1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Uses ''Real'' AM3+ Sockets, Lists Out Advantages Over AM3

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,561 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ASRock launched a new marketing campaign for its AMD platform motherboards, claiming to be the first manufacturer to be out with motherboards that use real AM3+ sockets. AM3+ is the FCPGA socket that has been designed for upcoming AMD FX series "Zambezi" processors based on the "Bulldozer" architecture. As a part of its campaign, ASRock highlighted the benefits of opting for its AM3+ motherboards. In the process, it ended up disclosing quite some technical information about AM3+, and why AMD designed it in the first place, when apparently AM3 can run Zambezi with a BIOS update.

    To begin with, ASRock started with the socket itself, showing that AM3+ sockets can be identified by "AM3b" written on the socket, and have wider pin-holes (0.51 mm vs. 0.45 mm of AM3). It is possible that future (retail?) versions of the CPU, if not the engineering samples doing rounds, could use packages with thicker pins that are incompatible with AM3. The thicker pins add durability, and are designed for a different set of electrical specifications.

    [​IMG]

    As part of those different set of electrical specifications, AM3+ processors are designed to talk to voltage controllers over a different VID, that's 3.4 MHz VID, while AM3 socket can only handle 400 KHz VID. Even if AM3+ chips run on AM3, they might probably lack some power management features, because AM3 boards' controllers might not support them. AM3+ will also feature a more advanced load-line design that lets controllers monitor electrical loads of the CPU and keep voltages within a stable range, minimizing vDroop (lowering of vCore with higher than normal load (when overclocked, loaded), messes up OC stability). AMD's new load-line design increases efficiency by up to 11.8%.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    AMD's new electrical specification, coupled with ASRock's implementation are claimed to reduce CPU power electrical noise by up to 22%. This has a direct impact on energy efficiency. Also, there's a reason those pins are thicker: the package is designed to handle 32% higher current than AM3, the AM3+ is designed to handle 145A, while AM3 was designed for 110A.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Lastly, with AM3+, AMD changed the CCR (Combo Cooler Retention Module), that plastic frame around the socket to hold the cooler, to be a two part kit, instead of the single-piece frame since s754. The two-piece CCR design first came to be with s1207, then on to other server sockets, and now makes its entry to the client platform with AM3+. The two-piece design ensures that air blown downwards by top-flow coolers make it to the VRM circuitry, with no plastic bars obstructing it. ASRock listed out specifications of all its AM3+ motherboards. They're based on AMD 8-series chipsets.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    _JP_, KieX, sttubs and 3 others say thanks.
  2. Flanker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    166 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Sydney, AU
    looks good, but I was expecting 9xx chipsets when I saw the title :eek:
    oh well, hoping to see the new CPU's soon
     
  3. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Interesting point Flanker, if they were 990FX's, I would probably pick one up right now, but the only one listed on Newegg is 890FX sadly :(
     
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,811 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,345
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    at last amd switch their socket after am3.
    and it looks promising, so just wait for next
    with bigger pins it would minimize err on contact area and other like bend. simple idea
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
  5. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    370 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Thanks :D
     
  6. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
  7. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    370 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
  8. SeanG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Well if the AM3+ cpus have bigger pins,how are they going to fit in the AM3 boards with a bios update?
     
  9. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Newegg lists that board as only AM3+, I'm assuming they might have changed the label to show it supports AM3+ chips.

    Same with that board, I only see it as AM3.


    They don't have bigger pins.... yet, but possibly in the future, hence that they might not work in AM3 sockets down the road.
     
  10. AkumAone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I can`t wait to hear:"My over9000$ PC is better than yours! It has like 0.06mm wider pin-holes and a 3.4 MHz link between CPU and Power Controler! It`s like having a Ferrari, brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!"

    PS:
    AM3+ Board = Board with AM3+ Socket (it could even have nForce 630a)
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
  11. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    I thought this socket had to do with 9xx chipset series :S
    Anyway, from what it says, nice design
     
  12. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    You guys are silly it clearly Says AM3+ IS THE BLACK socket only.that means if you looked at the link in my post it will be ver3.1 of the board,If you guys think they will run on AM3 yore sadly mistaken,Look at that first pic of them holes good luck fitting that in there.All the manufactures are doing is replacing the sockets on already out boards and ONLY that version of the model will run Bulldozers.

    OK look this is VER3.0 which most of you are running http://www.gigabyte.com/fileupload/product/2/3755/3888.jpg

    Now this is ver 3.1 notice any thing ? http://www.gigabyte.com/fileupload/product/2/3781/4016.jpg


    Nope it is a black socket ver3.1 board,All of the new ver # models will have that socket.Yes even the cross hair IV will have the black socket plus the updated BIOS and not for the old white one.

    another confused person ,AMD is making AM3 fit in AM3+ not the other way.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 26, 2011
  13. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,206 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,692
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I just picked up a "ASRock 890GX PRO3 AM3" for my 1055t 2 weeks ago and it has the new socket.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,188 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    If only my last board from ASrock didn't fail. Though it did last awhile before it finally pooped. Which reminds me, I gotta get rid of the AM2 upgrade board that I picked up for it. Never been used, heh...yeah that was money well spent.
     
  15. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Your first part of your post could be put in any tech review on this forum, whats the point? And the 2nd part is obvious as they are using AM3+ sockets on 890FX boards.

    Drop the attitude, it's a discussion, add info that people don't know without massive letters and snappy responses. Normally your post is one I would Thank, but just can't bring myself to do it.

    Now then, makes sense that they would do that, but my point still stands. It's cool to be able to link products off company's websites, but I can't find a single new version of that mobo on any retail site. Thats why I usually take all this with a grain of salt, I'll read about new videocards coming out today, and they won't be availible for purchase anywhere for another 2 weeks. While AsRock actually has their AM3+ board available right now.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  16. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Not everyone is smart, and therefore attitude is needed, I know it cause I explain obvious things that apparently isnt obvious to people.
     
  17. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    :rolleyes: Your not the one I was responding too, but this is a tech forum, a lot here try and keep up on current hardware, but unless people are planning an upgrade, they don't really read about hardware that isn't on the market yet. I personally want to move to a 990FX, but theres been news leaked on it for the last year, I just can't find a good reason to keep reading that stuff for so long, I usually start doing my research about a month before the products hit the shelves and decide if I really want it. Like the 890FX, I wanted to get a Crosshair IV badly, but when I was able to get 3.9ghz out of my 1055t, I couldn't really justify it.
     
  18. jalex3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    187 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Dont like the layout as much as the p67 boards

    [​IMG]

    If this is the final am3+ board layout, im not happy. notice that 2 of the sata3 are in a stupid place? :banghead: Yuck

    I was hoping they would keep it more like this.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
  19. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,682 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    736
    Location:
    Portugal
    It's more like a Koenigsegg CCX. :slap: And it goes "VRRROOOOOOMMMMM!!". :slap:
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  20. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
  21. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    That xtreme6 is a very nice board, looked it up on asrocks site.
     
  22. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    It is because they had to squeeze the PATA port on there for some reason. Ignore them, its not like they are going to attack you.

    They may actually be kinda handy if you buy or own a eSATA expansion slot plate for the back of your computer. Then the cord doesn't have to go very far to reach a SATA header.
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  23. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I do like the new am3+ mount, its much better than the frame imo.
     
  24. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    658 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Australia
    were other manufacturers using counterfeit AM3+ sockets?
    are other mainboard manufacturers going to release boards with replica AM3+ sockets crafted from cheese?
    it just seems like rather ludicrous headline that's all i mean surely all AM3+ boards will ship with "real" AM3+ sockets
     
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,935 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    Because that board still uses the old, single piece, retention system for the heatsink, it isn't technically AM3+, it is a hybrid AM3/AM3+ design. That is ASRock's point, the retension system has been changed to improve airflow around the VRM area to help with the extra current the AM3+ processor will be pulling.

    Their board is the first to adhere completely to the AM3+ spec exactly as it is layed out by AMD.
     
    tigger, 1Kurgan1 and 95Viper say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page