1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Assistance Needed: Xbox 360 PC wireless gaming receiver

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Techtu, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    So... I've been waiting over a week for it to come in the post and when it finally comes I can't seem to get it to work :cry:

    I don't know why I have this problem but I'm unable to install the driver for the device, the software install's without a problem.

    So I'm pretty stumped, what to do:confused:
     
  2. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Get the Xbox360_64Eng.exe file somewhere, thats whai i have
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  3. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    You could of sent me a link to the place where you got it from :p ... but anyway's here's what I did :)

    Right click on Computer
    Go to Properties
    Click on Device Manager
    Right click on the Unidentified Device
    Go to Properties
    Go to the Drive tab
    Click on Update Driver…
    Browse my computer for driver software
    Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
    Windows Common Controller for Window Class
    Xbox 360 Wireless Receiver for Windows Version: 2.1.0.1349 [8/13/2009]
    Update Driver Warning
    Click Yes

    At first I couldn't see the list what contains what I've highlighted so I clicked the back button and then went forward to that step again and it was right there, so problem solved :D
     
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,320 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    wait, with seven and vista that thing is PLUG AND PLAY no software, nothing
     
  5. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Errrm that doesn't seem to work anyway''s all the controls are messed up :/

    Bo$$ do you have one of these yourself?
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  7. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Definitely make sure you install the software. I bought the wireless PC package but was able to get my extra 360 controllers to work by pressing the connect button on the front/top of the controller after powering it on and then pressing the connect button on the receiver.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I installed the software and plugged the device in as it asked me.

    As I said last the control's are messed up ie: the start button is actually acting as the right trigger, and clicking the right analog controller pauses the game and so on...

    Well anyway's I had a sneaky feeling that something else just wasn't quite right, so I installed a game I played back when I had my 8800GT, Metro 2033... the difference is amazing from the two cards in this game :p) so once installed I also went and borrowed a wired controller (just as a back up tester, but turn's out it wasn't needed the game control's work as they should, so obviously there is nothing wrong with the receiver, just seem's Splinter Cell Conviction doesn't seem to like me, as I also used the wired controller and got the same dodgy control's as I did with the wireless on that game
     
  9. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    909 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    in conviction you would need the latest patch for it to work with the controller. its the games fault for not mapping the 360 controller properly, as i had the same problem. it was the same with assassins creed 2

    and do a complete reinstall of the drivers too, if its working properly it should show battery status when you press the xbox logo button
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  10. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Kinda figured by now it was something like that, thank's for confirming though :toast:

    However I still can not install the device any other way than that I described earlier.
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,098 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,280
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Then something is wrong.

    I'd remove the driver that you installed completely via device manager.

    Download the install package from M$.

    INstall, with the receiver disconnected from the pc. When it's installed, connect the receiver. If it doesn't work, then return it, and get a new one.


    I have both wired and the wireless receiver, both work perfectly fine. I had no issues at all with Conviction(I tend to play most console ports with 360 controller).
     
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,320 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    yep, do have one, using it on windows 7, i NEVER installed any drivers, maps controls fine in all my games
     
  13. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    The software install's without a problem, it's just the driver I have to go the long way about installing it, so even though I do have a somewhat faulty device I've got it working (will be asking for a return on the item though).

    Maybe it updated to the latest patch on it's own for you, so therefore didn't have the messed up control's, I've not tried updating with the latest patch yet but I will get round to it, but what IINexusII said seem's to fit perfectly in my case.

    As above seem's I got a dodgy one but got lucky to get working.
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    See if this works for you on a few games:
    http://x360ce.googlecode.com/files/x360ce.App-2.0.2.90.zip

    Only extract "x360ce.exe" to your game's install root directory. Say "yes" to 2 of the dialogs it prompts then in the lower left portion choose "Wireless 360 ... yada yada" then load and save. Push a few buttons to make sure it's working right then try out your game. What it does, is it emulates a 360 controller. In this matter your emulating a native 360 controller to properly map the buttons.

    EDIT:

    I had to do with my Logitech Chillstream in Dead Rising 2, which is a 3rd party wired 360 controller.
     
  15. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Sorry Jr but that thing just screwed up my rig for a moment back there :roll:

    It kept putting itself in sleep mode, until I closed the program... then everything is fine again :/

    EDIT: Tested a couple of times more just to reassure myself it was that program doing it.
     
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Wow! Something is definitely screwy with that receiver.
     
  17. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    It's actually not the receiver causing my rig to go into sleep mode. I disconnected the receiver and opened up the program you sent me, again, and it still puts my rig into sleep mode so it's something with that program for sure, wouldn't you say?
     
  18. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,320 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    do you have any mouse drivers installed?
     
  19. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Yes I do, I have a wireless mouse.
     
  20. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,320 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    may be a long shot but maybe they are conflicting with control binding
     
  21. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Keeep searchin for an x360 pad emulator, bound to b one that works on your rig.
     
  22. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,756 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Xpadder is the best xbox 360 controls mapping tool i ever used. I used it 2 years ago to add xbox 360 controller support to a game engine I had to make for uni and it worked a treat mapping the controller buttons to keyboard keys.

    If you can't find a copy to download say and i'll upload a copy you can download.

    It's a seperate exe you run which maps the controls btw - I realise my above sentences may have made it seem like it needed integrating into an engine but it's a seperate program.
     
  23. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Updated to the latest patch for Splinter Cell Conviction just like IINexusII suggested and now everything is fine :D

    +1 to Human_Error too, Xpadder is a great piece of work, I used to use it a few year's ago back when I liked to use my PlayStaion 2 controller.
     
  24. T3kl0rd

    T3kl0rd

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    496 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Your receiver may not be official MS. If not, it will never work 100%. Only way to be sure is to buy a Xbox 360 controller that comes with a receiver.

    Xpadder is nice for sure. I like Pinnacle Game Profiler, so much so that I actually bought it for $20. I use it with Oblivion. It is hard to do what PGP does in Xpadder, hence my purchase.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page