1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are these parts compatible?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by x_Stricken_x, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,017 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    You mean the SATA Data Cables?

    SATA Data Cables normally come with hard drives/ Solid State Drives or Motherboards.

    SATA power cables come with the Power Supply.

    Molex to SATA Power adapters come with Motherboards Normally.

    UEFI is the "New BIOS" It is a Graphic User Interface to adjust settings of the motherboard
     
    x_Stricken_x says thanks.
  2. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Yeah, I did mean the SATA data cables haha. So basically the setup is good to go, I just need to order the stuff and assemble? Like I don't need to buy any extra cables or anything?
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,017 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Just to be on the safe side You may want to get another SATA Cable, most motherboards only come with 2 in the pack.

    OEM Optical and HDD/SSD dont normally come with Cables.

    Before you do let me see if i can get a pack list for that specific motherboard
     
    x_Stricken_x says thanks.
  4. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Alright :) Also, I updated the first post with everything I have right now if you wouldn't mind reviewing it :)
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,017 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    x_Stricken_x says thanks.
  6. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Alright, awesome! :D And I don't think I'll be adding more drives. I already have a 2TB external hard drive, so if I somehow start running out of room on the internal one I can just move some files :)
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,017 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Well the machine looks good actually so fire away.

    keep us updated on this build too

    If you have issues just ask away.
     
    x_Stricken_x says thanks.
  8. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Awesome, thank you so much for the help! :) And I'll definitely be posting some pics and stuff of the build and such once it's done :)
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,017 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    :toast:

    Have fun with the build, take your time. That's what we are here for
     
    x_Stricken_x says thanks.
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,117 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oregon
    That should be everything you need. Definitely take you time. Google and youtube are are there for you and or course we are also
     
    x_Stricken_x says thanks.
  11. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Thanks so much guys, glad I finally found a forum where I actually get a reply - and thorough help! I'll definitely be stopping back here if I need help, I'll also recommend the forums to others as well :) And I should be good with building it, I've seen NewEgg's how-to on it; but if you guys know of some good videos/articles, feel free to link me! Thanks again!!
     
  12. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,117 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oregon
  13. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    855 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Have you thought about just getting an Ivy Bridge CPU, like the 3570k, and an inexpensive Z77 motherboard to go with it? Doing so would save you more than $500 over what you currently have selected and not make much difference when it comes to gaming.
     
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,117 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oregon

    Good suggestion. Going with a 1155 board would still give you the power you need for gaming.
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,017 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Read this for a first time builders rule: (Happens to everyone- just preventive measure)

    http://www.computerhope.com/esd.htm#02

    (Do not touch contact leads/pads/pins)

    Some Rules of Computer building

    1. Read the motherboard and other manuals first

    2. Use Proper Screw Driver (stripped or over tightened screws bite)

    3. Use proper size screws for every component (Screws for Mobo, SDD/HDD, Optical drive, Video card, Power Supply, Case Panels are different)(Screws for Power Supply, Video card and Case Panels are normally the same)

    4. Before Powerup Reset the CMOS/BIOS/UEFI (ensures motherboard is at failsafe/default setting- helps with first boot)

    5. Get all Necessary latest drivers from hardware manufacturers (Device Dependent, Asus, Intel, AMD, Realtek)

    6. Update Bios/UEFI from board maker (Asus) before Windows install.

    7. Before OS is installed ensure you only have your SSD plugged in not both hdd, once OS is installed plug in the other HDD. (Windows likes to put critical files on both drives when both are plugged in during the OS Install which can cause boot issues if a drive fails later on)
     
    x_Stricken_x says thanks.
  16. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,117 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,092
    Location:
    Oregon
    Why 5. Its easier to update the bios from windows. Just curious I know we all have our own preferences
     
  17. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    If I wouldn't gain anything, I don't see the point in saving the $500. It could just be a noob-ish thing, though, I'm not sure. I'll consider it, though.

    Thanks for that :) I knew most of them

    From what I saw on NewEgg, it doesn't necessarily make a difference before/after
     
    Jetster says thanks.
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,017 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Bios/Uefi Updates cant be interrupted outside of windows less a power failure occurs, normally bios updates fail within windows, primarily provides for a clean environment.
     
  19. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Are you talking about this, eidair?
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,017 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    lmao i guess so, thats something new for me, (on a AsRock Machine I built last year for my bro)

    This almost looks like what I used to do in the AF to an extent
     
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Why do you want 4GB of vram. It just adds more memory latency so the memory is slower on the cards with 4GB. And it really does not yield much better performance at higher resolutions. so you can buy a GTX680 2GB for the price of a 4gb GTX670 and the 680 is the better card regardless.

    Yeah the 7950/7970 scale well when overclocked. the 670/680 not so much.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,017 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    he has already decided on the build
     
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,058 (6.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,271
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I know, I just read his post saying link me to a 4GB GTX680 at that price and then I read that he has a 1440x900 resolution monitor and that 4GB of ram would be worthless.
     
    x_Stricken_x says thanks.
  24. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    sata power is already on the psu. Sata data cables come with the motherboard
     
    x_Stricken_x says thanks.
  25. x_Stricken_x New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    46 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    In the future I probably won't be on a 1440x900 resolution, that's my current monitor's resolution. I do eventually have plans to get a new monitor/monitors, it's just at the bottom of the list right now as I just want to get the system built and running right now :) Thanks for the input though, I appreciate it!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page