1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Artifacts - bad sign or just annoying?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Radont, Aug 13, 2006.

  1. Radont New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey, I recently turned my x800 pro into an x800 XT PE and now in Oblivion I'm getting some artifacts popping up. However, after running around in an outdoor area in Oblivion for half an hour and fighting many monsters I quit the game and my temp was only up to 66. So, do people not like artifacts because they are annoying or is it because the card can't handle higher clock speeds?
     
  2. stealthfighter

    stealthfighter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    557 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    at my pc
    It's because the video card can't run at the higher speeds. Artifacts tell you that you're running your stuff too fast. So yeah it's a bad sign.
     
  3. b1lk1

    b1lk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Messages:
    688 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Time to turn it back into a X800 pro if it's not too late already.
     
  4. Anarion New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    485 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    both, do as b1lk1 said.(just lower clk, also flash it again though.)
     
  5. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Keep the extra pipes and modify your bios for the lower clock speeds.

    I had to mod my 850 pro to an 800xt for similar reasons
     
  6. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    artifacts usually sign of too much freq on ur memory, have u tried underclocking it from the bios u have on it on the moment? see if that helps, use atitool to set the memory to what gives u no artifacts and use a windows bootup profile, either that or do as the others say and simply flash it back, then use atitool to up the core and memory to what is needed:

    try http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/9 to mod ur bios if needed

    OR, the artifacts tend to b caused by the heat produced from too high an overclock, you could also invest in some additional cooling, tho this is a rather extreme solution, so just try what else has been suggested.

    Good luck
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page