1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Innovates Socket 939 Motherboard with AMD 785G Chipset

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 28, 2009.

  1. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,421 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Well, I do have an Athlon X2 3800+ just sitting here... probably don't have more than 1GB of DDR though.
     
  2. Shyska New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    159 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    This is great news and just in time to replace my A8n-e :)
    AND I'll get to test my theory of poor overclocking of the old Asus board. And even better - I'll do that by saving (not spending)! :toast:

    I love it ;)
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,620 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    Ya i was really thinking about a FX57/60 and Or an Opteron, Get 2 More Gigs PC 4000 Mushkin Redline, and a AGP 939 Mobo, as an upgrade to the Current machine, after the new one is built.

     
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    ...
    Now if only there was some form of availability for s939 processors
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. ucanmandaa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    168 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    North Cyprus
    Might change my A8V-E with one of these... wonder if it will clock my old 4200+ x2 higher than A8V-E (2.75ghz)
     
  6. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    939 processors are available - ebay! and also in the old machine in the attic / under the bed / in the wardrobe / in a cupboard at work...

    (amazing how much old tech is just lying around at work not being used...)
     
  7. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    ACC was introduced with Phenom I/II, two socket revisions after 939. Also, AMD didn't make single core processors out of bad dual core processors back then.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Sweet, seeing as the mobo in my old computer (was my sisters computer but I got it back now) is trashed that the 3800+ is still good as well as the ram, I think I have me a budget HTPC!!!! which will be just fine as I wont game with it. SWEET!
     
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    This is an absolutely great idea for those that have some 939 stuff laying around unused.
     
  10. HELLSPAWNPR

    HELLSPAWNPR New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Hatillo, Puerto Rico
    Awsome i have a 939 4800+ X2 and 2X 1GB of OCZ platinum ddr500,
     
  11. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    My wife could use that! She's still on a 939 with a crummy single core cpu. PM me if you're willing to part with it.
     
  12. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    typical from asrock. weird solutions that no other manufacturers make to common problems
     
  13. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    If I didn't have 2 ATX & one Shuttle 939 motherboard, this would be an awesome board for to build a media PC in.
     
  14. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Australia
    and the S939 lives on :rockout:
     
  15. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    couple of good ddr sticks and socket 939 would still pwn in memory latency tests, and the memory bandwidth would be well over 90% of theoretical value... i miss my s939 abit kn8 ultra...:cry::cry::cry: R.I.P.
     
  16. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    994 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    I'm still using a 939 socket 4200X2. It's not as fast as the gaming rigs I have built, but it is like a trusty old truck...Always fires up and runs.
     
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Not really. That was true early in DDR2 and DDR3 development, but now they both outperform DDR1 in both latency and bandwidth.
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    that what i did s754 was an ugly beast but it helds it own back in the day :D
     
  19. DaJMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    479 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Silver Spring, MD
    I think it will all come down to price point, because right now you can get these two
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.245404
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820159019

    For $108 (with 20 in rebates) and get a 2GB, 2.7GHz Phenom II based chip, and a motherboard (albeit a really cheap one. It doesn't have the options that this board has, but at $88 you get a machine that will beat any single core 939 board - so unless you've got a dual core (and it would only be worth it with a 4200 or better for most apps) - this package would actually be faster. Now there's a chance that this board will come in under $88, but it is a specialty part in a niche market, and considering the lowest priced 785G board on newegg is only $18 less than that combo, they don't have much margin for a competitive price.

    Now if you have 4GB of DDR2 and an X2 and are absolutely strapped for cash when your motherboard fails, this is an option.... but I don't see it being that spectacular of an option when you can get a similar setup for maybe $30 more with more in terms of features, performance, and lower power consumption, while for $60 more than the cost of the board you can get at least one more core and all the tech benefits.

    It is always interesting to see what ASRock brings to the table though, they offer a lot in terms of broad processor support.
     
  20. indybird

    indybird New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Why couldn't have put DDR2 or 3 in it!? My friend has a great 939 X2, but a somewhat broken and outdated motherboard. He also doesn't to spend much money at all cause hes stopped caring about computers :eek::shadedshu

    Oh well...

    -Indybird
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,620 (4.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,529
    Depends on the motherboard, because 1, 939 has a DDR Memory controller, 2 AM2 uses DDR2, 3 AM3 uses DDR2 and 3
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Because the cpu has the memory controller, not the chipset. It is not possible to run DDR2 or 3 on a 939 cpu. The cpu can only run DDR1.
     
  23. szulmizan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I still have the FX-60 with Asus A8N32-SLI + OCZ Platinum 2GB.. its worked great.. b4 built my Ci7.. still thinking do i have to sell it or keep it for my media system.. really love this PC.. it served me for 3 years b4 building new system..

    The new motherboard will keep the S939 alive.. ASRock Rocks...
     
  24. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Australia
    Love ya system you got there, i have a soft spot for 939's / FX's

    If you ever want to sell that ummm FX-60 ehem :D
     
  25. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,554 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    951
    My 939 Opty was 100 MHz faster clock for clock than first gen AM2 procs... and my value select ddr1 scored 5.9 in vista. When I switched from that system to a 3.5 GHz core 2 there was no performance increase noticeable in games, particularly in gpu dependent games like crysis. So for people with the right processor oc'd far enough 939 should still provide relevant performance.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page