1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are custom hotkeys possible?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by hat, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,262 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Location:
    Ohio
    I would like to make a custom hotkey for vent that mutes my mic. I don't like using push to talk, but sometimes my mom walks in and talk to me, which means my friend on the other side on the screen hears her, which is pretty shitty...

    tl;dr Can/how do I make a hotkey that mutes my mic?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,517
    sharpkeys

    it also works with media keys, such as mute. idk about mute mic specifically, but it's possible.

    are you sure Vent doesn't have a hotkey for it? like ctrl+shift+something? just assign that macro to a key in sharpkeys.
     
  3. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,262 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm pretty sure vent doesn't have a combo to mute...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,020 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,260
    Use PTT then. You can only mute it manually. But pressing the PTT key (in my case the left CTRL) does the same, albeit in a different way i.e. you're muted until you press the hotkey, while what you want is you're not muted unless you press a hotkey. And is PTT that much of a hassle?
     
  5. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,517
    hmm... well i was able to write a simple batch script at one point, that disabled the integrated webcam in a laptop... i do not have access to the file atm, but it was basically using devcon to enable/disable it based on it's hardware id. get the hardware id of your mic and you may be able to do the same. easy with a usb mic with a regular one i'm not sure...

    then executing a shortcut via hotkey is probably in sharpkeys, if not im sure there is software around for that.

    sorry i obviously don't have a simple way. maybe someone else does...
     
  6. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,020 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,260
    OK I've been able to make a custom hotkey in Vent.

    Run vent, select the arrow beside the drop-down menu of "Bindings".

    Click "New", give it a name ("Mute"), then click "Add", select "Toggle Mute Microphone", select the hotkey to use, then OK.

    Before connecting to a server select the "Mute" bind you just made.
     
    hat says thanks.
  7. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    may be possible using eventghost, http://www.eventghost.org/ it has a keyboard hotkey plugin and a sound mixer plugin, so can be configured to mute mic off on i guess.
    theres also autohotkey, but i havent used it.
     
  8. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,020 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,260
    Actually you shouldn't really name it "Mute" since you can load up a lot more of custom hotkeys besides Mute - Right Alt for example. :p
     
  9. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,262 (5.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Location:
    Ohio
    ...why didn't I notice that? thanks!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,020 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,260
    No problem hat.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page