1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Arctic Silver on Water Block?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by freeboy, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Use the Arctic Cerimeque on my vga water block? I was unsure and order it for cpu block and AS5, for GPU water block?

    I would like to do both in Ceremique and save the unused AS5 for the old system sale. thanks
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Sure or the new MX-2, just as long as it's not "adhesive" you can still remove it and redo if necessary.

    :toast:
     
  3. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    well the point is I have both, will use one
     
  4. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Use the ceramique - its safer for VGA cards as it is not (or less) electrically conductive than the AS5. You can use AS5 on the Video, but you just have to be careful not to put so much as it comes out the sides of the chip and onto the socket, which could cause a short.
     
    freeboy says thanks.
  5. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    thanks, I read someware about temps and the ceremique not being thebest for vga, but honestly cannot place what source that was from, thanks again.
    I am selling my old sys and will now add the unuped AS5 to it and it will be nice :()_
     
  6. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Please use better thread titles in the future.

    Forum Guidelines

    Ceramique is almost as good as Arctic Silver 5. The difference amounts to around 1 or 2 degrees C. It is better for chipsets and VGA cards with exposed dies, because it is non-conductive.
     
  7. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    ceramique will really do your vga some good. its the non conductive version of as5, and theres only a slight difference in temps, maybe 1-2C hotter, but it's better for things other then the cpu.
     
  8. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    ok, so I thought it was BETTER for temps than the AS5 ?

    whichever is better goes on the CPU for sure!
     
  9. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    as5 is better for cpus and hotter applications whereas ceramique is better for gpus,chipsets, and colder temps(like water cooling, tecs).

    its just like that, i cant really explain better that lol.
     
    freeboy says thanks.
  10. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    right, but since I am water cooling my system with a new build .. SOON! you would recommend the AS5 for the cpu.. wow!!!

    I really was upside down thinking the other way around.. THANKS!!!
    I love these boards, If MS was liek these boards we would be seriously involved in making hte world a better pc place! LOL
     
  11. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    and again, WITH zest:rolleyes:

    as5 is one of the top pastes, it is better than ceramique; HOWEVER as5 contains silver particles which make it electrically conductive. ceramique on the other hand uses (you guessed it!) ceramic particles therefore it is not electrically conductive.

    it is up to you what you chose to apply + where. just have to remember to be cautious when using as5 on gpu/nb/sb

    i personally use as5 on cpu and ceramique on gpu/nb/sb.

    there is also the new mx-2 which is supposed to be the best as well as not being conductive?!?!

    you want to avoid using the metallic pastes when going sub-zero because they can actually freeze, using as5 with L/C is OK.


    :toast:
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2007
    panchoman says thanks.
  12. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    thanks for that explanation, i had it all right, just couldn't explain why :toast::toast::toast:
     
  13. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    ur welcome.

    :toast:
     
  14. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    very informed I am! thanks too U TWO!
    My new card is in! Fed ex is holding for pickup and my GPU M5, they sent me a CPU at first oops! is here , so It look like I will be doing a retro fit today! yeh!
     
  15. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    AS5 is NOT conductive. It's sligthly capacitive - meaning if you connect two points in a circuit with the goop, you'll end up with some issues.
    [​IMG]
     
  16. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    capacitive is basically code for slightly conductive. it'll still got enough conductivity to connect bridges and cause malfunction, artic silver themselves have said that.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page