1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AsRock z77 Extreme 4 + 3570K, 8 pin atx or 4pin ?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by StanMen, Mar 24, 2013.

  1. StanMen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    196 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Portugal
    hey guys i got my mobo today and ram 2133, and i was instaling all things and when i saw that on top of board the board atx power connector 12v 8 pin and my power supply also got 8 pin, and i'm bulding a high end machine this time with na H100 + i5 3570k and 8GB 2133Mhz Dual chanel and this z77 Extreme 4 and an GTX 680 TOP from asus, and i just was a bit confused by if i have to plug all 8pin in the atx power connector ? I will do OC so i think it will help for more power juce to get more performance from OC, dno if this have to do with it but i wold like to have an oppinion from you guys from my best friends for TPU !! :D


    Thanks guys !

    My first option was z77 Extreme 4 + i7 2700k but i was confused and i did say ma self ok, way i wold go for an old chip ? and it was a bit cheapest but i did choice the i5 ivy 3570k and its native pci-e 3.0 , less power angry and also got new 22nm processor, and yha a price is like 250€ but still it will be a brand new machine 3d generation cpu and pci-e dno is just my opinion and i know that this ivy have a good OC potential.


    help me with that thing of atx power guys 8pin or 4 pin and tell me what you think on the rig ? is good for what ever i will do since gaming and working in SolidWorks and 3D Max Studio and AutoCad ? will this i5 performe nice ?
  2. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,680 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,557
    Plug in the 24pin ATX cable on the right side and the 8pin CPU power cable on the top left.

    Nice setup. I just built a system with an AsRock z77 Extrmem4 and 3570k for my brother, and everything went very smoothly, no hiccups. Made me an AsRock fan.
    StanMen says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. StanMen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    196 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Portugal
    Yha bro ! thanks yhaa i know the AsRock is now rocking ! and z77 chip is very good and also its very nice sexy looking board !! and this ivy 3570k is prity much a beast as linus say!!

    and i hope i will do next upgrde for SLI 680 ! just burn the games to hell ! and i also will go for an Extrime power Supply cougar 1050w modular, but i wold like to finde an cool supply in back and red but an good supply and not too expensive :D

    just save some $$ :p
  4. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,680 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,557
    Glad you got it rocking :rockout:

    The thing we have all learned, some through bad experience, is not to cheap out on the PSU. Save a little and then upgrade to whatever is you need. Depending in your system, you could power 2x 680s on less than 1050. I'm using an HX1000 to power my system which undoubtedly pulls more than that would. (Again, depending in the rest of the configuration).

    Also, if you're going to be sporting 680 SLI, you better have a nice monitor for it not to be wasted. I love the 2560.1440 personally, and 2x 7970s serve it well, so 2x 680s would do likewise.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. ueutyi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    65 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    i would recommend 8 pin.
    r u going to overclock it?
    if yes, 8 pin
    if no, it doesnt matter, but 8 pin will be better
    StanMen says thanks.
  6. StanMen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    196 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Portugal
    Yha i got 8 pin, and i'm allrady plug it in in 8 pin and i did in BIOS for my ram XMP 2 profile to get 2133 Mhz and in dual chanel, and my sistem is so so so fast in boot it take like 2 seconds to boot in the windows 7 with all progs open and rady to use ! just OMG and my 680 just smokes everything yhaa, and thanks guys for help :D

    BEST WEB SITE BEST GUYS !! EVER !! thanks ! and can some one tell me how to get beter OC how do i do it on intel ? and can some one explane me like how i go to 4.0 Ghz and step by step ;)

    Thanks you! All!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page