1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Arctic Makes Accelero Hybrid Generally Available Late May

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 4, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,542 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,643
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    First pictured with Inno3D GeForce GTX 680 iChill Hybrid, Arctic plans to make its Accelero Hybrid air+liquid graphics card cooler generally available on May 29. The Accelero Hybrid consists of a closed-loop liquid cooler for the GPU, and a cooler shroud that suspends a fan, which guides air through heatsinks over the VRM and memory chips. Heat from the GPU is dissipated at a 1U radiator, which is ventilated by a 120 mm Actic F12 PWM-controlled fan. Measuring 243 (L) x 112 (W) x 44.2 (H) mm, the net weight of the cooler (graphics card module) is 363 g; while the radiator measures 150 (L) x 120 (W) x 52.8 (H) mm, weighing 503 g.

    Arctic includes heatsinks for the VRM and memory chips, a syringe of Arctic MX-4 thermal interface material for the GPU base, and Arctic thermal adhesive tapes for the VRM and memory heatsinks. Arctic did not give out a complete list of graphics cards supported, but it does mention that both NVIDIA and AMD graphics cards will be supported. Support for NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 has already been established thanks to Inno3D.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Bjorn_Of_Iceland says thanks.
  2. jalex3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    187 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    TBH if you wanted this for a gpu, you would probably want similar for the cpu. why not just get full water cooling.
     
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Bet it will cost too, when you start spending $100+ on a aftermarket cooler may as well go full water block, nice concept though... I think
     
  4. Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    173 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    More like if you want your CPU and GPU water-cooled then assemble your own loop. This is perfect if you just want to water-cool your GPU and leave your CPU overclocked on air. If reviews and compatibility are good, this will sell easily and I'll get one.
     
  5. Chaitanya

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    395 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pune
    perfect for my next PC build, its a no fuss LCS compared to my old messy Aquagate Max. Also its been years since we saw a All-in-one liquid cooling solution for video cards. :rockout:
     
  6. lastcalaveras

    lastcalaveras

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    119 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    can't wait to see corsair follow suit and expect their oem partner coolit to provide a the product for them in a retail sku
     
  7. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,355 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    maybe i have just found my new GTX 680 cooling solution depending on the price ofc :roll:
     
  8. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    I like the idea for a watercooled GPU but it would be better if it was single-slot.
     
  9. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,355 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    well u got dual DVI on top on each other so making it single slot won't actually do u anything good, bcs it's designed for the ref. pcb design by nvidia.

    and adding a fan i don't think it's anything wrong with that for help cooling the ram and vrms ^^
     
  10. Ross1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I really dont think it matters, most motherboards are now laid out with the assumption a graphics card takes up 2 slots.
     
  11. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Ya, I guess have to start thinking "Outside the box." Or in this situation "Outside the case" :p
     
  12. erasure

    erasure

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    156 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Kingdom of Lost Heaven
    i want it
     
  13. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    nice but fugly.
     
  14. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,093 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Tubes are better than Corsair H series. Reminds Antec.
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,668 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    given the design, they look made by Asetek - who also makes Antec's and Corsair's closed loop water coolers.
     
  16. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,121 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Definately looks like Asetek

    Not all Corsairs are made by Asetek. Only two models most noticeably by the circular design pump and cpu heatsink with thicker hoses. The others Corsairs with a square design are made by Cool-It.
     
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    so the water cools the core and the air cools the rest.
     
  18. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    This looks like the Antec Kuhler 620. You can easily mount it on any gpu with just 9 zip ties and 30 minutes of your time.
     
  19. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    209 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    great idea, i hpoe that the pump can withstand 75-80 degree temps, 24/7, because otherwise it is not going to be reliable compared to the air cooled HSF of standard gpus...

    what is the warranty on this?...
    if the life span of a unit decreases by half every 10c, and the max temp operating temp of a cpu tends to be 55c and the max operating temp of a GPU is 75... the life span is going to need to be 4 times greater than the cpu's pump.
    then i guess people only stress their GPU 25% percent of the time playing games, so it is moot point.
     
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,668 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    that would be a pretty unorthodox way of mounting it but at the same time it would look ugly as sin.

    Unless you use your CPU for folding/crunching 24/7 then i dont see this a as a problem. I dont quite understand what you mean by max operating temp but it generally depends on the CPU but generally speaking, anywhere under 60'c load is a good thing. Its only in extreme cases where my 2500k comes anywhere close to 60'c otherwise its happy to run at around 50-55'c for BF3 and other games.

    its not going to be stressed out unless you mount some really slow ass fans to the rad or run it passive in which case your CPU would probably go into thermal shutdown before windows fully loads up.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2012
  21. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    A self contained LC kit for something that doesn't exist :confused:

    Seriously if looking at this; GO FULL WATER :)
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,668 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    going 'full water' costs significantly a lot more, not to mention that Waterblocks for GPUs are quite expensive for even just one of them. Here in the UK, Just one standard EK-FC7970 block costs $130.
     
  23. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    So don't use a FC block, a decent WC setup with tripple rad should be around $300 - $350, you can go higher of course. Swiftech Apogee kit's would be a good start just add a GPU block, much better than this pre built stuff IMHO.

    I really doubt people will want to WC just the GFX card
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,668 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,273
    I dont think they do non-FC blocks for cards like the 7970 unless you get one of them really cheap shit generic GPU blocks that only cover the GPU and nothing else that are roughly the same size as a nothbridge chipset block. or even smaller in some cases.

    something like a EK VGA Supreme HF Universal Graphics Card Waterblock or a ThermalTake Aqua Brazing W2 Copper VGA GPU Water Block CL-W01088. I assume - at around $65 each they are cheaper but they are harder to find and usually in short supply which doesnt help the overall price when you find them.

    I understand what you are trying to say but its not worth the fuss unless you run SLi or crossfire where you might have trouble fitting two of these units inside your case.
     
  25. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,355 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    if anyone wanna know how this cooler would look on a GTX 680 this is a drawing Arctic-Cooling as put on their page and i think it looks good even the plastic holding the fan ain't that beautiful but i can't wait to see how well it will perform.

    [​IMG]

    and on the bright side it's not like it will go 3 slots like most aftermarket air coolers.

    even ino that the Inno3D pics showed it but this is a bigger pic gives more details than:

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page