1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Details its First-Wave P55 Motherboard Lineup

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 3, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,430 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,618
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ASRock detailed its first-wave of motherboards based on the Intel P55 chipset, supporting the company's upcoming LGA-1156 socket processors. In a presentation to vendors, the company listed out four models targeting 3~4 price points. The lineup is lead by the ASRock P55 Deluxe, followed by P55 Extreme, P55 Pro, and the micro-ATX P55M Pro. The slides list out out every notable feature of the products, including specifications, features, and ASRock exclusives. It's over to the slides.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: ComputerBase.de
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,142 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    interesting how only extreme and deluxe support SLI - seems the matx segment will belong to ATI.
  3. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    824 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    Not bad... Actually very good imho...
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,142 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    after spending some time looking at them, its a smart layout. If i was to run three high end cards, i'd still have a PCI-E 1x slot free to use - and the bottom most slot ISNT at the very bottom of the board, so the card there wont be hitting the bottom of the case.


    Only real flaw is the power and reset buttosn built in, are in a location impossible to reach once its installed in a case.
  5. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    ASRock starts to impress me...
    When i first looked at the first mobo i though i was looking an ASUS or something...
    I think they ll be decent mobos...
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,142 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    asrock are a division of asus, they're just the budget models (IMO, if i was going 'cheap' i'd rather midrange asrock than low end asus)
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well those are mostly for extreme overclockers and record breakers who don't use cases (ln2 pots, DICE and such)

    funny how my board has them... :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,142 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    my board has them too, at the bottom of the mobo where its possible to reach them in a case. Surprisingly enough, i use them fairly often when working on the system (CMOS clearing/resetting etc)
  9. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hm, I've never used them, not once. Well, yeah maybe just once cause I wanted to turn it on that way instead of the normal way, but other than that... not twice :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    ASRock..very good
  11. theorw

    theorw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    771 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Athens GREECE
    I knew that they were division of asus but now they start to look like asus mobo s too!!
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That's all I use. Of course, my computer hasn't been in a case for like 2 years. (ever since the TEC meltdown.) lol
  13. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I'll never use a case in my workshop again. Once I used a tech station and saw how easy it was to switch things out and set up water cooling loops without modding cases, I swore I'd never use anything else. People say that a tech station will collect more dust. I disagree, and the dust is much easier to blow off..wow that was off the original topic. LOL.
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I agree 100%
  15. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    nice mobos asrock.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page