1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

anyways to improve my performance from my 4870 x2 ?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Hybrid_theory, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    I got a 12600 ish score on 3dmark 06. My main guess that it's so low is due to the low clock on my processor. I overclocked it in the past and got it to 2.8 before heating was a worrysome issue. It was fine through stress tests, but when i went to encode videos for my ipod i got blue screen of death.

    Anyways, I was wondering if there's any sort of thing I can do to get a little more performance out of it. I have catalyst 8.9 installed from the ati website, and not sure what else to say.
  2. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
  3. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    You had worrisome heat issues at 2.8ghz with a Xig 1283 cooler?:eek: I think you may really need to reapply TIM and reseat that cooler. Way too low of a overclock to have heat issues.
    What were the temps and vcore?
  4. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    I'm using the Xigmatech S1283 a very remarkable cooler similar to the one you just showed me with artic silver 5 on it. The problem is my q6600 is B3 revision. It's not easily overclockable and has a lower heat threshold.
  5. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    LOL. The Xig is MUCH better than that cooler. Actually it's one of the 5 best air coolers available. There is something else amiss.
  6. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    under load i was hitting about 63C on my hot core. voltage was....... i don't remember.

    I put on the as5 as directed on the site. Which is a vertical line of paste. Seating the heatsink was a bitch cause of the damn fan and its hard way to attach it. But once it was on it was sturdy to the board.
  7. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    B3 or not, that's really low to have heat problems. You have to be careful and fill in the gaps with TIM on "Direct touch" coolers.
  8. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I dont know. I got this one out of a favorable toms review. Ive had personal experience with it and Thermalright.

    Thats why I dont post much in this department, not too much personal experience with high end CPU overclocking.

    I do know that when one of the pins wasnt fully pinned to the motherboard it gave me blue screens though.

    EDIT: I mean its why I stay away from the OC forum, not this one.
  9. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Well i had the scythe ninja before that, and it got it to 48-52C idle @2.4 GHz. I hadn't tested it on stock cooling before hand. When i put the intel cooler on, I was at like 55-60 idle. I got the Xig and idle put me 38-43. WHich didn't change much as i overclocked, just load temperatures did.
  10. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    621 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Overseas
    I ran 3.2Ghz on my B3 Q6600 for months and didn't have any heat issues. It ran a bit hot but I lowered the Vcore and did some testing and that helped a bit. Then later I lapped the CPU and proc. I don't have the best cooler and I'd average 65C~ under full load on all four cores.
  11. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    What program are you using to monitor temps?
  12. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    It sounds like you applied too much Voltage. Scale back the voltage and see if that helps. I have a E6600, and I've exactly that. I wasn't paying attention :nutkick: Also, like Paulie said, apply your paste properly. A nice thin coat. Any more help? TPU is here.

    Yes, a slow CPU can severely cap your GPU. (Depending)
  13. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I have my Q6600 under a Xigma S1283, cores dont break 59*C at 100% load across all four cores.

    And I get about 15k on the rig in my specs, in 3dmark06, so you should be beating me, and even a B3 should do 3Ghz.

    I know mines a G0 but I have got 3.2Ghz out of it at 1.35v (LLC) from a VID of 1.3125
  14. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
  15. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    How can i make sure both cores are working?


    i know when i overclocked i dropped the voltage alot. went from like 1.5 to 1.1. And it was still fine on stress tests. After that I started overclocking and raising the voltage bit by bit. It wasn't over volting because there was times it didn't boot or the stress test failed.

    I'm using core temp for temperature readings.

    Also with overclocking, it wasn't just heating being an issue. AT 2.8 it could not handle encoding avi to mp4.
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2008
  16. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    When you reapply the thermal grease, just dab a little bit in the middle (about the size of a grain of rice) and screw your heatsinc down on that. This is what I've always done to eliminate little bubbles and stuff.

    Also, setup your control panel so model and texture detail are set to performance. This is what most people do prior to a test. Just setup the card to run at the lowest settings possible, no aa, no af.
  17. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    it's similar way of putting on the paste i did.
    http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appinstruct/as5/ins_as5_intel_quad_wcap.pdf
    page 4 has the spreading instructions
  18. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Hrmm.. I score in the 12600's with my system at the default clock with two 3870's. Something else may be up? Or do 4870x2's not score well in 3dMark 06?
  19. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    I just did a little googling on q6600 stock temps. One forum i found, a person said their temps were high with a B3 at 3 Ghz. And down the posts he found his 8800gts was heating up his processor. I had an 8800gts beforehand. Now it blew out the back, but besides that I have a 2 scythe 120 mm. One on the front of the hard drives doing intake, the other behind the cpu doing outake. There is also a 80 mm ontop exhausting heat. Besides that there is the xig fan on the heatsink.

    Im at school now, but i felt behind the x2 for airflow, it felt hot but not too much movement of air. Not sure what else I can do to improve airflow in the case.

    And just to double check. When placing the fan, the fins point towards the direction they blow? if that makes any sense.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page