1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are all these parts compatible?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by crazy pyro, Dec 11, 2008.

  1. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Here are the parts I'm getting:
    [​IMG]
    What difference does the cache size on the hard disk make? I'm guessing larger is better.
    Will that RAM perform well? I was going to buy the 4gb kit before eBuyer put the price back up to £60, I know that novatech have what may be a 4gb kit, however in the title of the item it says "2gb kit (2*2gb)" so I'll just go for the 4 1GB sticks I think.
    I'm getting the card, processor and DVD drive from novatech as shown here:
    [​IMG]
    I googled the card and apparently it's just a re-named version of the palit one.
    I won't be overclocking the q6600 for a while, however when it begins to need it I'll be fine with buying an after market cooler and OCing it (I'll come back here for some help).
    No comment on the DVD drive, it seems fairly standard.
    OS is coming from PC world as an upgrade version for £70 (Win Vista x64) I'll be upgrading from an enterprise edition of XP, however I've read that you can just do a clean install off one.
    Here are links to all of the parts:
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/150283
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/141471
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/127584
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/119279
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/135514
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/103208
    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?NOV-4850
    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?IL-Q6600E
    http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?SAM-H653B
    I might set up a raid configuration if that 500gb HDD becomes full, don't think that'll happen any time soon though so I'll only buy a new HDD when needed.
    I'm just checking that all this would work well together.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    your ram isn't available right now, but yep that PC is ready to be ordered an built ^_^
     
  3. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    The Corsair 650 watt PSU, that's there, I may not having included the link though.
    RAM is unavailable now sadly, /me commences trawl of internet for RAM.
     
  4. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,761 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    PSU is there, see top image.

    OP that all looks fine to me from a compatability point of view, should work pretty nicely too.
     
    crazy pyro says thanks.
  5. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Cheers, if I hadn't ended up needing to repost since no-one responded to my bumps of my old thread I can't get the RAM or at least not from Ebuyer.
     
  6. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,761 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    from ebuyer the cheapest currently available CL4 ram is
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/142433
    but it's £17 more than the original selection you made (but does leave you 2 ram slots free for future upgrades).

    from overclockers they have this 4gb kit at cl4
    click to see ram, link is too long to post as text :S £46
    or this 2gb kit at cl4
    click to see ram, link is too long to post as text £28
    dont know how they perform though.

    the cheapest 2x1 2gb kit is this ocz (didnt see them when i first took a look)
    ocz ram, £22 for 2gb
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2008
    crazy pyro says thanks.
  7. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Cheers, looks like I'll be going with OCUK then, cheers. Forgot to hit the thanks button for your original post, sorry.
    Ballistix Tracer's meant to perform at a higher level than normal Ballistix RAM and for £6 more I'll go for that (prepares to be whacked with postage)
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page