1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Intros Utility to Speed Up USB

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,706 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,668
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ASRock released a nifty little software utility that steps up USB transfer rates. The ASRock XFast USB utility is also able to speed up USB 3.0 flash drives, which are well within the 5 Gb/s theoritical maximum of the interface. OCWorkbench did a "before and after" test of the utility as part of its Kingston HyperX Max 3.0 review. The portable SSD managed transfer rates of 156 MB/s before using the utility, which then jumped up to 241.32 MB/s after using it. SiSoft SANDRA was used for measurements. More tests can be found here.

    [​IMG]

    Source: OCWorkbench
     
  2. araditus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    ??? How ??? This seems very interesting indeeed, I believe its true, but I dont understand how there could be a bottleneck in the first place :confused:
     
  3. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I wonder what exactly it does to speed things up, the increase of 85mb/s from using this on that setup is very impressive although I'm curious if other devices could possibly get a higher increase.
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,738 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    977
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    It's all about buffering and the chunk size. If you copy 1 file 500MB in size it will probably max out any drive. If you copy 50.000 files that are also 500MB in size it will take forever to copy.
    So this utility basically turns those 50.000 files into 1 massive chunk and transfers it in a different way.
    In theory you should get similar results by using TeraCopy program to transfer files. I remember this one always maxed out my flash drives and also helped on Windows Vista where Explorer had incredibly slow transfer rate but TeraCopy maxed it out easily.
     
  5. TAViX Guest

    can this be use on any platform, by anyone?
     
  6. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    Ok. Either the ASRock R&D team found a blackhole loop on the usb ports OR this is #$&&. I support the former :)
     
  7. myworldoftech

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Mussels says thanks.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,681
    probably some form of cache

    i'm going to test it now, see if it helps a USB 2.0 flash drive on a 3.0 port on my gigabyte board.


    edit: only works on asrock mobos. i know that will be possible to fake, but i'll leave that to more experienced modders.
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  9. Dave65

    Dave65

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    131 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Michigan
    Dunno how it works but it does,it came with my Extreme 6 board.
     
  10. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,465 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,510
    Ill try this out on my GFs AMD rig and see how it works :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Roph

    Roph

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    +1 for TeraCopy. :)
     
  12. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Wow this sounds sweet! hope it works well!
     
  13. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    My motherboard is supported!
     
  14. twilyth Guest

    I checked out their web site and they have some other nice little utilities including a clipboard extender. DL'ed everything.

    Thanks man. :toast:
     
  15. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,460 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    looks like they found a nifty way to increase the bitrate without corrupting any of the data. maybe a voltage bump and an increase in frequency?
     
  16. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    We are overlooking an easy way this is done. They may have simply found a glitch in their own BIOS or board drivers that reduces the throughput of USB 3. This could simply be a driver update to use USB 3 as specified now and they just disguised it as a "utility" to attract attention.
     
  17. TAViX Guest

    My thoughts exactly!
     
  18. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Shoot, only works on ASRock mobos.
     
  19. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    works on my Mobo hehe :p
     
  20. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Hmm very interesting. I kind of figured it would only work on ASRock boards.
     
  21. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    This isn't a driver update. It's an application that runs in the background and launches on startup.

    EDIT: I already use terracopy. Is there any point in using this as well?
     
  22. Tartaros

    Tartaros

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    In the end most of us are interested in teracopy instead of the asrock thing xDDD.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page