1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock to Offer Better Browsing with New Google Options

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,215 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    I feel sorry for Christian to say this, but my question in the first place is WHY does this kind of news make it to TPU frontpage? It is totally irrelevant. Chrome is free, Chrome comes bundled with tons of software and hardware. So WHY in the name of everything sacred do I have to read this? :wtf:
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,440 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Also another good point to that is features with the software. I have seen drivers like realtek release a new set that had some newer additions to make the audio sound that much better.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. EaGle1337

    EaGle1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    81 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    Windows couldn't get network drivers for my asrock mobo, Have fun getting drivers relying only on windows 7 to get the basics.
  4. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    471 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    You might like to install a new system using outdated drivers, but I don't. The drivers on the disc might be the same version as what's on the vendor's web site, but they're usually older than what's on the OEM's web site (i.e., Intel's chipset drivers are usually newer than anything posted on ASRock, ASUS, Gigabyte, MSI, etc). Unless there's something wrong with the latest release, I see no point in using the old stuff.
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,886 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,458
    I see no point in using new stuff if the old ones work fine.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,440 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Thats like installing the drivers that came with your GFX card you bought on ebay that was released like 8 months ago. Its just something you don't do.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,411 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    Canada doesnt want/have the economic attitude of the USA.
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  8. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    471 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    So, you own a horse and not a car? :p

    Driver updates exist for a reason. Vendors don't spend their time and money creating updates because they have nothing better to do. But hey, if you like using the outdated stuff, have at it.
  9. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,739 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,044
    Not quite. I'm on NV driver 285.62 which I think is from last year. Every single new goddamn game we bought works like a charm. Everything's stable as a rock. Why change?

    In fact I tried recently a driver which was said to improve on Shogun2 Total War. Ran the benchmark and got 1FPS less. So, I'm not the guy looking around for the latest drivers. I do that when there's a problem or when there is a specific requirement for a specific application.
  10. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,153 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    LOL - Just dont install it people its an OPTION.



    LOL wut? Asrock/Pegatron separated from Asus a couple years ago.. they are buying them back? :confused:
  11. Saidrex

    Saidrex

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    112 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Latvia
    Great, install google app so google can spy on you even easier and included with free toolbar, which will eat your internet traffic and eat big chunk of computer memory and slow down page browsing.


    From this day i'll better stay away from Asrock as far as i can, if this continues same way next they will include google microchip built in motherboard and 10 years later - "Hello Skynet"
  12. nickbaldwin86

    nickbaldwin86

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    241 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
  13. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I always try to use the latest drivers/firmwares for all my electronics, things are just better this way for some reason?

    To generate discussion and therefore page hits.

    Welcome to the internet :toast:
  14. nickbaldwin86

    nickbaldwin86

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    241 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    How about this? Don't like it... don't read it.... or even to start with... DON'T CLICK ON IT!

    Maybe I read faster, but it took 5 seconds out of my life to read the title and small summary... I laughed and only posted because i thought it was funny.

    I personally am happy it was posted so I could make fun.
  15. azzonie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I am not sure if this was supposed to be news or a warning. I will take it as a warning.
  16. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,215 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    TPU was a more serious website, for la-la-la headlines we have tons of other sites ;)

    But yes, I believe the "generate clicks logic" is beyond my mental universe.

    Zurück zur Natur! 8)
  17. R_1

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    449 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    What a coincident, I have Asrock board and I am using Google Chrome browser. :toast:
    Few days ago I even had some difficulties updating Intel RST and Realtek audio drivers. :laugh: It turns out that driver CD was really needed, because after audio driver update THX TruStudio started sending error messages like "unsupported audio device". Some license files were on driver CD and it was the only way to re install THX TruStudio. :banghead: Download section on Asrock page is pretty much outdated, but on positive side there is BIOS with 10.8 OROM and 10.8 RST driver. So it is the proper combination and idiot proof one. Try to update to WHQL 11.6 RST driver and your RAID array will fill the pain. Well, I gues that TRIM in RAID 0 worth the pain. :toast:
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,886 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,458
    Yes because all the latest AMD drivers always work better then the last AMD drivers. ALWAYS. :rolleyes:

    Pro tip: Use the driver that works best. Not necessarily the newest one. I bet you always update the bios every chance you get too.
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,511 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    I agree and for the most part that is the latest/newest driver. Not always, but most of the time. As far as motherboard/device drivers, I install the latest and don't think twice about it afterwards. I have had, for example a bad LAN driver in the past that was rectified by a newer driver. Never had it happen the other way around.
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,758 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,800
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yet here I sit after fresh-installing AMD's Catalst 12.3 driver, from 6 months ago, and newer drivers make my system not work right.


    If there is truly a need to update a driver other than what is offered by the driver disc, Windows will offer it for you. There is always the chance that the driver provided by a board makers has been customized due to a custom layout, or some other implementation reason, that makes getting drivers from a part maker, like a LAN or Audio chip, not always the best idea.

    If you are having problems, then yes, looking for an updated version is a good idea, but if htere are no issues, there is no reason to update. Things like drivers interfering with each other can be common, and might not be tested for by the actual part maker, but have been tested by a board maker.
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,511 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    Just sharing my experiences with it. Not saying you're wrong or right on the matter.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page