1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock Uses ''Real'' AM3+ Sockets, Lists Out Advantages Over AM3

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    649 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Australia
    Should the title read
    "ASRock Uses ''Real'' AM3+ Socket heatsink retention mechanism, Lists Out Advantages Over AM3"
    :)
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  2. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    579 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    So AMD, when are you going to get with the times and release CPUs without pins? I mean Intel has had the pins on the board and not the CPU for HALF A DECADE now.
  3. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    cpu's with pins are just better so i see no reason for them to move away from them, especially now the pins have been getting progressively thicker
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Even without the pins getting thicker I don't see a reason for changing into the style of Intel. I mean how would one manage to break or bend the pins on the cpu without treating it like an ass?
    cheesy999 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    yeah i dropped mine and do you know what happened (nothing)
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    I don't see anything with tis AM3+ board that gives an advantage over an AM3 board. AsRock is showing that they possibly made a better board, but I've seen AM3 boards (minus the socket) that already have these features. They're really stretching to get folks to buy AM3+ sockets for no good reason other than "wow look!" marketing.
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    since intel do it every generation i have no problem with that unless they decide too start doing it often
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    But Intel actually changes the socket so you can't use an older generation CPU in their boards. AM3/AM3+ = same thing. AsRock is just demonstrating that they are actually putting decent components on their motherboards and not just some fancy heatsinks or color scheme.
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    buts theirs has no need for the change either way, Sandybridge doesn't work any better cause it has one less pin
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    Correct. AsRock is showing advantages between one motherboard and another, not any actual advantage between AM3+ and AM3.
    Jack Doph says thanks.
  11. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    471 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Yes, what a wonderful idea to put the pins in the socket instead of on the CPU: small, delicate, easy to bend, difficult to straighten, damaging them requires REPLACING THE WHOLE FREAKIN' MOTHERBOARD. :shadedshu Not an improvement, in my book....
    Chevalr1c and cheesy999 say thanks.
  12. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    They will probably release an adapter.
  13. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    The thing that gets me is all the misinformation. Is AMD misleading it's OEMs or are the OEMs making stuff up as they go along?

    If the pins on an AM3+ CPU are a heavier gauge than AM3 CPUs then how is an AM3 CPU supposed to fit in a AM3+ socket? The only way is for the contacts in the socket to be highly compressed making them extra tight on an AM3+. Also if the PINs are a heavier gauge on AM3+ cpu then people buying the ASUS bios claim will be getting screwed as there will be no way to fit the AM3+ in an AM3 socket (never mind the extra pin even). Also an increase in gauge signifies higher current draw, which means a lot of AM3 boards would not be able to handle the load.

    In so far as the new retention scheme, airflow my buttocks, it's cheaper, that's why. The air coming from a CPU fan is hot, so you're blowing hot air on the VRM's. Sounds like they don't want to spend the money on heat sinks for the VRMs :p

    I think one's best bet is to wait for the 9x chip sets and buy a AM3+ board with those. It's the only way to be sure you are at spec with the platform.

    I planned on taking an AM3 quad to the new socket but now I don't know with this pin issue. Maybe Intel get's me back as a customer (last Intel chip was a PII 400).
  14. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Not that I disagree with what you said, but it still is cheaper than to replace a CPU, in some cases.
    Yeah, who remembers this?:
    [​IMG]
    OMG, DO WANT! :rolleyes:
  15. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,614 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    They did it to save themselves money and put it on the mobo makers, imo. It is their M.O. after all.
  16. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Replacing a cpu means less waste than replacing a mobo, and in case you bend one of the cpu pins, it is relatively easy to straighten it (compared to a mobo "socket" pin).
    Plus, as already written, if you are sufficiently careful and gentle it shouldn't go wrong.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton

    [​IMG]

    I was thinking one similar to the 479 adapter, though this is clearly for Intel processors, I am sure AMD is intelligent enough to market a similar adapter for already existing AM3 boards. (I would hope)
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,836
    Which is easier to drop, a processor or a motherboard. A processor, especially the heavy as AMD processors. When dropped, which is easier to bend, pins on the motherboard that are partially protected by a socket cover, or exposed pins on the processor? The exposed pins on the processor. Which are you handling more often, a processor or your motherboard? Your processor.

    The fact of the matter is that pins on the motherboard are far less likely to be damanged than pins on a processor. To damage pins on a motherboard you have to be an idiot and drop something directly on that spot of the board, or try to touch the pins, or put the processor in wrong. With pins on the processor, you just have to drop the processor, which is a lot more likely than damaging a pin on a motherboard.

    AMD has already moved to LGA on the server side, because it is just a better design. The only reason AMD has stuck with ZIF sockets on the desktop side is to maintain backwards compatibility.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,614 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Who would be holding a cpu not in the foam/case high enough that dropping it would damage it? You should only take it out when it's right next to the MB and then put it in the socket. A few inches to travel and only a couple inches above the surface. If you can't do that correctly, then there's no hope.
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,836
    When your workbench is on a tile floor, or your working in a basement with a concrete floor, it is pretty easy to knock it off the desk and bend a few pins. It happens to the best of us.

    And when your tearing a machine down to say replace a bad motherboard, you don't always have a nice protective case to put it in, so its on the desk while you swap out the motherboard, easily knocked off.

    And even if you are just installing it new, it is possible to drop the processor on the way from the package to the motherboard, and have it bounce off of the desk and hit the floor. I've seen it happen, never done it personally, but seen it happen.

    There are so many more scenarios, and more likely scenarios as well, that lead to bent pins on a processor than there are that lead to bent pins on a motherboard.
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    359 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Can you see it now?
    :roll:
  22. Gjohnst4

    Gjohnst4 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    223 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Batavia IL
    Stinks You will have to acquire a new mounting bracket for your cpu cooler though?
  23. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,564 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    flat base like intel processor sometimes kinda risky. remember the burnt socket case when overclocker push the voltage. with pins it could minimized
  24. Aevum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    That was more becuase foxconn and lottes were not respecting the minimum pin size/width specifications from intel. shave a gram or two of copper off each board and it adds up when you´re making a boatload of them.


    personaly. i´ve had enough ram issues with AMD. im going to keep my 790FX board and DDR2 untill 990FX boards come out. i see no point in using a board with a AM3 chipset "updated" to run at DDR3 1600.
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,493 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    Considering the memory controller is in the CPU itself, the board really shouldn't make much difference.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page