1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Arduino for managing Solar powered wireless router volts/amps/temp/light

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Geofrancis, Mar 31, 2014.

1. Geofrancis

Geofrancis

Thanks Received:
    i have built a solar powered wireless router and to manage it i have designed a system around an arduino board connected to the network via a serial port and SER2NET on openWRT.

the idea is to use the arduino to monitor the battery voltage, solar panel current output, sun brightness, uptime and monitor the battery temperature to turn on the cooler.

so using what i have picked up from school doing Comal and messing around with flight controllers i managed to google and hack enough code together to almost do what i need it to do. (i think)

does anyone know a better way of doing any of the code ? this is my first time so assume its crap

the solar readout is a bit basic i need to figure out a way of calibrating the LDR so 100% is a sunny day in summer and 0% is darkness

it looks okish on my test arduino with nothing connected but im sure thats why the measurements are a bit whacky.

the fan control will eventually run a small TEC to cool the batteries transferring the heat to the aluminium back plate. i figure if its hot enough to overheat the batteries i can spare some power to cool them.

Attached Files:

• .jpg
      .jpg
      File size:
      793.8 KB
      Views:
    • arduino.png
      arduino.png
      File size:
      67.4 KB
      Views:
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2014
  2. james888

james888

Thanks Received:
    You sir always have the most interesting projects I must say.
    Geofrancis says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Geofrancis

Geofrancis

Thanks Received:
    i want to mas produce these soon so i am doing my best to keep the costs down so far its:

20W solar panel £32
    TP-link wr703n with openWRT £14
    4s 5800mah lithium pack £30