1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are the Radeon 6990/6970/6950 Crossfire Compatible ???

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by jonathan1107, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    845 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi, I've been doing some research lately and I would like to know if anyone knows if these 3 cards are crossfire compatible... I've been looking everywhere and I have a hard time finding out...

    Also, what would you recommend for my rig in terms of graphic cards :

    I have a i7 875k with 8gb of Ram 1600mhz... with one Radeon 6950 (unlocked)

    I've been playing Dragon Age 2 recently... and I can't quite set the video settings to Very high on that game with everything maxed out. Well... I can, but it gets a little laggy. Which is why I keep it around "high" settings with 4x AA.

    What should I do? Should I get another 6950, unlock it and crossfire it?

    Or should I buy the 6990 alone and sell the 6950 I own (to get some money down on that 6990)

    Or should I crossfire my actual 6950 with a new 6990? (If these 2 are compatible in any case...)
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,200 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,089
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
  3. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    845 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Thx for your answer. But I would like to know if someone out there knows FOR SURE if they are Crossfire compatible...

    Also, I forgot to ask whether you guys think I should upgrade my CCC software (which is version 10.11 right now to 11.2, which is the latest)

    Do you think that could help the performance of my graphic card at all? I was wondering whether it would still be possible for me to unlock my 6950 after I update the CCC drivers and software...

    I'm not sure about this, but sometimes it feels like my XFX radeon 6950 performs better when NOT unlocked... Obviously, I get more quality and unified shaders when it's unlocked but somehow it feels like the card doesn't like that so much lolzzz.

    And my BIG question: How much of a performance boost would I get from crossfiring my actual 6950 with another? In terms of FPS and in terms of how high I could Raise my Game settings???
  4. Zoudo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Denmark
    I have 2 6950 unlocked in CF, 2 CF connectors on 6950/6970, so you can CF 2 or 3 or 4 cards if you wish in CF, on 6990 there is 1 connector, so you can "only" have 2 cards in CF.
  5. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    845 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    I still need insurance that I can Crossfire a 6990 with a 6950... I REALLY need precise answers for these questions (sorry for repeting myself) :

    What should I do? Should I get another 6950, unlock it and crossfire it?

    Or should I buy the 6990 alone and sell the 6950 I own (to get some money down on that 6990)

    Or should I crossfire my actual 6950 with a new 6990? (If these 2 are compatible in any case...)


    Should I upgrade my CCC software and drivers to version 11.2 (latest)? Is that possible considering I have a 6950 unlocked? or must I flash it back to its default version before upgrading CCC to 11.2?

    I've done some research and I've stumbled on info about unlocking the 6950 and using the
    ASUS bios with smart doctor allowing for a raise to 1.3v, which in turn unlocks CCC so you can get 1620/2500 speed... I'm not 100% certain that info is correct. It looked crazy when I read this. Here's the link btw : http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/.../t-265787.html

    Can anyone tell me if I should go for it, and if you think it would help my PC performance in games...
  6. Jmatt110

    Jmatt110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes the 6990 will CF with a 6950/70. What combination of cards you choose is up to your budget. A single 6990 will power through DA2 easily, as will 2 6950's. Basically any combination of 2 or more GPU's. And I'd say install the Catalyst 11.4 preview, seems to be much better than 11.2
  7. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    845 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you for that answer... Exactly what I was looking for. So there's a difference of performance between the CCC software 10.12 vs 11.4? In your opinion?

    And do I need to undo my 6950 unlock before I update to 11.4?
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,131 (13.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,582
    Just about eveyone is having good luck with 11.4's. Better performance too.

    You do not need to undo your unlock for updating drivers. The unlocked shaders are tied to the bios, not the drivers.
  9. Jmatt110

    Jmatt110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
  10. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    845 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Where can I download 11.4 ccc... Went to the AMD website, didn't find it...

    Is this released yet? Where did you guys find 11.4??
  11. Undead46

    Undead46 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    257 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA, Texas
    What the hell is the point of getting a 6990 if you're going to crossfire it with a 6950 (unlocked)?

    You're going to spend $700 and it's going to underclock to match 6950 (unlocked) speeds, so there's absolutely no performance boost of getting 6950/6990 versus 2x 6950's...
  12. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    845 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah, I figured that (about 6990 and 6950)

    I was wondering though... How much of a performance increase would I get with 2x 6950 (unlocked in crossfire) ??
  13. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    845 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Are you sure about not having to "undo my unlock to update drivers" sometimes Driver updates require a Vbios update...

    Do YOU have 11.4 installed??
  14. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    845 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Oh, and another quick question: Must I uninstall my current version of CCC (10.12) before installing 11.4?
  15. cyriene

    cyriene New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Miami
    http://tinyurl.com/485vw6m
  16. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,598 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    ok anyone know for sure, been thinking about picking one up if the GTX590 underperforms
  17. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell

    don't the modern CAT's allow the cards to run at their own speeds without matching clocks like back in the day?
  18. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell

    don't the modern CAT's allow the cards to run at their own speeds without matching clocks like back in the day? i know my 5970 (default 850/1200) didnt clock back to match my 5850 (default 765/1125) when i first fitted it
  19. Iactus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    86 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yea they do.

    Also to the OP:

    Why are you spending close to $1000 on Graphics cards when you dont seem to understand the basics of the actual cards and the drivers?

    When crossfire goes wrong (it does some times .. same with SLI) Your going to be stuck as you wont know how to fix it... sure we are here to help but its kinda silly...

    Just seems very odd to me thats all.
  20. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    to satisfy the masses, can you clarify what u meant by

  21. Iactus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    86 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yea..

    Your correct, with the current drivers you can have say:

    a 5870 at stock clocks
    a 5850 at stock clocks

    they will run there own clock speeds and run in crossfire perfectly happy.

    If you want better performance you would raise the 5850's clocks to match the 5870's.


    Same for the 6950 and the 6970 cards, they will work fine at there own respective clocks but would be better when clocked the same or the lower end card clocked slightly higher.

    tried and tested by myself
    2DividedbyZero says thanks.
  22. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    845 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    A quick Noobish quesiton: I noticed how I got more stability in Dragon Age 2 by lowering my radeon 6950 clock speeds.... And it brought me to a this question:

    Shouldn't the graphic performance increase with increased clock speeds... Why does the Game seem to run just as good and even better when I lower my clock speeds ??... Now I know that my radeon 6950 is unlocked... which is why the fastest clock speeds are a No-No since it's not a 6970.

    What is there to gain in raising clock speeds and what is there to lose?
  23. Iactus New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    86 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Sounds like you got a bad card and its a 6950 for a reason.

    I would undo your shaders unlock and then try overclocking it.
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,678 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    crossfire doesnt slow down to match the weakest card. thats an nvidia thing.

    The only thing crossfire does like that, is it matches the memory amounts.


    These cards have ECC (error check and correction). all it means is that your card is stable enough to not crash, but its wasting time re-doing certain calculations due to errors. try unlocked shaders at stock clocks, or just revert to stock shaders.
  25. jonathan1107

    jonathan1107

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    845 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    ok thx for the info

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page