1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus 4890 Super ML Cap can't run Furmark.Help.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by stardreamer77, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. stardreamer77

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi,

    my system will "Black Screen" then hang every time after runing Furmark few second.(1.7.0 or 1.6.5, Benchmarking or Stability Test also same problem.)
    when the "black screen" happen, the 2nd LED at the back of the card light up! ( total 4 diagnostic Leds at the back)
    and the VDDC Current increase to 82.6A ( i use GPU-Z to monitor.) what is VDDC ?? is it a problem?
    reset botton cant help to restart the system, need to power off the system and restart again!

    i found this on amd forums :
    Diagnostic LED meanings for the HD4890 card

    D601: VDDC_FAULT

    D1601: critical temperature fault

    D1602: AUX Hot Plug/Unplug Fault (upper connector)

    D1603: AUX Hot Plug/Unplug Fault (lower connector)

    but i not sure the 2nd led is which one, because no any indication near the Led.

    GPU core temp is 53C /68C (idle/Gameing) but the PCB is very hot (can't put my finger on it more that 2 sec!)

    but no problem playing game ...(Crysis, UT3, FEAR2,3DMArk06...)

    My system :
    Athlon X2 5400+
    Asus 4890 1GB DDR5 Super ML Cap (Twin Fan)
    Asus M3A78-EMH-HDMI Bios 1107
    CORSIAR MS2 6400C5DHX D2 1GB*2
    WD 1TB Black
    SILVERSTONE STRIDER 560W (12V1 and 12V2 is 20A 20A) should be enough!
    XP SP3 English version.
    Dell 2407WFP-HC

    i try to put back my old card - ASUS 3850 256mb , the 3850 can run Furmark without any problem. so i try to test this 4890 at another system, and the black screen happen again!
    the second system is :
    AMD X2 5400+
    ACBEL IPOWER 460W,(12V1 and 12V2 is 21A 20A)
    Abit NF-M2S,
    Seagate 500GB SATA
    Kingston DDR2 KINGSTON PC 800 2GB.

    any 4890 user got this problem?? is it the card problem? because i only brought it 5 days ago...

    Thanks.
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,283 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,565
    furmark is bad on ATI 48x0 cards.

    Dont worry about it, its the program not the cards.
     
  3. stardreamer77

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks ..
    but why other 4890 can run it without any problem??
    and OCCT Perestroïka 3.1.0 GPU test also cause the SAME problem like Furmark... so OCCT Perestroïka 3.1.0 bad also ??? :banghead::banghead:
     
  4. aquax New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    141 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    I found some other guy having same problem with his Sapphire Vapor-X 4890, I think it is normal for this cards as I read they are maxed @ 86A VDDC

     
  5. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,228 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    There is one of those ASUS's 4890's openbox for 150 on newegg
     
  6. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,228 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,932 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,688
    Location:
    US
    Furmark is BS.. It stresses way to much for whats actually required. It be the VRMs that are getting too hot.

    GPUTool is MUCH MUCH better to use and safer. It stresses the cards a little extra than games do but not to much like furmark..


    As i said in other threads that program needs banning or making it so there there is a big ass warning for 4890 users..
     
  8. aquax New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    141 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Yea I like the new TPU GPUTool and I hope the next version will have "detect errors" feature so it will be easy to know if the card isn't stable
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,283 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,565
    and 4870... and 4850.... and 4830...


    it overheats the VRM's on all of them.
     
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,932 (4.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,688
    Location:
    US
    And at least a warning for those users to :)..

    I think TPU should have a BIG ASS warning to if you plan to use it on any of these cards too..
     
  11. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Try and see if this also happens running 3DMark 06/Vantage or playing/benching with intensive games to make sure it's not the benching programs.
     
  12. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Take it from someone who had a similar problem with his 4870, furmark will overload 20A per rail easily. Try a psu with a single rail. I got a corsair TX750W and haven't had a problem since. The reason is the card tries to draw all power from one rail, which is OK for most things but furmark draws too much power.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page