1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Develops First Web-Update Tool Within BIOS Setup Program

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,711 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,424
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    A decade ago, updating system BIOS was a cumbersome and risky task that required you to have spare bootable disks and the know-how of flashing from MS-DOS command-line. One wrong command-line argument, and your motherboard is bricked. Then came utilities that flashed BIOS for you, if you specified the updated BIOS ROM image files located on a floppy. As these image files grew in file-size these utilities added support for bigger media, such as USB flash drives. ASRock's latest innovation could see you getting rid of storage media holding BIOS images.

    ASRock has developed an update to its UEFI BIOS program that lets it update itself from the web. All you have to do is point it to a working internet connection that uses the motherboard's onboard Ethernet controller. Once configured, the utility calls home to ASRock, checks if a newer version of the BIOS is available, downloads it, and updates itself, with minimal user-intervention. The feature cuts down time spent in finding the right BIOS ROM image online, and copying it to a USB flash drive. Unlike Intel's Express BIOS Update program, it does not need the motherboard to have any storage devices connected. Upcoming ASRock motherboards could ship with the feature, and select current ones could get this feature via a BIOS update.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Expreview
  2. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Pretty cool feature!

    I thought Asus had something like this, or was working on something like this a few years back?
  3. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,280 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I question the history lesson (they do know that a decade only puts them back to 2002, right?), but welcome the feature. Nice.
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,404 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,485
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, ASRock has only been around for 10 years.
  5. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,402 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,443
    AsRock is pretty good about BIOS updates, i expect to see most of their existing mobos get this support.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. hhumas

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    549 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Islamabad
    awesome feature
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,404 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,485
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    There are a few other cool features in ASRock BIOSes...next review from me is the ASRock Z77 Extreme9 that includes this features plus others. Keep an eye out for it! ;)
    adulaamin and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,401 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    444
    this wont end well
    one error in the server back end
    or a corrupt download ....
    =:banghead:
  9. badtaylorx

    badtaylorx

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    458 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    yeah.....im not so sure that id want the web having access to my rig at a bios lvl....

    somewhere a hacker is cleaning up the sticky underware mess he made upon hearing this
    w3b says thanks.
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,711 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,424
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I imagine the update to be downloaded as a *.zip archive, extracted, and then used. If the downloaded file is corrupt, the archive won't give out the file (CRC failure).
  11. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    803 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    This reminded me to update the bios on my Extreme4, seems with the newest bios (2.0) they have fully implemented this. The option was there before it just didnt work. Now it has internet options and choice of download server etc.

    thumbs up to AsRock

    Edit: They also added power on by keyboard support which is fantastic since my front panel header is dead on my board! No more opening the case!
  12. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,401 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    444
    A file could pass a crc or checksum and still have it brick it(been there done that)

    id like to see asrock come up with there own version of Dualbios or usb bios boot
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2012
  13. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    832 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    This reminds me of the time I flashed my Ati 9700 non pro to a pro in an electrical storm....... didnt end well.

    Where is the adventure these days ..
  14. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,280 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    598
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    There's a new BIOS for my ASRock board! Too bad I can't go into my BIOS and update it...

    But if support does come to my ASRock board I'll use it. One less program to install (Windows based BIOS update tool) and if it has basic checksum calculation, then it's doing more than I usually do. At 1000+ firmware flashes and no problems, I'm either due for one or with a few basic precautions taken, failure is really rare. One of those precautions I take is waiting until after a storm :D
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    5,917 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Is this similar to MSI's live update?
  16. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    +1 MSI has had this for awhile...
  17. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,025 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    I like it, simplification at it's best..
  18. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    I understand your fear, but nearly every modern router has a "working bios" and a "reset/default bios". Simply hit the reset pin and the "working bios" is reset to the default one. I cant see any problem so long as Asrock implements it.
  19. white phantom

    white phantom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Kilmarnock Scotland
    they still need to make it save mu F***in overclock profiles, lost them countless times forgetting to write them down or that before an update...not a big fan of the asrock stuff but will have to make do with this
  20. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Think next time I'm buying new parts I'll go Asrock since gigabyte seam to have well, crappy bioses/bios support.
  21. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,401 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    444
    cmos != bios
  22. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,693 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Clever, but my Abit IP35 Pro did that back in 2008...
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    It could connect to the Internet via the bios?
  24. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,693 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    No I suppose your right it was Windows based. I guess I have to suck it up that UEFI BIOS can do it too. I love my UEFI BIOS minus THIS issue.
  25. anonymous6366

    anonymous6366

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    271 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    thats tight, and really the way they should all be by now if you think about it. Most other technologies like blu ray players tvs etc update their firmware over the internet. not quite the same as bios but the same ballpark

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page