1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Artifacts in Crysis with ATI 4850

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by phantom8, Aug 22, 2008.

  1. phantom8 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I've bought a Powercolor 4850 a few days ago and have been playing Crysis. Yesterday, I upgraded Catalyst driver from 8.7 to 8.8. Now, I notice there are some artifacts when playing at school level (before you faced the 2 tanks). Here are some screen shots. I don't know whether this is due to the new CAT 8.8 driver or problems with Crysis with 4850. Does anyone encounter similar behaviour?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    What temps is your gfx card running at? and is it OC'd?

    Could you also fill out your system specs please. Go to userCp at the top of the page then on the left click edit system specs ;)
  3. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    It's prolly getting too hot. Turn up the fan speed to see if that helps. 40-45% fan speed. A lot of 4800 series owners have to turn up the fan speed to keep the cards from overheating and showing artifacts.
  4. kyle2020 Guest

    we cant help you unless you help us =/ fill out your system specs, get us idle and running temps for your graphics card, overclock values, etc!
  5. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Hm.
    I wonder if 8.8cats are making the HD4850s run hotter by pushing it a bit more.
    I get an extra 129marks in 3DMark06' over the 8.7cats.
    I noticed my HD4850 is now getting a max load temp of 91degC when it used to be 88-90degC.
    No issues though.

    But I don't know if its due to the res I'm running at now.
    I was running at 1280x1024, but I upgraded my monitor and now I run at 1440x900.
    But there isn't that many more pixels for the GPU to work on between the two resolutions.
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    There are actually less pixels at 1440x900 :p
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,609 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,993
    I've had this problem, and it's not a heat issue. It's a Crysis issue. The only thing I can recommend is to stop playing that trainwreck of a game.:ohwell:
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Oh yeah. . . .:p
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2008
  9. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,090 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Yeah I agree, happens to me as well and its the only game I get artifacts in.
  10. phantom8 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Just added back my PC config in the profile. I've also tested Crysis with my other ATI 3650. Although it's much slower, it has the same artifact issues. As others confirmed, this is the problem with Crysis. Just not sure if Nvidia has it or not.
  11. snuif09

    snuif09 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    hoorn, Netherlands
    i had it too phantom but i used ati tray tools to set my fan to 45% its running fine now, maybe you should try that too
  12. Jmatt110

    Jmatt110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    I have the same problem when I play Crysis, only program that artifacts for me.
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    They aren't artifacts, the textures are just ripping.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page