1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AREA Intros VGA Down-Scan Converter

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 21, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    AREA introduced the SD-DSCV, a VGA down-scan converter device, that lets you convert your PC's VGA output to legacy/TV-compatible outputs such as Composite and S-Video. The converter supports output resolutions up to 1024x768 pixels, with TV formats such as PAL and NTSC. What's more, the VGA connection isn't interrupted, and VGA output can run simultaneously with the other analog outputs. Measuring 91 x 66 x 24 mm, the device requires an external DC power input, but instead of a bulky AC adapter, AREA included a USB-DC cable, that lets you plug the device to a USB port, and draw power from it. Slated for April 09, the SD-DSCV from AREA is priced as low as 4,980 JPY (US $59.4).

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Hermitage Akihabara
  2. The_

    The_

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    67 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Is it April 1st already??
  3. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I have what seams to be almost this exact same product (the case on mine looks a bit more blue) it has USB power as well, it is an unbranded unit distributed through a small UK company.

    I would assume this could be the same product branded AREA?

    How so? have i become so behind with TV that products i use have become a joke? :p
  4. KonstantinDK New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Wow. That could be really useful 10 years ago.
    digibucc says thanks.
  5. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,192 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    2 weeks ago I bought one, identical, other brand, for a huge last-gen flatscreen tv. The online shop had three brands (none being Area), all identical looking, prices ranging from 18 to 30 euros...
  6. faramir New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    203 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Huh, 18 euros ... where ? I don't think you'd be doing anybody here a disservice by giving out few clues, these things are usually in the $60/€60 territory :(
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I had one of these on a AMD K6 back in 1998. Worked great back then but dont see how it would be useful today when almost NO PLACE sells old CRT Tvs that have RCA connections. Most are Composite HD, HDMI, VGA, some have DVI
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,863 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    well if you still have a use, it's not a joke - but to "intro" technology that has existed for more than a decade is kinda of silly.
    bear jesus says thanks.
  9. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,192 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
  10. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I admit i gave up on TV years ago so the only one in my house is a big fat CRT TV that i have not watched of my own free will in many years :laugh: and i already own this product so it is pretty silly to introduce this as if it is new.


    Really it is only still of use to me on the move as i can take it with a net book to friends houses and use it as a portable HTPC which is compatible with every TV i have tried so far. But i am yet to come across a TV that has no composite, s-video or SCART inputs although i am sure there are HDTVs with only HDMI as an input but i guess i have just been lucky that i don't know anyone that owns one with so few inputs.
    digibucc says thanks.
  11. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,863 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,465
    yeah generally only cheap sets will be limited to hdmi, and i mean CHEEEAPP... even the "inexpensive" ones tend to have many inputs.
  12. Bambooz

    Bambooz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    143 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Germany
    ehm.. an identical converter box costs ~14usd from the friendly chinese ebay spammers.. *rolleyes*
    http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw...BOX&_clu=2&_fcid=1&_localstpos=&_stpos=&gbr=1

    .. or about 8 pounds if you're in the UK
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/?_kw=VGA ...id=3&_localstpos=&_sc=1&_sop=15&_stpos=&gbr=1

    I've seen these well over 5 years ago while looking for an external TV tuner box with VGA out..
    Nothing new about them. In fact, the OP says "Slated for april 2009" .. how is this considered news if it's 3 years old?! :wtf:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page