1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASROCK 939Dual-SATA II Won't Boot into XP

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Babyeater, Dec 29, 2005.

  1. Babyeater New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham, England
    Hi,
    I am a newb on this forum but have picked it for some of the great advice given in posts.
    I have just plunged into the world of 64 bit and bought a ASROCK 939 SATA II board after reading some great reviews. That said im an ardent OC'er and wanted more from my 3.2Ghz Athlon 64 Venice. So I read the volt mod on this board and did it I even flashed my BIOS with an updated Custom version from OCBench (I think that's the name) all went well... or so it seemed. Now I can only boot into XP if I set the volt of the Proc at its recommended 1.45v If I set it higher then the PC will post but hangs before the OS loader with a little white underscore in the top left corner.
    My question then is has anyone else seen this behavour and did they managed to resolve it?

    System Specs are ASROCK 939 DUAL SATA II - Athon 64 3.2, 2Gb infinion value ram, 1.32TB HDD 3x 400GB SATA and 1x 120 SATA II, Radeon X800xt PE, Thermaltake Bigwater SE cooling.

    any help appreciated :confused:
     
  2. Babyeater New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham, England
    No one can help eh? Maybe I will try a new BIOS
     
  3. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    so whats the point of the "volt mod".. ????

    trog
     
  4. Don__1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    94 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK, Near the middle..............
    Try booting into Windows at default volts. 1.45v for your chip ? ? ?
    Then try booting at the next setting up.
    Repeat until you find the voltage that it WON'T boot into Windows.

    Report back on the max.

    I think that the volt mod hasn't taken.
     
  5. Babyeater New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham, England
    If I change the volt to 1.15 hit f10 then reboot go back into BIOS and check pc health the Volt reads 1.6 also if I choose 1.10, 1.05 etc they are all above that. Any Idea what BIOS I should be using? :banghead:
     
  6. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,538 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,052
    thats the way how the voltmod works .. the higher voltages are available by setting 1.10 or 1.05
     
  7. Don__1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    94 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK, Near the middle..............
    Yep.

    With my Opteron CPU's (1.40v default) if I bridge VID 4 :-

    In the bios -

    1.075v gives 1.475v
    1.100v gives 1.500v
    1.125v gives 1.525v
    1.150v gives 1.550v
    1.175v gives 1.175v
    1.2v gives 1.20v
    1.225v gives 1.225v
    1.250v gives 1.250v
    1.30v gives 1.30v
    1.325v gives 1.325v
    1.350v gives 1.350v
    1.375v gives 1.375v
    1.4v gives 1.4v
    1.45v gives 1.45v

    Checkout this thread http://www.ocworkbench.com/ocwb/ultimatebb.php?/topic/30/4975.html

    And this page of that thread - http://www.ocworkbench.com/ocwb/ultimatebb.php?/topic/30/4975/4.html
     
  8. Babyeater New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham, England
    Yes I understand that its working, I just can't understand why when I give the CPU more juice it wont get past POST. I have not increased any other setting past what it was before I changed the VCore. my Power supply is a 550W monster, really you should hear this beast it scares the kids. It doesn't make sense to me unless the Vcore change also changes the power to elswhere on the board. :wtf:
     
  9. Don__1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    94 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK, Near the middle..............
    Which VID did you bridge and what do you set for the voltage in your bios to obtain an increased voltage ?
     
  10. bldegle2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i had this happen to me,

    the volt mod (the bridging) is not done correctly/completely.............

    on the second application with a conductive pen, bingo, all is well. i resorted to using a magnifying glass, made seeing the connection much, much easier..........

    you need to check the volt mod, it is not done correctly.

    had me stumped for about an hour, had her out on the test bench while checking it all out..............

    do it, do it, do it again.............

    hehe

    baldy
     
  11. Don__1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    94 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK, Near the middle..............
    I've just had a play with my settings.

    If Cool & Quiet is enabled in the bios and I set a voltage above default (I set 1.5v and 1.550 to test) and I boot into the bios then the hardware page shows the correct increased voltage.

    If I then boot into Windows the voltage has beed reduced to my CPU default which is 1.4v.
    Booting back into the bios still shows the increased voltage. So it would apear that Cool & Quiet is messing with the voltage.

    Could this be what is happening to you ?
     
  12. Babyeater New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Durham, England
    Right I will try the volt mod again I have bridged the fouth set of pins, the top pins in the set. I will try later and let you all know. (cross something!)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page