1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Instant Boot loads Windows in 4 seconds

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Fastmix, Nov 15, 2008.

  1. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    oli_ramsay and MRCL say thanks.
  2. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Hehe very entertaining video :D

    But hell, this is cool!
  3. Chryonn

    Chryonn

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    London, England
    a four minute video to show four seconds, there's irony in there somewhere
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I hope there is a way to get this working on my board because that would be incredibly useful to me. It takes like 10 minutes to get into vista and close all the stupid shit I get at start up..
  5. Guru Janitor

    Guru Janitor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    298 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    New York
    That video gave me a good laugh :laugh:

    Interesting idea though.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,139 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,470
    all its doing, is using the S4 sleep state.

    from what i can tell, when you normally wake from sleep, the BIOS doesnt do any checks for changed hardware -thats what this would be doing. its skipping HDD, CPU, memory, USB, all those checks and just skipping straight to windows.

    i'm not sure what drawbacks would exist in this setup, to be honest.
  7. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    If Asrock can do it other manufacturer will follow and that's a great feature to have +1.;)
  8. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    So they want you to buy a new motherboard so that you can do what you already can with your current board. :laugh:

    that makes alot of sense doesn't it
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,139 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,470
    until you change something on a hardware level and it goes spaz and you cant boot anymore, lol.
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,878 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    Location:
    US
    Sounds like just sleep mode as you have to keep the power on to make instant boot work.
  11. Aevum

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    642 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    from what i understand, what it does is that when you shutdown, it actually reboots and once its done loading the O/S, it goes to hibernation or sleep mode,
    so it dosnt boot in 4 secs, it just prebooted the last time you shut down the computer,

    Asrock is kind of like the mad scientist division at Asus, expect weird stuff and inconsistant quality..
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,139 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,470
    thats a good way of putting it.
  13. Chryonn

    Chryonn

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    London, England
    yeah, funnily i was thinking the same thing, but i didn't want to burst anyone's bubble with it. my suspend mode on this Asus board practically shuts everything down, all there is is the flashing power LED indicating suspend and the num lock LED on the keyboard.
  14. Dixxhead

    Dixxhead New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    214 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    It would be more interesting to see what the normal mode was? Maybe it was basically the same as fast mode, but it writes all of the data on the HDD in order to turn off completely (Edit: Read the article, it basically is... Oh well ^^)?
    Kind of seems like a rip of to me... Vista has those feautures already built in and it certainly turns off faster too than those Asrock boards (if the thing with the "Pre-booted" os is the way they do it [Edit: As above, read the article just now, idea is not all that bad, but nothing special either...).

    What bugs me most is the long wait when restarting the pc multiple times, I was kinda hoping for a solution for that, but hey, can't have it all...
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2008
  15. Aevum

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    642 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    you can probobly turn it off in the bios...
  16. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    This is not much different from doing a STANDBY on a PC, or a hibernate on a laptop.

    Someone wrote a batch file to emulate the same behaviour on any PC

    http://bigfatflat.net/public/fastboot.bat

    ***

    LOL!!! Thanks whoring! :pimp:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page