1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone using a RAM disk?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Sasqui, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Has anyone here used a RAM disk? I haven't seen any over 4 GB, but have read that if it's used as the windows drive, most everything speeds up by a huge amount, and they are cheap (sub $100), plus ram prices have dropped by 1/2 within 6 months. The drawback is that most only have a battery life of 12 hrs or so, which leads to the next question... is that 12 hours of unplugged time, or 12 hr of "off" time? You'd obviously want to ghost the OS install.

    Any opinions or experience? I'm also wondering if high-performance RAM makes a difference... thx.
  2. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Lol been ages since i've heard of a RAM disk. I remember gigabyte having a PCI type with 4 DDR2 slots.
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, they were the first... the reviews showed it really sped things up, especially on sustained transfer and access delay:

    http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=6200&page=5

    however laughable given memory prices - but that part of the picture has changed. There are a few others out there as well...

    I think I had seen this a while back (promting this post in the first place): http://www.techpowerup.com/?32342
  4. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Gigabyte wasn't the first, Alec for example had a rocket drive. And I recall the Gigabyte driver using DDR1.

    Either way, RAM drives are easily bottlenecked by the interface, which means they're lightning fast and have very low response times.
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    That was a non-sequotor... They say the drive is bottlenecked by the SATA 150 interface -not too many traditional drives meet that performance.

    http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=6200&page=6

    With memory cheap, it sounds like an interesting proposition... hence the post.
  6. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    The newer models are SATA300, still bottlenecked of course. However 2 of those in RAID0 = really fast.
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Indeed... I've only found a few models out there searching on "ram disk" or "DDR2 ram drive" in google. Can you think of any other search terms?
  8. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    The benches are the ram drives are impressive, but its seems for practical when you use it to page/cache files.
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I'd opt for the system drive - it get's hit more frequently than any other.

    Wow... I just looked at my windows directory - 3.8 GB!!!
  10. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    that seems quite high, perhaps the win dir has some temp files, or old data. Also, system restore takes some space also, and every win update has some bloat with it (uninstaller, backed up files, etc).
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, totally... this is my work machine. Here's the twist - I use it so much, it's difficult to find time to do the sensible maintenance. It's easy to find time to post on TPU though, :toast:
  12. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Perhaps I should just get more RAM and use software to create a RAM drive. Would cost about the same.
  13. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,302 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Blighty
    saw a review of the gigabyte in this months custompc (uk) and theyre still ddr1 drives, im thinking of getting one, as i have 4gb of ddr1 'just lying around' lol
  14. Wayward

    Wayward New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I always wanted to try that. I'll research some software later, and try it on a spare system I've got lying around. Did you have any particular program in mind?
  15. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Windows comes with a driver.
    Wayward says thanks.
  16. Wayward

    Wayward New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Well you learn something new everyday. Thanks, I'll get on that and see how it goes. :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page