1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock X58 Deluxe and Memory

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by chemjeff, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. chemjeff New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi all,
    I was thinking about buying an ASRock X58 Deluxe motherboard and loading it up with RAM when I visited their website and saw on their specifications sheet:

    "Due to Intel® CPU spec definition, XMP DIMMs and DDR3 2000/1866/1600 are supported for one DIMM per channel only."

    What exactly does this mean? And how will this affect my memory purchase?
     
  2. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    it means that if u use xmp technology (i think i mentioned about it yesterday to you), you can enable it only on 3 dimms not on 6. thats not a motherboard problem but the memory controllers fault. if u buy good ram and you overclock the good ol way, then you shouldnt have any problem on reaching those speeds with 6 dimms (depends on the memory of course and 6 dimms at 2000mhz is highly unlikely but 1866 and 1600 are easily achiavable (dont know how to say it :S)
     
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I think it means that the memory controller can only handle DDR3-1333 or lower with 6 sticks in. But I think that's BS. If you upped the NB volts, you should be able to do 1600+ with 6 sticks.
     
  4. chemjeff New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    LittleLizard,
    Okay, yeah you did mention it to me. And now that I've had a chance to do some more research into it, it looks like I can get memory that both supports XMP and is at high speed. Should I invest in trying to do both?
     
  5. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay

    link it to me
     
  6. chemjeff New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  7. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    kingston memory is good. but keep in mind you will be limited to 6gb if u go xmp route. if u wanna get the full 12gb, get two kits of those. BUT dont use the xmp profile. instead, up the bus of the cpu to 160 and you will have the full 12gb to 1600.

    also if u can forget xmp, there is better memory at lower price

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductReview.aspx?Item=N82E16820148246

    this (i know looks like crap) is one of the best ocer (i think it is, pm Fitseries 3 for confirmation)
     
    chemjeff says thanks.
  8. chemjeff New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    LittleLizard,
    Oh I don't mind doing without XMP, I didn't even know what it was until yesterday! But I do want a system that is going to be robust and last a while. I think I will go with the Corsair memory you suggested yesterday. Thanks!
     
  9. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    at your service :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page