1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Are you using an SSD ?

Discussion in 'TPU Frontpage Polls' started by W1zzard, Mar 1, 2011.

?

Are you using an SSD ?

Poll closed Mar 16, 2011.
  1. Yes, up to 150 GB

    982 vote(s)
    22.0%
  2. Yes, more than 150 GB

    277 vote(s)
    6.2%
  3. No

    850 vote(s)
    19.0%
  4. I can afford a small SSD, but saving for bigger

    411 vote(s)
    9.2%
  5. I'm buying one soon

    287 vote(s)
    6.4%
  6. I want one, but I'm poor

    1,662 vote(s)
    37.2%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,868 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,591
    With flash memory prices going down fast, SSDs are becoming affordable. Due do their immensely reduced seek times they offer a nice upgrade for every PC user.

    Are you on the SSD train yet ?
     
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Had a 30GB original Vertex two years ago cause found a Shell Shocker for like $120 with a MIR and I wanted to try one. It was nice but obviously not enough space; ended up selling it a few months later for $100. Since then been waiting for prices to fall on the nice sandforce drives and like you said they have begun to, especially with a new gen out.

    As of last week am the proud owner of a 60GB GSkill Sniper $102 at the Egg no MIR. Using as boot drive, so nice to start up in ten seconds instead of 30+. Will probably get another eventually for a 120GB RAID 0 volume.
     
  3. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Yes and no.
    I'll be getting an SSD for a boot drive, but when it comes to storage/dedicated pagefile drive/RAID/scratch disks, I'm stuck on the HDD train.
    I think what I'm saying is; I'm with HDD's for the price:storage ratio, but with SSD's on the price : performance ratio.
     
  4. razaron

    razaron

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    177
    Location:
    london
    Yes. I bought a C300 to make use of my sata 6Gb/s ports. Although if i didn't have a MB that supported sata 6Gb/s i most definitely would not have gotten a SSD, well not now at least.
     
  5. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    Corsair F40(sandforce) for OS only, 2 WD 640Gb blacks in RAID-0 for games and back-up. no complaints here
     
  6. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,294 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,515
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    OCZ Vertex 2E 120GB. OS, some bits and bobs and BFBC2 on it. Might put DA 2 on it.
     
  7. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    as a gamer i think getting a new gfx card is more important then SSD.if i had tons of extra money i would definitely buy one but right now im just do damn poor :(
     
  8. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Jumped on the SSD bandwagon in January and aside from the boot speed and general snappiness of programs opening up its much of a muchness, but it's nice to boot up windows in next to no time, I think I need to install some more programs on my SSD as I only really have windows and drivers installed on it, everything else is installed onto my wd5000aaks and I have another 500gb wd for downloads.

    Vertex 2 (not 2E) SATAII 285/275mbps Read/Write and it still scores that in ATTO so can't complain.
     
  9. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    best investment this year;)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,825 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    2 Patriot Inferno 60GB SSDs in RAID-0...I think they were a worthwhile investment. They are blazingly fast.
     
  11. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,542 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    938
    For me it doesn't make sense to buy one before they hit 500 GBs for $500 or less. By then they'll be at the limit of SATA 6 and sufficiently mature... that and you can put more than your OS and favorite games on it. My picture folder is 240 GBs alone.
     
  12. Undead46

    Undead46 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    257 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA, Texas
    I've had my OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD since December 31, and I love it!
    It's so amazingly fast and I'm glad I got it. I'm also glad I didn't get the 25nm flawed one. :D

    I currently use it for my OS and Games.

    I do plan on buying a Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 32MB in the future for my apps, since my current WD Caviar Blue has bad sectors.. :/
     
  13. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,825 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    I feel your pain...i just grabbed mine because I had some $ to blow waiting for bulldozer to drop. But I have a 2tb & 1tb for data and I have a 640gb external for backup. :D
     
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    pair of 32GB ST SSD's raided up each drive flashed to 240mb/s
     
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    laptop is running mushkin callisto deluxe 120gb and i've had MANY others in the past.
     
  16. Chewers

    Chewers New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    143 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Latvia
    Using Corsair Force Series F120 @ Raid 0 for OS and program files + Sata III WD1002FAEX
    Im more then satisfied - while other teammates still loading Bad Company 2 map - im already on. PC just works slightly faster. Thinking to upgrade this F120 at beginning of summer to new Sata III (SF2000).
     
  17. player-x

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    You don't get the point of how to use them.

    Yeah price/storage ratio suck
    But when it come to the price/performance ratio, SSDs are just unbeatable.

    I have two 60GB SSDs, one is for the OS (Vertex I) the other is for games (Vertex II).
    And for general storage like photo/video and general data en programs, i use HDDs.

    I play many games but only some I play often, and those ones stands on the game SSD, there rest i just run from theHDD, and if i noticed that i wane play a game from the HDD more often i move it to the SSD, yeah its a bit of a pain but, but it dose not happen more then once a month ore so, and the return of lighting speed startups and loading levels is more the worth the wait.


    Yeah it can be handy for some, to have only one hard-drive in you PC.
    But no-ware is Windows forbidding you not to change the installation path of your programs.
    And I use the same tactics back in the days, when I used to have a 2x 4.5GB tripe of 7200rpm SCSI drives (and those ware $500 a disk).
    Using smart tactics is not that hard, it just gives you the best bang for your buck

    And almost all programs (99.9%) still work even after you move them from one HD to a other.

    ps. You can always copy the program and see if the copy still starts up before you delete the original data.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2011
    techtard says thanks.
  18. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    I've got an Intel X25-M 80GB G2. Rock solid SSD, use it for OS drive and whatever game I'm playing at the time.
    Will never go back to spinning disks for system.

    As for the people talking about SSD drives not having enough space... you're doing it wrong.
    Store your movies, pictures, music, porn, whatever on high capacity, inexpensive spinning platter HDDs.

    Use SSD for Operating System, I/O bound games like MMORPGs, maybe your page file. Manually move everything to HDD. All it takes is one extra step during software install : select custom install and select your HDD as destination.
    Boom. You get the best of both worlds.

    EDIT : Didn't finish reading whole thread, guy above me basically posted the same thing. I guess great minds think alike :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2011
  19. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,542 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    938
    What are you on about? There is no magical point in how to use them. You're making up rules to make a bad situation look better. I'm not shuffling my shit back and forth all the time cause I want it to be speedy for that week. I'll buy one when it can actually hold my data.
     
  20. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    600gb raid anyone?

    :pimp:

    [​IMG]
     
  21. player-x

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Seriously ?

    I move maybe once every 2~4 months data from the game SSD to the HDD
    That's in only when i install a new game and the old one i am bored with go's to the backseat.

    No way do i ever feel like a DJ ore constricted by the size of my SSD, do i want more space sure, do i need it, not yet on the moment, for the extra cost its going to cost me, i can skip a generation, and wait for a RevoDrive type PCIe 4x but preferable a 8x based SSD.

    And as you can see i still have plenty of space left on all my drives, and the HDD is about 99% of the time i working on my PC idle.

    [​IMG]


    The rest of my files/photos/video are on my server, so to keep my work/game PC clean.

    But i don't get you defensive almost rude attitude, ofc there is a magical point ware and how to use them, only its for everyone different.
    And if you don't see the benefit of having a SSD in your system, so be it, i am not twisting your arm and saying you have to have one, I just share my good experiences i have with them.

    And yeah i am a heavy user as you can see in my system specs
     
  22. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,340 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Using OCZ Vertex 2 60GB for OS
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. player-x

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    If i would spend 1050 euros on SSDs + minimum of 300 euro for a good controller, would a 1100 euro 480GB RevoDrive X2 not be a better ore at least a simpler choice ?

    Just asking, as there is only a 2% price difference between the setups, but the revo is a lot cleaner imho;)
     
  24. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i've tested revodrive and its not as fast as you may think.

    the drives and sas raid card were give to me for testing so its not like i spent much....

    all i had to do was buy 2 $45 sas breakout cables.
     
  25. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,374 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,582
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Yep, use them in my laptops.
    And, will be in my new build... waiting for a couple of things to come in (video cards and cd\dvd).
    __________________________________________________
    Patriot Warps 64 GB in laptops
    OCZ Vertex 2 100GB - going in new build
    :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page