1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASRock X79 Extreme7 Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 10, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,702 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,667
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    ASRock is readying is new, high-end socket LGA2011 motherboard targeting the upper-most tier of the PC enthusiast market, the X79 Extreme7. This board will be a part of the company's first wave of LGA2011 motherboards, which are slated for mid-November, 2011. Pictures scored by XFastest reveal the board to be filled to the brim with features. The CPU socket is powered by a 16-phase VRM making use of high-grade chokes, and server-grade poscap capacitors.

    The socket is wired to six DDR3 DIMM slots arranged in sets of three on either sides of the socket, powered by a 4-phase VRM. Among channels A, B, C, and D; channels B and D have two DIMM slots wired, so if you have four DDR3 modules, you should populate slots 0, 2, 3, and 5; to take advantage of quad-channel DDR3 memory. There are heatsinks over the memory VRM areas, that are connected to the heatsink over the CPU VRM using heat pipes.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Expansion slots include five PCI-Express x16, two of these can run at full-bandwidth PCI-E 3.0 x16, four at PCI-E 3.0 x8 bandwidth (depending on how the slots are populated with add-on cards), one of these is wired to the X79 PCH and is PCI-E 2.0 x4 capable. There's a legacy PCI slot, too.

    Storage connectivity includes four SATA 6 Gb/s ports, seven internal SATA 3 Gb/s ports, and one eSATA 3 Gb/s. Other connectivity options include six USB 3.0 ports (two on the rear panel, four via headers), 8+2 channel HD audio with optical and coaxial SPDIF outputs, two gigabit Ethernet connections, FireWire, and a number of USB 2.0 ports.

    Source: XFastest
     
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,435 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    just me or does AsRock have a fetish of putting atleast one PCI slot on every new motherboard they make? o_O
     
  3. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    What's wrong with that?
     
  4. to6ko91

    to6ko91

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    335 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ireland
    nothing bad in that there are still alot of pci devices worth using
     
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I'd be lost without a single PCI slot.
     
  6. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,135 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    597
    Location:
    Switzerland
    wow !! Impressive design !
     
  7. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,727 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,419
    Looks really badass
     
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    ASROCK!? Why you no do this for your AMD boards?
     
  9. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    I don't like the fan on the SB though, imo they are always cheap and noisey as hell. The board looks great !!
     
    qwerty_lesh says thanks.
  10. SteelSix

    SteelSix

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    230 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    I choose ASRock to design the hull of our first interstellar warship.

    The power system's heatsink arrary is the most elaborate I've seen. Look at the total surface area. Such a remarkable display of passive cooling design; why active PCH cooling? A step backwards IMO. Looks like a quality fan though; hopefully it's low RPM. We don't want to hear that fan ASRock..
     
  11. LDNL

    LDNL

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    465 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Location:
    Finland
    That board looks amazing! Theyve really gone all out on this one.
     
  12. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    my thoughts exactly, for such an expensive mobo, why do they go and ruin it with that.
    they could have used more heat sink and not needed that horrible SB fan.
     
  13. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,435 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775

    still there ain't anything wrong with a PCI-X 32bit slot but still it's a little bit oldschool and i just though it was about time to move on, they even dropped the support for ATA/IDE but i guess that PCI-X will still alive on :/
     
  14. jalex3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    187 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Looks nice, not sure if I like the north bridge fan or slot pci slot layput though...
     
  15. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,988 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Woo X79 now to wait for evga to release some pics XD
     
  16. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    So ASRock have made it in the big league of enthusiast boards. It looks great. Just make me wonder how much money you'll need for an SB-E system. As there's no competition in that segment for Intel I would expect to be rather mucho.
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,372 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,677
    why is no one else asking how this has "4 channel" ram with 6 slots?

    is it quad channel? dual? triple? IT HURTS MY MIND
     
    erixx says thanks.
  18. SteelSix

    SteelSix

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    230 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    Well we know X79 chipset is $30 more expensive than X58. 4 sticks of mem can be had cheap, and we know cpu pricing. The variable will be mobo. I can't see a quad channel mobo coming in under $150, and can easily see $300+ premiums for boards like this.
     
  19. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    Ha, ha. So very true. The slots are sooo black that we couldn't see properly how many there are.
     
  20. SteelSix

    SteelSix

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    230 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Atlanta, USA
    Damn you beat me to it. I just noticed it! :toast:
     
  21. Mescalamba

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    201 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Well, for long time I had excellent PCI sound card and it would be bad to have non-PCI motherboard. Not mentioning theres still couple of manufacturers that havent notice that PCIe exist.

    Tho I sold that soundcard and next from same manufacturer was PCIe, so Im safe. Still nothing bad about backward compatibility.

    Btw. my mobo has PCI, IDE and Floppy! .. and its X58.
     
  22. Mescalamba

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    201 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Its quad, but you can run it in triple too. Tho 8 slots would be better, but I think it will need separate power for ram only. I remember that runing 6 slots on X58 was bit of issue, especially if you wanted them to run fast, quite a big jumps in voltage needed.
     
  23. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,946 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    It's quad channel for 4 of the 6 slots (0, 2, 3, 5). Populate those slots for quad-channel. Otherwise, it's not quad-channel. I guess it would be dual channel if only (0, 2) or (3, 5) are populated. Correct me if I'm wrong though, but if you fill all six slots it would be single-channel for (1, 4) and quad-channel for the rest? Or 2x single channel for 1 and 4 each then 2x dual-channel for (0, 2) and (3, 5)? Are those possible?
     
  24. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    It's explained in the first post... Just seems dumb. Do 8 slots or 4 like everyone else. Don't put that sort of gimmick on your top end board.
     
  25. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I agree with having 4 or 8 slots vs. 6. ASRock likes making a lot of standard features sound like they are exclusive to their boards, like "Instant Boot" on my A770DE+ (which is now dying/dead after 4 months) which is really just Standby. :banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page