into phone servers. I believe they are capable of 20+ concurrent calls at the moment, but probably more with the new RAM revisions.

    This thing is excellent if you are a hobbyist, or just like tinkering around with something.

    I was able to get Quake 3 running at 30+ FPS on this beast at 1080p, played great, even online. It is also capable of playing h.264 at 1080p.

    I have never heard of OpenArena, but I did get the Actual Factual Q3A running (it requires recompiling and a few other things which is pretty simple)
     
    natr0n and BrooksyX say thanks.
  16. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    im sure going to get one with a wifi usb adapter
     
  17. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    For those wondering, that is a wireless nic, and it is also locally connected to the switch. The box is a raspberry case with the pi logo on it. On top, using the pull tape (best seen in the first picture) I have attached a powered USB hub.

    In this case, the pi can be powered from the hub by plugging the hub into the wall, or from any USB port (even that of the Xbox 360, tested and working). The hub is a great addition because it is able to power devices, whereas the pi USB power is very lacking for obvious reasons.
     
  18. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    any hub will work?
     
  19. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I am not 100% sure on that, but I can't see why there would be any incompatibilities. 2.0 of course.
     
  20. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    ok, i guess any hubs will work
     
  21. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,691
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I got my 512 model b from Newark. They have some in stock if you want one for $35.00. :toast: They have a lot of accessories as well.

    @everybody wondering about the Network Adapter

    It has 10/100 connection so using it as a router would be fine, because you'll need to pick up a usb network adapter (10/100/1000) to go out to your switch. :toast:

    Modem <--> 10/100
    10/100/1000 adapter <--> Switch

    Raspberry PI
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Website says product has a lead time of 29 days... grrr!
     
  23. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,691
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Yea, I had to wait about 3 weeks for mine, but I put in the order and it was here before I know it. :toast:
     
    BrooksyX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    How much was shipping?
     
  25. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,691
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I can't remember I'd have to go back and look, but it wasn't much using UPS.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page