1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asrock 890gx Pro3, Error 54, Help needed !!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by gbird, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. gbird

    gbird New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Montego Bay, Jamaica
    So last week i bought the Asrock 890GX motherboard from Newegg and the "CORSAIR XMS3 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desktop Memory Model CMX4GX3M1A1600C9". Set it up and found that i was getting a error 54 which according to the boards book is "unspecified memory initialization error'. I took everything out of the case and tried the memory in each slot, reset the bios constantly and nothing on screen, no post. I looked on the MEMORY SUPPORT LIST on Asrock's site and ordered the "Kingston Technology Hyper X 4GB 1600MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 DIMM (Kit of 2) XMP X2 Grey Series KHX1600C9D3X2K2/4GX" got them today and its the same problem. I have a PII 955 and a AMD XFX 6870. I took everything off bare and still i am getting error 54. Any idea on what is going on? Thanks in advance.
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Test with a different cpu.
    gbird says thanks.
  3. gbird

    gbird New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Montego Bay, Jamaica
    Think its the CPU.

    You are right. With that error 54 I would get 3 long beeps. Went down to my cousin's house just now and tested my processor on his Gigabyte AM3 ddr2 motherboard and its the same 3 long beeps and nothing on screen. Dont know but for some reason his processor could not fit on my 890gx Pro3 board. Think he has one of those dual core CPUs AMD released a while back. Think its the 7xxx series. The openings among the pins of both CPUs are spaced differently so i guess thats my answer.
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Sounds like it's the memory controller or check for bent cpu pins. Very very slim chance it could be that his bios has never been updated as well to allow AM3 chips.

    Wouldn't work on the 8 series board anyways tbh. The 7 series cpu's had a DDR2 IMC, incompatible with ddr3.
  5. gbird

    gbird New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Montego Bay, Jamaica
    The cpu has no bent pins, i checked it multiple time on all angles. The cpu gets warm went its on so power is heading that way. Now if its a memory controller problem, then is it that i have to RMA this board back to Newegg?
  6. gbird

    gbird New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Montego Bay, Jamaica
    Help any one? I want to know if its the board, "memory controller or the processor gving off that error 54.
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    The memory controller is on the processor.

    Try a different stick of ddr3 on the board if available. Although I am still pretty sure it's the cpu.
  8. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    ASrock uses Dr Debug, error 54 is memory. Either wrong settings in EUFI, or wrong ram, wrong slots or something. Check mobo manual.(page 37).

    http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=890GX Pro3

    EDIT;
    also according to newegg detailed info (features)on that RAM;
    CORSAIR XMS3 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 Desk...
    "4GB (1x4GB) DDR3 for AMD and Intel Dual and Triple processors. Operates in Single Channel mode when installed individually".

    that may be the issue.

    For the Kingston, Clear cmos(page 29 mobo manual), check the Ram voltage settings using UEFI(page47) set to 1.65v.
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2011
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  9. gbird

    gbird New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Montego Bay, Jamaica
    I sold the Corsair and got the Kingston Hyper x memory that i saw on the support list from Asrock's Site and its the same issue. I have no other way of testing so i am gonna go and buy the Phenom x4 965, or if i can find that FX 4100 BD cpu. Maybe it is the memory controller on my Phenom II 955 gone bad. It gives the same 3 long beeps in my cousin's board so i think if i get another CPU that could solve the issue.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page