1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus 560 Ti new BIOS

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Sarex, Aug 25, 2012.

  1. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys, here is my question

    I was trying to update my bios from 70.24.21.00.01 to 70.24.21.00.02. I was using the latest version of nvflash, and all was going well. I turned off write protection, selected the new bios (witch I downloaded form here) and completed the flashing process, but when I rebooted artifacts appeared all over the screen. I flashed back and now it's ok. So did I go wrong somewhere or what?

    And my second question is, can I flash the bios from the 900mhz version of the card (mine is 830mhz)?
     
  2. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    214 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    sounds like the bios "overclocks" your card too much... thus you are SOL.
    but, try ocing the original bios to the new bios values and see what happens.
    the only other thing i can thing of, that would explain this, is that the new bios has different memory timings, thus the artifacts...
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
    Sarex says thanks.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I always lived by mod your own stock bios so you always know what you are flashing exactly. If you need assistance with this just ask. I can guide you.
     
    Sarex and INSTG8R say thanks.
  4. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/108984/Asus.GTX560Ti.1024.110719.html

    ^This is the bios I flashed.

    http://i.imgur.com/8VePz.jpg

    ^This is my card.

    Same clocks as mine, although I'm going to compare them and see about the memory timings.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  5. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm trying to upgrade to a newer version, so modding won't help me in this situation, but thanks for the offer.
     
  6. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,067 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Ditto. I have always just made adjustments to my existing BIOS and reflashed(Fan Curves, Clocks)MUCH safer than taking the chance of using a mismatched BIOS.

    Except my for my 9800 Pro to XT Which is brought me here to TPU in the first place :respect:
    How Ironic that after all this time this will be my 2000th post :toast:

    Edit:
    What is your reasoning on trying to "upgrade" your BIOS? Are you having a particular issue? I mean you tried the new BIOS and it was a bust.
     
  7. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Congrats man XD :toast:

    Well I read a post from a guy who heard from a guy (I guess) that it brings improvements for directx 11 titles, which, to be honest, just gave me an excuse to try it.

    As for modding I saw a little bit of how it's done in NiBiTor, but at them moment the graphic is the "strongest" component in my computer and it's pretty quiet, so stock is fine for now. In a few days my SEASONIC SS-660KM will arrive, so then I'll try over clocking and other stuff.
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok, you're not "trying". Look at your OP. You have already attempted and deemed unsuccessful. Also, you have a non-matching card, your bios rev is 70.24.11.00.01 not 70.24.21.00.01
     
  9. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If at first you don't succeed, try try again (at least until your card dies :p ). I'm trying to figure out what went wrong.
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    OK suit yourself, but don't blame me if you kill the card. Trying to help but not listening.
    Also, do you know why you want to flash the bios? Give me your reasons as to why you want to.
     
  11. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nah man I'm listening, I was not trying to sound rude. And I appreciate any help you can give. What I'm interested in is what went wrong and how I can identify it and fix it.

    Like I said, for performance improvements, but mainly I wanted to try my hands at it.
     
  12. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,067 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Just because it "appears" to be the "same" card it's not necessarily the same card at all. During a cards lifespan they can go thru minor revisions such as changes to RAM types, VRM controls. Stuff physically "under the hood" GPU-Z isn't going to tell you or like you mentioned RAM timings. Heck even NTSC/PAL compliance could be different.

    The ONLY way I would be going with an "updated" BIOS was if I found in on the ASUS site listed for your exact model under downloads like I found HERE(Pick an OS from the Drop Down and you will see there IS actually a BIOS listed there)

    That BIOS revision very well COULD just have been because they made a "revision" somewhere so it needed a new BIOS to go with it. You tried it and it was a "dud" so it doesn't match up with your card at all more proof it's not an "updated" BIOS as much as it was to support a hardware/software change to the card itself.

    Dump your BIOS and "Side by Side" them and see where the change really is ;) I would have done that first anyway before I even attempted to flash it ;)
     
    JrRacinFan and Sarex say thanks.
  13. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah it was recommended, and I should have done that, but I didn't....(dumb I know). As for the asus website, that is where I read about the new version and as far as I can see their support team is lackluster to say the least. And thank you very much for the explanation.btw this is my card
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  14. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,067 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Hey we all gotta jump head first into the pool sometimes ;) Thankfully you didn't panic, you didn't brick your card, and you gained some "advance" knowledge.

    Well what Model card DO you have? I guess not the one I found? That one DID have an "official" BIOS available for it complete packaged with it's own updater. Just Double Click and Done.

    But of course it also listed the SPECIFIC part numbers it was good for and what it did(Fan Curve changes)

    ASUS are pretty good at making it easy to do if it has to be done.;)



    Edit: Thanks for linking it :toast:

    Right so you saw again it DID have a BIOS update for your card(if it fell under those models) and like the other card it was just a fan curve adjustment. They DO make it easy to do so if you DO have the applicable model and your fan IS Noisy no hurt in updating it with that.

    OF COURSE. Make sure you have a dump from GPU-Z of your current BIOS somewhere safe. If it "sucks" Well you have already learned how to flash a BIOS "the hard way":cool:
     
  15. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I edited my post above, with the link,here it is again. It was the first thing I've done, but alas the same bios.

    As for panicking, I did, a lot, but this sort of thing happens to me often (laptops, mobile phones, etc.). XD

    One time my brother wanted me to add a qwerty keyboard to his mobile phone, and all I had to go on was a youtube clip at 360p in a foreign language. Suffice to say, the first attempt ended in his mobile phone having no fonts so every letter was shown as a square, oh man did I shit bricks then.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  16. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,067 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    Lost in Norway

    Yeah I caught your edit. Believe me as I said I started way back in 2004 in fact before that as I was messing with BIOS on the 9600 AIW I had before the 9800. Pretty much messed with every cards BIOS I had after that X800,X1900's in Crossfire, HD2900XT etc. MOST gen's of ATI/AMD cards right up to my previous 5870. Usually just to stick it to a stable OC or raise the Fan Curves.
    I have done a couple of "Blind Flashes" in there somewhere. :eek:

    Pro Tip: ALWAYS have a PCI GFX card in a box/cupboard somewhere no matter how crap it is for emergencies ;) Sadly PCI is disappearing so that trick is not gonna work soon. But then the newer cards BIOS are getting smarter to being "signed" so they can't even be tampered with anymore in some cases.

    I haven't touched this 7970 yet but the temptation to try flashing it with a "Ghz" bios is definitely there tho. But it had a 1000/1450 2nd BIOS anyway so a flip of the switch was all that took.
     
  17. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ha, you had a similar card history to mine, but I stuck with nvidia(went from integrated like in 99', to a x1600, to 9800gtx to my current one 560ti).

    As for the PCI, that's technology for you, but those slots have the longest life span in a computer.
     
  18. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,067 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Yeah I "cut my teeth" on NV with my first "Gaming PC" Card was aTi4200 128M(Had a very anemic ATI TNT before that in a Dell). When Raven Shield came it was starting to struggle a bit so I went out and bought an FX 5200. It was AWFUL and absolutely no better than the 4200(NV dropped the ball on that Series badly)

    I owned it less than an hour before it went back. I ended up coming home with a 9600XT and well I was SOLD. I discovered I could run AA(for the first time) and I just never looked back to the Green Side.
     
  19. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    For me even though nvidia drops the ball from time to time, they had more drive updates. (although ati is gaining on them, if they are not already neck and neck)

    btw I compared the two bios, and it says "ERROR: Mismatch at offset 0x00000002".
     
  20. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,067 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Yeah there is no gains to be had with that BIOS. It was a valiant effort tho ;) Like I said you could always edit your own BIOS with your stable overclock frequencies if you have some.
     
  21. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just waiting for my PSU, the one I have is just strong enough for stock, and then I'll let loose. XD
     
  22. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    232 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Belgium
    You probably flashed to the TOP version of that card, which I have and is an overclocked one. Your card just couldn't handle the clocks.
     
  23. Sarex New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    13 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nah, if you look at the link in my second post you'll see it's for my card.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page