1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asrock Z77 Fatal1ty professional LGA1155 Atx Motherboard

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Paladone, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Is the Asrock Z77 Fatal1ty professional LGA1155 Atx Motherboard a good motherboard? Will i be able to crossfire two Asus HD7970 Matrix's?
     
  2. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,303 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,523
    You'll be able to run crossfire, as it supports x8/x8 which is what you want when running dual cards. Can't comment much on the board, other than the mixed reviews on Newegg.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Ahh right, thanks :) A little random, But i'm buying a SSD and a HDD for my rig and i'm curious as to which brand of SSD is the most reliable and performs the best - Heres the link to the SSD's at my local store. Thanks again.
     
  4. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,303 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,523
    I don't see a link yet, but for ssds I'm a huge advocator of the Samsung 830, as I have 2 that run flawlessly, never any stability or reliability issues at all. (Comparatively they have been more reliable than my Sandisk Extreme and OCZ Vertex 4, both now sold) I'd also look at the newer 840 Pro since they seem to be completely awesome.
     
    Paladone says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    hahah sorry about the link, here it is https://www.ple.com.au/ViewCategory.aspx?CategoryId=243. I see the 840 pros afre a bit pricey, do you think it's worth it?
     
  6. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,400 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Here is one thing that I'm not so sure is well known with SSDs. They take the biggest performance hit once they're half full or more. So depending on what you want to put on your SSD beside the OS (which Win 7 can take 20-30GB depending on version and 32/64bit), a 120GB might be hard to do for some. The other thing tho, is considering how fast SATA 3.0 is, that performance hit isn't what it was with first gen SSDs. I'm not very familiar with Silicon Power, but their 120GB drives offer very similar performance to the Corsair Force GT I have, but at a better price.
     
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    The Fatal1ty is a good board
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Paladone im not sure it can fit a 2, 3 slot cooler


    you have in you spec your running x2 7970 ?? and its at 2.0 PCI-E x16 @ x8

    and the ASRock is at 3.0 PCI-E x16 @ x8 :confused:
     
  9. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Does that mean it's not compatible? And will the Fatal1ty support 2400mhz RAM?
     
  10. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,548 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,662
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Paladone

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    421 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
  12. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    i take that back it will fit but tight :p
     
    Paladone says thanks.
  13. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,548 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,662
    Are you looking for an extreme overclocking motherboard? Or a simple one that will run everyting at stock speeds?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    834 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Just on a side note, if you want to save some money. Shop online at http://www.pccasegear.com
    They are in Melbourne, have great prices, cheap shipping, an awesome online warranty system.
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  15. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    461 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
  16. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,548 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,662
    I think so as well except that the specs for the ASRock Extreme4 and th Gigabyte do not support 2400 MHz according to their spec sheets....
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    461 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    If meaning 'officially' support, then no, but my Extreme4 runs 1866Mhz and have seen a similar rig (same board) hit 2133MHz. No reason they won't go higher. Can't really speak for the Gigabyte board, but at that price, you'd hope so.

    Edit: From ASRock website, Z77 Extreme4 specs: - Supports DDR3 2800+(OC)/2400(OC)/2133(OC)/1866(OC)/1600/1333/1066 non-ECC, un-buffered memory.

    Gigabyte website, Z77X-UP4: Support for DDR3 2800(OC)/1600/1333/1066 MHz memory modules
     
  18. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,548 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,662
    You are correct that they could reach those speads, I have learned to be cautious when they do not "officialy" support those speeds however. I encountered issues several years ago w/ ram speeds not being supported by the motherboard (sadly cannot remember the set-up).

    EDIT:
    Your research on those boards was more in-depth than mine:toast:
     
    Naito says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    461 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    Official or not, those speeds are fairly wasted/overkill at the moment. The only thing getting faster is the rate your bank balance drops. :ohwell:

    I haven't encountered many issues with the latest SB and IB generations, but with the previous Nehalem, have come across a few rigs that had memory issues. They always seem to be very touchy and act like a b***h when trying to aim for 1600Mhz with tight timings or higher frequency, with an OC, etc. Just my experience anyway.

    Edit:
    I should stop hijacking this thread. Sorry :eek:
     
    ALMOSTunseen says thanks.
  20. ALMOSTunseen

    ALMOSTunseen

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    834 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    :laugh::roll:Everyone cares about their memory! Its the same as a car. Yeah mate, I got a 5" lift on my hilux. Yeah mate, I'm at 2600mhz.
     
    Naito says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page