1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are bulldozer's PCI-E 3.0 compatible?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Jegergrim, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    It seems that the 7xxx radeon series will support PCI-E 3.0, but the bulldozer wont. What will this mean for a build based on these two products? Will the GPU be limited, or will the CPU be compatible through the motherboard?

    Intending to go for AMD/ATI build, unless they disappoint alot
  2. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I really don't think it will have much of an effect on performance, if any.
    Jegergrim says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,609 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,995
    Wait for AMD PCI-E 3.0 boards to be released.
    Jegergrim says thanks.
  4. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    Thanks for the fast reply :)

    If the board supports PCI-E 3.0 and the CPU doesn't, what does this mean? Since I'm not to familier with these sort of things, for instance I've read (example), the Ivy-bridge or SandyBridge-E will have integrated PCI-E 3.0 support, or something along the lines of this. Well to clarify my question, would a PCI-E 3.0 990x motherboard do the exact same as PCI-E 3.0 ready CPU's?
  5. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    On AMD boards, the pci controllers are part of the board. On Intel, it's part of the CPU.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,609 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,995
    No. See that latest news post on MSI/Gigabyte and PCI-E 3.0.
  7. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    That was sarcasm, right?

    I think I'm being trolled by a MOD.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,609 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,995
    No, it has to do with the PCI-E switches on the motherboard. This goes for both AMD and Intel chipsets.
    Jegergrim says thanks.
  9. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Don't the Intel boards need Ivy before the PCIe 3.0 will work?
  10. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    Any chance of further clarification, for the less knowledged user ? :eek:
    Does this mean it is currently "unknown" whether it is integrated or on the motherboard?
  11. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    I read the SB-E's will support PCI-E 3.0, so I guess not
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  12. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Why won't it work with SB regular then?
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,609 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,995
    If it was, they would advertise it. They are the small rectangular chips usually located between PCI-E slots.

    [​IMG]
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  14. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    I actually don't know, possibly due to the platform change to LGA 2011
  15. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Intel has too damn many chipsets. It confuses me.
  16. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    I read somewhere that the enthusiast (E) series will be on platform 2011 i.e. Sandybridge-E and IvyBridge-E, whereas the normal series will be on 1155, seems like a good way of being future proof for a while, compared to bulldozer First gen to second gen changing platforms...
  17. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I thought the opposite. I thought that they had SB boards that would be compatible with IB, but the SB-e boards wouldn't. Where are the Intel guys when you need them?
  18. Suhidu

    Suhidu

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    163 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2011
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page