1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asrock x58 Extreme-New Build-debug 38

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Natzapo, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. Natzapo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I'm a fairly newbie system builder, but have a fairly good grasp on the basics. I recently picked up the following parts for a build:

    asrock x58 extreme mobo
    intel i7 920 (2.66) (LGA1366)
    BFG Nvidia 9800GT
    2x Crucial 2GB DDR3 1066 RAM(240pin, PC3-8400)
    Seventeam PSU 750W ATX 12v active PFC\
    Hitatchi 640 GB SATA HD
    Liteon some generic DVD/CD SATA drive

    The build went off pretty smoothly, or so I thought. got everything hooked into my new case, first time I've ever mounted my own MB, usually get a barebones system to start with; The only thing I noticed was strange during the build itself was the North Bridge has two black pins on springs that hold it down, and one seems to have broken off during shipping. I found it in the box and returned it to its place.

    I get everything installed, all the cords for the case controlls and such run, hook up my PSU cords, two into the MB, one to the HD and CD, and one to each of the fans (the 9800 doesn't have a power slot .. I think)

    Boot it all up for the first time, bios shows up just fine, I hit F2 to boot into bios, don't see any problems, all the hardware it shows looks appropriate. Save the settings and restart, booting to my windows disk. About 2-4min into the install it restarts several times in decreasing intervals. I spend a little while discouraged about this. During this time, if it gets all the way to windows install, the error on the Debug when it crashes is "AA"

    It crashes after a min or two even in I just sit in bios, Debug saying "87" (which is the "bios executed" display)

    CPU is sitting at about 100-109F. Is this high? Any thoughts on what this could be? I'm perfectly willing to post more info if requested, and I'd really appreciate some help getting this build working. Thanks!

    ::EDIT::

    Also, occasionally when it crashes(read: freezes for about 30-90sec, then reboots) it throws the "38" error to the debug, which is listed as "Starting other devices through DIM" or something very near that.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2009
  2. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,992
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Which ram slots are you using?
     
  3. Natzapo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ram

    I'm using Ram slots 1 and 2, at least according to the diagram that came with the mobo, it goes:
    [CPU]

    [RAM]
    blue-4
    white-1
    blue-5
    white-2
    blue-6
    white-3
    [/RAM]

    I'm in 1 and 2 according to that, should I try moving the RAM to different slots?
     
  4. Natzapo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  5. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    dont you need 3 sticks to run X58?? it could be the cpu overheating or an HDD issue where does it get on the windows install before it crashes? i.e. expaning files, installing components, etc?
     
  6. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,992
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    No, you don't need 3 sticks. It just won't run in triple channel. I have this board in one of my backup i7 rigs. I'll try to track down those post codes when I get home tonight. :)
     
  7. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Core i7 920 will work in single, or dual or triple channel mode depending on the memory arrangement. You don't "need" three sticks to run X58.
     
    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
  8. Natzapo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    From the manual
    "87" - Execute BIOS setup if needed/requested
    "AA" - Uninstall POST INT1ch vector and INt09 vector. Deinitializes the ADM module
    "38" - Initializes different devices through DIM.

    I'm pretty sure 87 is just displaying when I'm in BIOS and it crashes becuase it was already there. 38 is what its hanging on now, and AA is what it shows when it dies during windows install.
     
  9. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,920 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,992
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Try booting with just one stick of ram in slot 1. I suspect you may have a dead stick of ram.
     
  10. Natzapo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yup, thats what I'm doing now, will report in a moment.

    (It'll be odd though, as the BIOS recognized both of them earlier.. oh well, at least RAM is cheap :) )
     
  11. Natzapo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Alright, cleared CMOS, back to default settings. with one or two sticks of RAM in, (tried each singly) I get booted into "Windows loading files" followed by "Starting Windows" then get "AA" error again, after "AA" it spits out "68" and "77" before crashing. Neither of which are in the manual >.<
     
  12. Natzapo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    anyone with any Ideas? I'm kinda running short of thoughts at this point...Considering taking it to a local Fry's electronics since they have diagnostic equipment I lack, though I'd really rather figure it out myself. >.<
     
  13. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    so the crashes speed up as the computer is on for longer?

    sounds temperature related....
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2009
  14. Natzapo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    it does indeed, it appears to crash, the few times I've watched it in BIOS, at 120F, but I don't know if thats a coincidence or not, Should I invest in liquid cooling? I have the fan that came on the processor, two side panel fans, a top fan and a larger back fan.
     
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    At stock it shouldt crash... did you check the mouning on the CPU heatsink...? Maybe its not making contact?
     
  16. Natzapo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm, It looks like it is, I took the heatsink off and put it back on the gunk from the bottom of the fan is now on the top of the proc, so that should mean they're making contact (I think) but .. I dunno
     
  17. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    if there is gunk then they are...

    have you tried running the motherboard outside of the case?

    like on top of the box that it came in... also with no fans plugged into it... maybe the mounting is causing something to short out a component. That happened to me with a waterblock backplate mount, caused crashing after post (not to mention the eventual smell of burned PCB as I kept turning it on and off lol)
     
  18. Natzapo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm, I hadn't thought it would be delayed like this if thats what it was, I'll give it a shot though, thanks
     
  19. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah it usually isnt.... but its worth a shot. it could be the video card too.

    or

    *hate to say it*

    Mobo in need of RMA. Either way you'll be taking it out of the case anyways.
     
  20. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    sounds like the nb is overheating to me. try putting a fan blowing directly on the northbridge see what happens
     
  21. wevsspot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    On this board the Northbridge heatsink is part of the integrated heat pipe cooling solution that also cools the VRM. So the displaced heatsink had to be the southbridge heatsink. I'm in agreement that this could be a heat related problem, and unfortunately the only way to know for sure if it can be fixed at the "user" location would be to remove all of the heatsinks (n/b - vrm, s/b and cpu) clean off all of the existing TIM, apply new thermal paste and reseat each of the heatsinks.

    Never re-use old TIM and anytime you break the mating surface of a chip and heatsink you should clean of the old paste and reapply new.

    Your cpu temps are a little warm at idle - but considering you are still using the oem fan to be expected.

    Having played with two i7 920s now (mine are D0 stepping - low voltage high temperature) the oem fan isn't anywhere near up to the job of cooling the processor IMHO.

    Be aware that if you do remove any of the heatsinks, clean and reapply new thermal paste it may void your warranty. However if it were my rig here is what I'd do;

    1. Pull board out of case and assemble with minimum components required for board to function i.e. one HDD drive, one stick of memory, cpu, etc.

    2. Remove all heatsinks from the board, clean with 90% isoprop alcohol and apply new thermal paste.

    3. Throw oem cpu cooler back in the box and replace with suitable aftermarket heatsink/fan.

    4. Clear CMOS before next boot.

    5. Reboot and load BIOS factory defaults.

    If that fails you'll probably end up sending the board back for a replacement.
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  22. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    ^ what he said.
     
  23. Conflict0s

    Conflict0s

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    399 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom.
    Not sure if it will help much but you could give Memtest86 a try. I know you have already tried your RAM in different slots but I think it is worth doing for a tester,
    1. To see if your RAM is ok
    2. To see if your pc crashes.

    Also if it is temperature related and you can boot into your BIOS, I am presuming you can see your temperatures in your BIOS? if so, then on stock cooling your CPU temperature should be around 40-50 degrees. I am unsure what your northbridge should be at. But I would of thought that you could see if it was over heating by looking at the idle temperatures in the BIOS.
     
  24. newbuilder333 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did you get this resolved yet? I have the AsRock x58 Extreme coming this week and would love to kow what happened. Thanks.
     
  25. Jc100 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Same on my motherboard

    Hello Guys,

    On my ASROCK it posts fine but the LED remains with "AA". Eric at Asrock told me this is suppose to be normal but I have yet to see anyone else mention their LED reading it (unless they had a problem). My system goes through the usual checks, posts, but the LED has "AA" on it and it never goes away. Any idea what that's suppose to mean other than..

    "AA" - Uninstall POST INT1ch vector and INt09 vector. Deinitializes the ADM module

    IE laymans terms?

    I have i7 920 on stock cooler @ 2.66
    6 x 2GB dimms of Corsair XMS ram 9-9-9-24
    XFX 1GB 4890

    Any ideas? Something wron gor is this normal?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page