1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ark PC Intros Tathlum AMD-Powered Gaming PC

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 9, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Japanese built-to-order gaming PC maker Ark PC unveiled an AMD-powered variant of its Tathlum Gaming PC desktop (model: CY-AF8A99A-C2). The machine is built into a Cooler Master HAF 912 Advanced chassis, and is accompanied by a 23-inch full-HD monitor. In the driver's seat is AMD FX-8150 processor, seated on an ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX motherboard, with 8 GB dual-channel DDR3-1333 MHz memory, and AMD Radeon HD 7970 3 GB graphics. The processor is cooled by a Zalman CNPS9900MAX Red. Other components of interest include a Hitachi DeskStar 1 TB 7200 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s hard drive, onboard HD audio, and gigabit Ethernet. A SilverStone ST75F-SST-P 750W 80 Plus Silver PSU powers it all. Windows 7 Home Premium x64 is the OS of choice. The Tanthum CY-AF8A99A-C2 is priced at 167,800 JPY (US $2,175).

    [​IMG]

    Source: Hermitage Akihabara
     
  2. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    DDR3-1333? Hmm... They could put a faster memory for 2175 bucks.
     
  3. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ripoff much? And what's with all these '6gbps' HDDs I'm seeing all the time? HDDs can't reach sata 3 speeds... :confused:
     
  4. Depth

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    590 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    It's like saying my phone runs on 230 volts because the charger does.
     
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    6 Gb/s could help with buffer-to-host transfers or burst transfers.
     
  6. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    So should I bother hooking up my '6gbps' HDD to a spare sata 3 port? I'm guessing this has something to do with the cache on the HDD... so sata 2 SSDs will not benefit from this?
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,611 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,648
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Don't bother with moving that HDD it's not a big difference in performance :)

    A natively SATA 2 (3 Gb/s) SSD, like any other SATA 3 Gb/s device, cannot push more than its interface speed, even when plugged into a 6 Gb/s port.
     
  8. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    371 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    I'm confused. I cannot seem to make those components add up to $2175, even with all of my magic skills.
     
  9. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Behold, modern business! Voila!
     
  10. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,237 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Damn. To expensive. But probably normal for Japanese market where everything is almost 2x price of any other country in the world. Still, for that price, one would have put a (way) better processor and RAM modules. :shadedshu
     
  11. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Australia
    Apart from Australia as we are 3x the price of any other country in the world :laugh: ;)
     
  12. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,237 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Well, here in EU prices are almost the same because of 1 million+ existing taxes.
     
  13. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,192 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    823
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    But why 8150?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page