1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are these parts compatible?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by x_Stricken_x, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    I'm going to be doing a new build here - primarily a gaming/video editing/rendering machine - but my main concern is everything I have picked out compatible with each other? For example, will I have compatibility problems with my motherboard and the amount of fans in the case I choose? If anyone could tell me if all the things I have chosen will work fine, I'd appreciate it! Also, any tips in general would be appreciated!

    Operating System: Windows 7 Professional SP-1 64-bit OEM

    Case: COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Advanced RC-932-KKN5-GP Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case with USB 3.0

    Power Supply: CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W ATX12V 2.3

    Motherboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with USB BIOS

    Processor: Intel Core i7-3930K Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 2011 130W Six-Core Desktop Processor BX80619i73930K

    Fan/Heatsink: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1

    RAM: CORSAIR Dominator Platinum 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

    Graphics Card: SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7970 OC 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card - will take suggestions if there is any, though

    Optical Drive: ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM

    Hard Drive(s):
    1) Corsair Force Series GT CSSD-F120GBGT-BK 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
    2) Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

    Also, am I missing any of the core components? I made a check list, and was checking things off, but I might have overlooked something. Thanks! :)
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  2. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Yes, they will work together. No issues, you will have plenty of room for that case.

    Fan/heatsink if on a budget, Hyper212+ Evo, if not on a budget Corsair H100

    any good reviewed 16gb 2x 8gb or 4x 4gb ddr3 1600 will do.
    x_Stricken_x says thanks.
  3. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Thanks for such a fast reply! Finally, a site that actually responds! :D And would this work for the fan/heatsink or would you recommend something else? Also, I was wondering, since the motherboard supports quad-channel memory, does that mean I have to get a quad-channel kit, or could I do 2 dual-channel kits? And is there any brand you would recommend as far as RAM goes?
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,896 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,193
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yes, but I don't think a 4GB 670 is worth it for that price. You can jsut get a GTX680 for that cost.Or even a HD7970 if you really want over 2Gb of vram.
  5. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Could you link me (preferably on NewEgg) to a 680 for that price with 4GB of vram? I didn't see one, but might have missed it
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,219 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    im seeing alot of reviews of that power supply dying anywhere from 3 days to within a year.

    Id Honestly Look at

    Corsair

    Antec

    Seasonic

    Enermax

    Thermaltake.

    From the Specs of that Machine it appears you have a income that can handle such a build,

    Basically meaning Dont Skimp on the PSU
  7. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    It's my first build, so I may have overlooked something. Should an 800-850W power supply be sufficient or would it be overkill?
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,855 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,918
    Location:
    Oregon
    750 would be more than enough

    But go with

    Corsair

    Antec

    Seasonic

    Enermax

    Like eidairaman1 suggested
  9. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,855 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,918
    Location:
    Oregon
  11. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    yes. and that cooler master hyper212+ is just fine. put two fans on it. one sucking air into the heatsink the other one blowing it out of the case.
  12. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Would I have to buy another fan to do so, and how would I go about setting that up? Sorry, like I said, it's my first build haha
  13. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,855 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,918
    Location:
    Oregon
  14. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    So it shouldn't run too hot with just the one fan, correct? Also, would this ram be sufficient: CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRA...
  15. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,855 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,918
    Location:
    Oregon
    Personally I would go 2x8

    It will be fine with one fan. I only run one fan
  16. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Mind me asking why?
  17. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,855 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,918
    Location:
    Oregon
    Because it give you the option to add more later. And its less stressful on the memory controller. Also some boards have very tight clearance between the HS and memory slots so you can move it over if you have too
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,219 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    reduces strain on the memory controller.

    Timings are a major play in this too
  19. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
  20. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,855 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,918
    Location:
    Oregon
    That will do and nicely

    Timing 9-9-9-24 < that means its good :D


    As you make decision edit your first post with the parts so people know where you are
  21. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
  22. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Also, can anyone give an approximate estimation of what I would get in performance as far as gaming? Like would I get good FPS and be able to record with decent FPS?
  23. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    hd 7970 that was linked earlier is only 399.99 has plenty of vram at 3gb and will OC in CCC to 1125/1575 easily, smashing your 680. my 7970 runs at 1300 core destroying not just smashing gtx 680 xD
  24. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Would that card be compatible with everything? If so, I will more than likely swap that out for the 670 I currently have chosen. I just did that 670 because I'd prefer a nvidia card, but if I can get better performance for less money and no problems, I'm all for it!
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,219 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    read these for relative numbers, bear in mind the configuration too

    Using Radeon 7950
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Gigabyte/X79S-UP5_WiFi/10.html

    Using 6950 2 GB
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASRock/X79_Extreme11/8.html

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASRock/Fatal1ty_X79_Champion/8.html

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Gigabyte/X79-UD5/8.html

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/ASUS/P9X79_Deluxe/8.html

    Also Id save a lil cash on the OS by getting the Professional Version, they support the Same hardware, not really worth extra cash for ultimate OS

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page