1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are these temps too high for a Core 2 Duo E6300?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by iKhan, Apr 22, 2013.

  1. iKhan

    iKhan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    197 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Specs: Core 2 Duo, ASUS P5L-MX board, stock cooler, and 1GB DDR2 Kingston

    [​IMG]

    The install of Win 7 was fresh and no applications were running. Fan is running at full speed.

    Currently using Arctic MX-4 paste because I thought the Radio Shack junk I first used was the culprit.
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,582 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I used to have a stock cooler when I had an E6600 and it ran loaded at about 65*C at stock, so that looks pretty normal. I can't say it's good for the CPU but it's not outside it's thermal limits. If you're content leaving it stock it's fine, but if you want to do any overclocking, a new cooler is in order. A new cooler isn't a bad idea anyways, but it's not like the CPU will die if you don't.
  3. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    903 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    What's your ambient temperature?
    For example ambient temperature at 30 C + badly ventilated case + stock cooler could cause temperature in 40ies at idle. 50ies at idle are too much. Check if the heatsink is properly seated, maybe there's problem with push-pins.
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,582 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Very well could be a HTPC-like case. That's what I was running it in when I had those temperatures. Only iKhan can really let us know though.

    Also make sure the push pins on the cooler aren't worn out, it might not be hugging the CPU as well as it used to. That also happened to me.
  5. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    926 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Did you change the Idle Calibration or TJ Max values in the RealTemp Options window?

    Click on the Defaults button and then click on OK to reset TJ Max to the default value. What does RealTemp show for TJ Max?

    These early CPUs run hot. Try enabling C1E if you want to reduce light load power consumption to see if that helps.

    The early 65nm Core 2 CPUs are built like tanks. You will have to try really, really hard before you will ever hurt one so don't worry too much about the core temperature. How much MX-4 did you apply? I have always had good results with a small line over top of where the cores are. I prefer that over the pea size method. You can always pull the heatsink and have a look to see how much coverage you have and then try again. While you have the CPU out, put a flat edge across the CPU in both directions from corner to corner and hold it up to a window to see if you can see any daylight. Some of the heat spreaders are concave or convex so the heatsink does not make full contact like it should.

    Here's a good picture from Intel of exactly where the cores are underneath the heat spreader.

    http://www.intel.com/pressroom/kits/core2duo/pix/core2duo_illus.jpg

    With the Intel OEM heatsink I used to run a very similar E6400 reliably up to about 3400 MHz. With a better cooler, it was Prime 95 stable up to 3640 MHz. Here was my entry into the [H]ard OCP database.

    http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1031178478&postcount=670

    Almost 6 years later and I am typing this message on the same Asus P5B motherboard but I have upgraded to a Quad since then. Hope my new 3570K is still going strong 6 years from now. :)
    Jetster says thanks.
  6. iKhan

    iKhan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    197 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Case is a generic mATX eMachines with the side panel taken off, so I don't think ventilation is an issue.

    Cooler is fine and worked previously with 0 issues.

    Cleared CMOS for the heck of it.

    Nothing. Still the same. Gonna start swapping RAM and PSU in a bit.
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,582 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    To what end? Everything appears to be fine unless you're add more memory which is a different problem in itself. You're not going to change temperatures by doing anything short of changing the cooler when it comes to the stock cooler on an eMachine.
  8. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,343 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    Location:
    Oregon
    What are they under a load with Prime95 or intelburntest
  9. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,343 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,637
    Location:
    Oregon
    I thought the core ran the other way. This is from the Artic Silver web site. Not that it make much difference I'm just curious now

    [​IMG]
  10. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    518 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Frick, ste2425 and Aquinus say thanks.
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,582 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Very interesting. I think I'll have to try doing an X next time. I suspect with the size of skt2011 it would work pretty well too since there is a lot of surface area.
    Thanks for the link. Great find. :cool:
    [​IMG]
  12. unclewebb

    unclewebb RealTemp Author

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    926 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    I can tell by looking at the initial screen shot that TJ Max is not set correctly. That's one of the reasons the cores appear to be running hotter than they actually are.

    The Core 2 Quads have two separate Core 2 Duos sitting side by side with a small amount of space between them.

    http://imageshack.us/a/img515/3411/q6600u.jpg

    The Core 2 Duo had one die centered in the middle. That's why Arctic Silver recommends a single line of thermal paste down the center of the CPU, directly over top of the 2 cores.
  13. iKhan

    iKhan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    197 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Well I've switched coolers from a computer that is working perfectly and it still spins at full speed even at idle.

    This means the cooler itself never was the issue.

    I've tightened the cooler and loosened it too, so contact isn't an issue.

    I even swapped RAM and the PSU and no difference.
  14. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    753
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    The simple answer is


    NO

    Those temps are fine
  15. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,401 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    444
    read the thread before replying please
    53C at idile is pretty fracking warm
    max temp for that chip(Tcase) is 61c
  16. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,582 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I think it's you who needs to read the thread...

    I've had a C2D also and this was the same deal. It's not too hot with the stock cooler. It is if you want to overclock, but just for stock it's perfectly fine.

    Finally, Intel's own spec even says that the E6300 Tcase max is 74.1*C not 61*C and its Tjunction max is 85*C for the 65nm C2D chips. The CPU is probably running a good 10 degrees cooler than you really think it is.

    Consider for a moment that Intel uses Tjunction to calculate the core temperature. Also on real temp if you do the math the temperature plus distance from TJmax, it comes out to TJmax == 95 which is incorrect for this CPU. The TJMax is really 85*C so the temperature reading is 10*C off. So this really has nothing to do with the Tcase even though the number you provided was wrong anyways.

    All in all, if it says it's running at 53*C in RealTemp, it's probably actually closer to 43*C.
  17. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    753
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    lol what? max temp before it auto clocks back for that chip is 85c... + what aqui already covered and how temp readings on c2d chips in particular arent really what they seem.
    Is his temps ideal? No.. but when your using stock hsf ur not gonna get good temps.


    Also for future reference.. idle temps are almost useless when it comes to judging computer temps.
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2013
  18. iKhan

    iKhan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    197 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Lets be civilized and not insult each other guys.

    I was busy with another rig yesterday.

    So everyone agrees the temps are OK. Any reason as to why the CPU fan is running at full speed all the time?
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2013
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,582 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    That completely depends on the motherboard. If that's adjustable it would be in the BIOS. I've often found these settings near or in the hardware monitor (temperatures, voltages, and fan speeds).
  20. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    903 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    This and also make sure that CPU cooler 4-pin PWM connector is used with 4-pin PWM header on the board (not the 3-pin one).

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page