1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are Sandy Bridge i3 CPU passe?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Bugler, Jan 29, 2014.

  1. Bugler

    Bugler

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    122 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    At the beginning of 2012 I built myself an i3 system and used it a few months while building an Ivy Bridge i5 system. I put the i3 system away for backup. Just last week I've thought that I'd better sell it before it gets too old that it's worth nothing. All week on CL for $250 no hit. Am I too late? Everything is practically new except for the 500 gig hard drive with Win Vista 32bit retail that I pulled from my AMD system I upgraded from.

    I guess I'm better off keeping it and maybe use it as a Linux box? Since my i5 system is all new I have the old LCD monitor, internet ready keyboard and a mouse that I used since the AMD days. Kinda dirty though that I didn't attempt to sell 'em with the i3 box.
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,922 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,359
    Set up as a NAS or something, set it up and sell some of that storage space to friends = profit
     
  3. Bugler

    Bugler

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    122 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Pardon my ignorance but what's NAS?
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,382 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,713
    Network Attached Storage, by the way that chip is not worth 250, more like 100 flat or less
     
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,922 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,359
    It will work great as a file or media server. Buy a few 3tb hdds and use an OS called FreeNas to set up raid. Throw in an intel network card if you wish and it would make a pretty good setup for remote storage and streaming
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,892 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,295
    Considering the highest priced i3 on Newegg is $159, you're asking way too much money. It would never sell at that price.
     
  7. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    He's asking $250 for a whole system from the sound of it, which isn't too bad.
     
    erocker says thanks.
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,885 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Depends on the specs a bit, but this is correct.
     
  9. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,223 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,740
    I'd like to see how you listed it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Blue-Knight

    Blue-Knight

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    353 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    I think all Sandy Bridge processors are dead (end of life). So, for Intel they are passe.

    But they can still be used if bought one of them. And may not be passe to you.

    Happy New Year!
     
  11. Bugler

    Bugler

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    122 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Yeah, it's a whole tower. I took a pic when I got the parts but with a Celeron G540. I upgraded it later to i3:

    [​IMG]

    Added a Sapphire HD6670 video card and an Asus DVD-RW both new but using a used WD Green 500 gig drive pulled from my AMD system.
     
  12. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Well forget the NAS idea if you want to run a RAID array, H61 boards do not support hardware RAID, and i would not bother with software RAID.
     
  13. Bugler

    Bugler

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    122 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Here's the ad on CL.

    For sale is my Intel Core i3 tower. $250 cash in hand only. No trades whatsoever.

    What's in it:

    Rosewill FBM-02 Dual Fans MicroATX Mini Tower Computer Case
    G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit
    ASRock H61M-DGS LGA 1155 Intel H61 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
    CORSAIR CX series CX430 430W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
    Intel Core i3-2105 Sandy Bridge 3.1GHz LGA 1155 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor
    ASUS 24X DVD Burner
    SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6670 1GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16

    It has a used WD Green 500 Gig Hard Drive, thoroughly tested and error free. I took it out of my AMD system I upgraded from
    Included are the Windows Vista 32bit OS boxed retail and disks for the motherboard and the video card

    NOTE: the pic show the boxed Celeron CPU but it was upgraded to an i3-2105
     
  14. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,223 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,740
    IMHO, stress what you did with it, not what it's made of. That would make a nice "parent/grandparent" system. Can you upgrade Vista?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yep, upgrade to 7 or 8 64 bit.

    Not sure why you installed a 32 bit OS to that system.
     
  16. Bugler

    Bugler

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    122 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    It's what I had when I upgraded from my AMD X2-3800+ system. Jeez guys, y'all are asking me to spend money on it. :laugh:
     
  17. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,628 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Mexico
    I would keep it as a spare system... although if you already own a laptop it might not be necesary
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Bugler

    Bugler

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    122 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    No, no laptop and I was keeping the i3 system as a spare so I guess I'll just keep it. If it gets old oh well. I have nothing that's demanding on a system so it'll still be good for me.

    I still have that AMD mobo with the CPU and the memory in a box collecting dust. Probably worth nothing.
     
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ebay dude. I sold an old Pentium 4 2.8GHZ socket 478 chip on ebay for $5. Not really much of anything, but I needed to get rid of it.
     
  20. Bugler

    Bugler

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    122 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    A chip? LOL, no room for it hey? :laugh:

    I don't like EBay anyway.
     
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,116 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    No. Full system, but was parted out (Sold everything on ebay). I stripped an old Dell Dimension 3000 and through some 2 TB drives in it and turned it into a file server and host some virtual machine stuff I like to play will.
     
  22. yotano211

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    105 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    You posted on the website. Craigslist is more of cheaper crowd . I make my living selling on ebay full time. I have sold some on CL but I prefer Ebay of 99% of the time. Yes the fess are insane but its better than collecting dust in the closet.
     
  23. Bugler

    Bugler

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    122 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Yeah, CL sucks. The next day my ad was buried under 4 pages. Day after that forget it so I left it in for a week and then pulled it. I thought I'd have a good chance because those selling are asking too much for really old stuff.

    Maybe a friend or a relative will be looking for one and I'll have it.

    I'm not hurting for money though.
     
  24. yotano211

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    105 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    You would need to post a new ad every day. Dont just let it sit there. Everyone does the same thing, post everyday. You need patience when it comes to selling things online. I make a very comfortable living doing it.
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,922 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,359
    If you have the original boxes, you could put it up on amazon with a sellers account. You dont need to be a proper merchant to sell on there i put up a few parts on there a couple of times. Never got that much interest but still worth a try
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page