1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Apple Introduces All New MacBook Pro with Retina Display

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Really awesome display and laptop altogether, Apple always getting it done when it comes to build quality and features. My only question is, how is Diablo 3 going to run at 2880x1800 on a GT650 1GB card? Of course you can always lower the resolution, but I'm definitely curious to see how it does at the native res.
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
  2. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,140 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Unless Asus or Samsung can come up with something close, I might finally pay a visit to the Apple store in anticipation of college.
  3. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    I wish they would refresh the 13" line with the higher spec screen. My current 13" is a beast that I can upgrade to 16GB of ram, with the 128GB SSD and a creappy 1280x800 screen.

    A $1,400 mid range variant with the nice screen would be fantastic.
    Completely Bonkers says thanks.
  4. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    About that resolution. Can somebody explain to me what is the difference between digital resolution and VGA resolution since in GT650M specs it say max for digital 3840 x 2160 and max for VGA 2048x1536? And how can you see the icons at that res on a 15" screen?
  5. vanyots

    vanyots

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    35 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Digital is the resolution you get out of your digital outputs(DVI, HDMI, DislayPort), and VGA is he analog resolution from the VGA port.

    And icons can scale too, and can be 64x64 or even 256x256 pixels:cool:
    Crap Daddy says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  6. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    VGA refers to a video feed that is going from an analog VGA cable (it is the smaller monitor cable, usually has a blue port) it is an older standard. The limit of the resolution is a result of the cable and not the card.

    You can see the icons because OSX uses different DPI scaling than windows. Everything up sizes correctly, so you just have super sharp display without needing a magnifying glass.
    Crap Daddy says thanks.
  7. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Goddammit I'm so happy there's still such an innovative company like Apple around. As long as the prices don't go up between generations, I'm planning on getting a 13" 2012 MBP.
  8. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    They haven't updated the 13" with the goodies tho. If they could stuff a 650M and a dual core ivy with even a 1440x900 screen (like the current air screen) I would totally go for it.
  9. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Yeah I just saw that. Nothing very exciting with the 13". Probably will make a pass until they release a 13" high res edition.
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Wait...what forum is this? :p

    Man too bad it's not the fat cat days around work anymore; we'd be getting a whole bunch of these. Seeing in person might be worth a lunchtime trip to the Apple store.
  11. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Already placed my order. :pimp:

    2.6/16gb ram/512 SSD.

    This is my work-top though. I will use the shit out of every 1 and 0 it can process. Time to put my Developer account to work!
  12. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    I admit, crapple may be the scum of the earth but that display is supah smooth.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    NOTE TO ANYONE ORDERING: THE MEMORY IS SOLDERED IN MACBOOK AIR STYLE.

    Order it with what you'll want.


    INB4HATERS:
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/5688/apple-ipad-2012-review/13

    Its crazy we're getting to the point that sockets are impairing our battery life :O

    Its little details like this, that I really admire the people that get to work on those projects.
  14. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    843 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Starting at $2800 :eek:


    To rich for my blood
  15. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    $2199 not $2800. Just over baseline Macbook Pro price.
    OneCool says thanks.
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,310 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,338
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Most consumers think they're useless/not willing to pay for it. High res screens have been available for a long time but only the professional market buy them (specifically radiology) because they are cost prohibitive.

    Put bluntly, only Apple can get away with selling $500+ monitors included (thanks to brand loyalty) with the computer price whereas Dell, HP, Lenovo, Acer, etc. cannot. The bulk of their computer sells come in at half the price Apple sells for.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Location:
    Italy
    Good Apple, now sell me a 30" 4K res Cinema Display :) with Dual-Dual-DVI and I'll be veeery happy, heck even a 27" 2880x1800 would be good.
  18. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    You have an option of a 10-bit IPS DreamColor panel with HP's elitebook workstations which costs around $400-500, can't remember if Dell and Lenovo offer such panel as well.
    The fact is that there are much better laptops (hardware/component wise) that cost 2-3 times more than MBP, but they mostly don't come in such small thickness (I'm talking about workstation laptops) and battery life suffers as well.
  19. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,310 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,338
    Location:
    IA, USA
    The "DreamColor" laptops are aimed at graphics/video professionals as they come with Quadro/FirePro cards (adds about 400-500% to the cost of graphics alone). DreamColor is also only up to 1920x1080 on the screen I'm looking at: http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsuppor...askId=&prodSeriesId=4096175&prodTypeId=321957

    Mac Book Pro doesn't even come close to the offerings of the Quadro/FirePro. Correct me if I'm wrong but you can't even get a Quadro/FirePro in an Apple product (even the $2500+ Mac Pro). This is why graphics designers are moving increasingly to Windows-based computers. Adobe, specifically, requires NVIDIA Quadro (CUDA cores) for some components of their master suite.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Yes they are exotic but the colour reproduction is amazing. Yes maximum resolution is 1080p and to even use it you need a FirePro/Quadro to enable 10-bit support, but all workstation models come with either a FirePro or a Quadro.

    I don't know about Apple's "desktop" line of computers but no there are no FirePro/Quadro for laptops.
    About CUDA, AFAIK a normal gaming card is better in CUDA due to higher clocks compared to Quadro which is more optimized for OpenGL. Although I could be very wrong since I don't have a Quadro card...
  21. anonymous6366

    anonymous6366

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Not an apple fan but that laptop is gonna be baller. Of course its overpriced as shit though lol
  22. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    iirc Adobe products on OS X don't require Quadro(which would be stupid, since theres only ever been like 2-3 ever made since the Intel transition.). I could be wrong.

    They also work on Ati GPU's, whereas on Windows they do not.
  23. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    843 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    $2200 :eek:

    Too rich for my blood :rolleyes:

    I mean come on how much you think Apple will have in that thing with parts,labor,shipping and r&d cost...hell even through in marketing?I bet they still make close too a grand on each one :shadedshu

    BTW if you show up at your local coffee house with only a 256 ssd in your MacBook fucking PRO you will be laughed at....soo much so they will black ball you for ever!! :respect:
  24. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,310 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,338
    Location:
    IA, USA
    http://www.adobe.com/products/creativesuite/mastercollection/tech-specs.html

    SpeedGrade requires CUDA and they recommend Quadro because of driver optimizations for Adobe products.

    SpeedGrade specifically: http://www.adobe.com/products/speedgrade/tech-specs.html
    PNY makes the Quadro 4000 for Mac. That's your only choice though. It's the only Quadro card, as far as I can tell, that NVIDIA makes Mac drivers for.
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    [​IMG]

    Given the GT 650 just appeared for Macs, would stand to reason they just need to add it to the list.

    My comment stands :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page