1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are these Ramsinks any good?????

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by HookeyStreet, Oct 3, 2004.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
  2. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    looks good, vantec makes good quality products
     
  3. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Thanks m8, thats exactly what I wanted to hear :D I think I will go purchase a pack ;)
     
  4. Slayerstaps New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    313 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Noord-Brabant,The Netherlands
    euhmm....u need 8 ramsinks for that card...
     
  5. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    The picture only shows 6, but the title says 8. Just an example pic
     
  6. Slayerstaps New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    313 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Noord-Brabant,The Netherlands
    But i see there are only six in the pack...i think it's not a false example pic it's more of a misplaced title...
     
  7. pablofrogo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    190 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lytham... in England
    No, I had those RAMsinks on my card before I got the new Silencer.. You get 8 in a pack, and they all come with thermal tape pre-attatched.
     
  8. serv New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    just installed Tweakmonster BGA Ramsinks, dunno bout ur cooler, but i just installed an ATI REV 4 VGA Silencer and i had to cut part of it off so it would fit over a certain ramsink that was causing the cooler not to seat properly, anyhoo all fitted now and running schweeeeeeeeeeeeet ;)
     
  9. Ramine New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hey me ram isnt BGA i dont thing, well its not square, can any one advise me on what ones to get, i think its TSOP or somthing like that

    BTW its a Sapphire 9600 XT

    Ramine
     
  10. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Yeah its prob TSOP. Generally you have to make your ramsinks if you have tsop.
     
  11. Slayerstaps New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    313 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Noord-Brabant,The Netherlands
    or if u wanna waste money you can put more then one BGA ramsink on there.... :D
     
  12. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,783
    if you are a bit into diy get yourself a bigass pentium pro heatsink, lap the base (those heatsinks have lots of manufacturing ridges), cut it up, then lap the base again from any marks you added while cutting
     
  13. Slayerstaps New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    313 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Noord-Brabant,The Netherlands
    Hehe, i cut ramsinks out of a broken vga silencer rev.1 :D
    That sink makes really nice ramsinks... ;)
     
  14. Ramine New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    58 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yea i have pentium pro heatsink, my god, it's as big as me Grafix's card:p dont you just luv them, what compount you recommend? that Arctic silver stuff?

    Ramine
     
  15. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,783
    thermal conductivity does not matter much with ramsinks - put whatever you got in the middle and leave the four corners blank .. but some glue/hotglue/epoxy/spit there and you have a solution which you can easily remove
     
  16. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Why not put it in the corners? I use adhesive tape but will probably get adhesive paste soon.
     
  17. Slayerstaps New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    313 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Noord-Brabant,The Netherlands
    I used the zalman epoxy compound...It really smells bad but it works great :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page